We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had no troubles....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge
Ranked #62 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Branson
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had no troubles....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We just left this morning from Compton Ridge......this was about our 5th camping experience so not sure what is bad? We were there 4 nights and did not interact with the employees much, but when we did they were very nice and helpful. We were in the north campground and our camper was near the bathhouse and the pool which was convenient since we do not have a toilet and shower in our pop-up ;o). The only thing that I would suggest is either air conditioning or ceiling fans in bathhouse. I was the only person in there at the times I showered and it gets a little sweltering in there (and I didn't use a lot of hot water) couldn't imagine 3 people in the showering at the same time. Ate breakfast at the campgound once, food was good and the people were friendly! Overall good experience and would go back if ever we are in the area again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kewpiedoll71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    24
    4
    10
    25
See reviews for
58
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The staff here are unfriendly & unaccomidating. We had 3 vehicles, but the cabins allow for parking for 1 vehicle. When asked where to park, they told us they didn't know.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comptonslodge, Owner at Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We're so sorry you felt that way about the old owners. Compton Ridge is now under new management and we strive for happy campers and quality service. We hope you take a chance to visit us again, I think you will like how the park is today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinita, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

OK let me first start by saying I have not been a 20 year patron of Compton Ridge, BUT my Aunt and Uncle who both have passed (my Uncle most resent) LOVED coming here. hey brought there kids here....SO with that we decided to have a weekend of faimly fun. And start new family traditions with Compton Ridge. WHAT a disappointment. We had called 3 weeks in advance and told them we would be hauling a car in and needed a pull through, gave them the size of our RV and trailer, close to the pool and tent camping since our daughter and grandsons would be coming to tent camp. We were given #77 (I still have the number wrote down on the bank draft they took the deposit out on.) When we got to the camp to check in, they had us in a back up spot, and way to small.....So they offered us another pull through the only one they had left...#13....well we see why it was the only one left, very uneven, no trees AT ALL for shade, the picnic table was all warped and no way in any condition to eat off of....the rest of the family had to drive up and haul all of the food and stuff for our family cook out....but lets go back to when we checked in...my husband explained to them the situation and that we had made out reservations in advance.....we was told #77 would be our site.....the staff did nothing to resolve our issue....but the owner asked what the problem was......the lady told him we needed a pullt hrough and that they had us in a back in.....the guy asked if we made reservations, I said yes we did 3 weeks ago......and his exact words with his hands in the air and shruged said "Oh well"......I elected to only stay one night after his remark....as a buisness owner myself I would never of said that to any of my customers...I know mistakes can be made, but for a family buisness owner myself I know your best advertisment is word of mouth, but then again it can be your worst as well......with that said I am not interested in making any new memories with Compton Ridge.....We left after one night, and moved to another camp........

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank youngs8167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comptonslodge, Owner at Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
In your statement, you said you requested a site next to the pool and playground (which we reserved for you). You then said you also wanted a pull through site. We do not have any pull through sites next to the playground and pool. I'm not sure where the miscommunication occured. We offered to put your flat bed trailer in our storage for you but you did not want to. The only two sites that were open on Memorial weekend was the site you reserved and the pull through site (at the front of the park) that the people had to leave a day early had. We would have been most happy to help you but we just did not have what you wanted. We did not have any options for that weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed there, would NEVER stay again. VERY RUDE PEOPLE, major issue with Cleaniness of the park and clean up of the leaves. Gardener even threatened my husband. Apparently had to much to drink, they drink golf carts around all day drinking their cheap booze. WORTHLESS PLACE.

Room Tip: I"D Choose any place but this Drunk fest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Campin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comptonslodge, Owner at Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Trip Advisior staff- Please remove this review. This was a seasonal camper that had to be evicted. The sherriff had to be called to handle the problem. Please call Robert or Susan if you have questions. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Don't plan on coming back and will not be recommending this place to anyone. First off, unfriendly staff from the main office to the cleaning people, Pool closed early and the park is dirty. It was nice many years ago but went over the cliff in poor service. We will be finding a new place to stay our weeks for vacations. Their loss!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dcfd146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Against our better judgement, we decided to let our 12 year old son plan our summer vacation last year. We gave him a budget and he picked the place to go, place to stay, and the things to do. He decided on tent camping, at Compton Ridge from June 30th- July 5th. He did a lot of research and picked the perfect place to stay for our family. The bathrooms/showers are clean, pools are nice, plenty of shade, pizza delivery, free wifi to plan activities, evening activities, nice lodge, store for forgotten essentials (pricey, but walmart was quite a drive), friendly staff, plenty of dead firewood (never had to buy it, just sent Jr out to pick up the dead stuff), and clean laundry facilities. Only negative..it was 110 during the day and 85 at 2am. Jr slept like a rock but mom and dad tossed and turned for 6 miserable, sleepless nights. We are spoiled Yanks who enjoy our A/C. Compton Ridge couldn't control the weather though. FYI..if you have any physical limitations, get a site closer to the entrance. The ones in the back are quite a walk and some of the walkways are significantly sloped. We would definitely return..but in the spring, fall, or a camper with A/C next time! :-)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwnkey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenks, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were just up for the kids fall break and decided the lodge was the place for us. Yes, this is an older but well kept lodge. Loved the location by the indoor pool and we were just steps from our relatives that were in a 40 foot motorhome as well as an 18 foot travel trailer. While both were at different location, one by the tennis court, and one by the front office, nothing was far and the service was just great. The prices were fair, and I could find a few dust bunnies, but I suspect those nice gentleman up front were also the houskeeping crew. So, if you want those people coming that demand the 5 star treatment, you better step up the dusting duties..(The Chateau - Great 5 star for a very small room and $200) For us, we love compton ridge and plan to come back. Our daughter is attending school in Springfield and what a perfect excuse to get out of Oklahoma. See you soon. da report is over.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweathog62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Branson hotels
3.7 mi away
Branson KOA & Convention Center
3.0 mi away
The Cottage Resort and Market
1.5 mi away
Antlers Resort
Antlers Resort
#25 of 72 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Old Southern Inn
The Old Southern Inn
#18 of 72 in Branson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hunter's Friend Resort & Condos
0.8 mi away
The Lodges At Table Rock Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge

Property: Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge
Address: 5322 State Highway 265, Branson, MO 65616-6129
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Branson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Compton Ridge Campground and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compton Ridge Campground Hotel Branson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing