We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge
Ranked #70 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Branson
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Apparently this campground is under new ownership and new management. The friendliness and helpful attitude of the staff and the "cared for" appearance of the entire complex was refreshing. We are tired of staying where "no-one cares". We will be back to Compton Ridge Campground and will recommend it to others. Poo poo to the bad reviews we read. Really glad we gave them a chance anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobberTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 111 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2009

We have stayed at Compton Ridge RV park for a few years now. A couple of times with the original owners, once with the owner from Texas and recently with the new "second" owner. The original family owner was great, the Texas owner, not so friendly, the new "second" owner not to be confused with the Texas owner( who owned the park for a short time) has made some wonderful improvements to the park. The bathrooms and shower houses are beautiful and clean. The new camp workers are the friendliest people I have found. After reading the reviews, I think the bad reviews must be pertaining to the Texas owner and not the new owner. Because we found the park just better than ever and are looking forward to going back very soon. If you have had a bad experience in the last year, do your self a favor and try again, you will not be disappointed.
farrell - gerald

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happyRVmper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We arranged a family reunion at this campground and all of us made reservations , in June/July. When we arrived, most of the reservations had been "lost" because of a new booking system that had been installed. Instead of trying to accomodate us because of THEIR ERROR they became beligerant and hostile telling us that "they didn't have to do anything for us" even though we had paid IN ADVANCE several months early. They would not upgrade to open cabins, they would not help locate another campground facility, or offer any compensation because of THEIR MISTAKE. We had paid in good faith and rather than be embarrassed about their bad reservation management, they treated us like we had really put them out and in fact, one of the managers shoved my brother in law and then pressed charges against him! They do not provide any services for the cabins such as sheets and blankets for the beds, yet they charge over $100/night to stay. And my sister, who stayed in one of the cabins, left her dishes drying in the sink without putting them away and the campground charged her credit card an additional $50 WITHOUT TELLING HER. BEWARE OF THIS CAMPGROUND AND ITS STAFF!!!!!! This was not a pleasant reunion for any of us!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ILrvgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We just went to Compton Ridge for Spring Break. I was a little leary because of the negative reviews, but was pleasantly surprised! The staff was great and the kids had a blast riding their bicycles & playing basketball. We will definitely come again!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kansas_kid48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

Our family camped with the Sims family for many years. Our
trailer was stored and they would transfer it to our designated
site. It would be sitting at this site when we arrived. No exceptions. The new owners have not impressed us.
Two times it was not sitting on a site when we arrived. They
said someone messed up. Never the same person at the desk.
We were dog tired and had to wait until they found someone
to move it. Another time we discovered someone had stripped
the gears out of our electric jack. Complained to the office with
no response. We are manual now, unless we want to spend
$300 to replace it. We call ahead and reserve a site we like
from the map. Most of the time when we arrive we do not have
that site. No explanation. There are some improvements in
landscaping. This is the only positive thing I can say. The big
finale for us to decide to move the trailer or just sell it is the
advertised Thanksgiving activity. We were told online and on
the phone they would provide the Thanksgiving dinner at no
charge and all we had to was bring a side dish. Of course I
like to do my part. I made a nice cake and a salad. Arrived on
Wednesday night, next morning I went to the office at 9:30 to
inquire about the dinner. It was all locked up, no one was
any where to be found, Finally found one worker who advised
"Oh they have cancelled the dinner" We had to go to town and
try and find a restaurant that was not packed. Finally ate at
a crummy restaurant and spent $50.00 for nothing. Unhappy
YES. Right before we left we were told another new owner
from Arkansas had taked over and did not think he should be
responsible for a dinner he had not planned. Also, rates are
going up, no more transfers from storage. So we have decided
the new motto is "Where Campers Used To Come First"
We are not coming back as soon as we decide what we
are going to do with our trailer. Kansas Flatlander

Stayed: November 2008
4  Thank KansasFlatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2008

We stayed there 4 times this year. The staff were friendly and helpful to both my wife and myself. They even offered to come down with a cart and take our propane cylinders back up for filling. We needed a washer for our waterline and store staff couldn't find one. Within five minutes one of the men showed up at our unit with the part we needed. Another time our cable tv was awful. Again, a maint man came right down and solved the problem The facilities were clean. We actually now store our unit with them and it is well taken care of and always on our selected site, leveled, and ready for us. This is a heavily forested campground so there are a zillion leaves. The staff was out each day clearing the roads and open campsites . You need to take into consideration that this is no longer a family owned and run campground. There staff can and probably will change from year to year so, no they may not remember you from one year to the next. If you do encounter a problem, contact the owners and give them a chance to correct the situation before you try to ruin them in this forum. We look forward to staying with them numerous times next season.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Grandpa_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

We had a family reunion scheduled this month which we had reservations made several months in advance for. When we arrived, however, they had switched computer systems and our reservations had been deleted. Please disregard the previous reviews that state it is a wonderful place. Pay close attention to the dates on the previous reviews! This place has undergone a management change, and the management is HORRIBLE! They offered no recourse for THEIR error. We drove around and found another hotel close to town, and no where near my family reunion. All we wanted them to do was to offer other motels/hotels that might be acceptable. We are not from the Branson area, and felt like we were put out on the street by no error of our own. Some other family members also had problems with their reservations. Needless to say we left early. They ruined my weekend with my family.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Jeri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Branson hotels
3.7 mi away
Branson KOA & Convention Center
1.8 mi away
Calm Waters Resort
Calm Waters Resort
#36 of 76 in Branson
23 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Branson Inn And Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Branson-Hollister
6.6 mi away
Hilton Promenade at Branson Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge

Address: 5322 State Highway 265, Branson, MO 65616-6129
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Branson
Price Range: $84 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge is located in the beautiful Ozarks Just outside of Branson Missouri, a quick 1.5 miles to Silver Dollar City and 1.5 miles to Shepherd of the Hills Outdoor Theatre. We offer 25 motel units either two Queen beds or a King with a pullout sofa. All of our units are equipped with Refrigerator, Microwave and Coffee maker. We also offer 42 full hook-up campsites with Water, Sewer, Electric, Cable TV and Wi-Fi. Our sites are a mixture of 30 amp, 50 amp, gravel and concrete pads. Our amenities include an onsite laundry, Shower House and Outdoor Pool. We offer Hunts Brothers Pizza delivered to your unit or site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compton Ridge Campground Hotel Branson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing