We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The GRETNA Inn is the place to stay while overindulging at Branson...oo”
Review of Gretna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gretna Inn
Ranked #86 of 133 Hotels in Branson
Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you are looking for the cleanest, friendliest and best value during your Branson visit, the Gretna Inn
is the place for you...!
Located just off Country Music Blvd, near many shows and restaurants.
We've been visiting the Branson area since 1967 and the Gretna is the best choice...(.)
You will be considered family during and after your stay at this family owned and operated facility.
Check it out, you'll be glad you did...!

See ya down the road...! C (BC mayor..=)~

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CARL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 191 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here so much. We stayed here 8 nights. Richard and Raquel, the owners were so kind and helpful to us. They are wonderful. We would highly recommed this hotel. Our room was clean. We had a nice TV. Comfortable. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I read several reviews on the Gretna Inn before booking a single room for me and my best friend for one night. All the reviews were good. The price was cheap seeming we only needed it for one night. I booked online a week ahead of schedule. I received my confirmation e-mail and it clearly stated check in time was 3:00pm. We made the 1.5 hour trip and arrived a measly 20 minutes ahead of check in time. We walked in the office to 2 older gentleman talking. They finished their conversation before attending to us. The gentleman's manner that attended to us did not strike me as customer friendly. After several minutes, he informed us that our room would not be ready for another HOUR. Then, we were informed that could not find my paper work. We had a concert to get ready for in a town 40 minutes away, so this just put us behind schedule and late for our concert. The gentleman did not once say he was sorry nor did he offer to accomadate us in any other way. Close to an hour later, we were able to check into our room. I was highly satisfied with the cleanliness of the room. But, the bed was hard as a rock and impossible to get a good nights sleep on. The showers water temperature was crazy! It went from scorching hot to freezing cold with no warning at all. There were only two available towels. We had to go back downstairs to ask for more towels which seemed to be a huge inconvience to the lady at the front desk. All in all, it wasn't a horrible stay but I would not book at this motel again unless I had no other options.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Gretna Inn was the perfect spot for our family during our weekend trip to Branson in Midsummer 2013.

We booked online, $99/night for a two-bedroom, four-queen bed suite. Certainly other lodgings offered similar or less-expensive options, but we quickly decided that the Gretna Inn's #13 ranking out of hundreds of lodgings was nothing to sneeze at, and booked the room online.

A day later, around 9PM, we received an email from the inn's automated booking system saying that our reservation had been canceled. "What the..." We called the inn and a kindly old voice answered the phone. He listened to our explanation, introduced himself as Richard, the property manager, and promised that our room would be ready upon arrival. We called again while driving in to Branson a few days later, and Richard confirmed that our room was waiting for us.

The Gretna Inn is located on Gretna Road about 500 yards north of the Branson strip. To avoid the strip's perpetual traffic jam, we took the US-65 Business Route exit, and headed west, away from downtown Branson. A short while later the street signs changed to Gretna Road, and we pulled into the inn's parking lot within 10 minutes of exiting the highway.

It should be noted that Gretna road is precisely the road which goes across the Table Rock Dam, should you choose to continue south past the inn for several miles. You can exit the parking lot and drive to the excellent fish hatchery or Dewey Stone visitor's center with ease at any time of day, nearly regardless of the traffic on the strip.

The inn is located immediately north of the Track 4 entertainment center. It's within two minute's walk of several go-cart tracks, bumper boats, bumper cars, a hundred-foot tall skycoaster, Pizza World, Andy's Custard, and the Hughes Brother's theater (currently showing the highly-rated "IT"). The Titanic and Hollywood Wax Museums are within easy walking distance. This inn is definitely the place to be if you want to be in the center of it all --- with an easy escape down the Blue route or out to the lake at a moment's notice.

Outside the hotel, there's a substantial amount of gleeful noise from the weekend throng of thrill-seekers and go-kart riders. The Branson helicopter tour landing pad is about 400 yards south of the inn. The intersection of Gretna Rd. and the strip is about 500 yards away. Let us say this much: When you're outside the hotel, you're constantly aware that you're in the thick of one of the nation's largest tourist economies. More on this in a moment.

We found the property to be very clean and well-kept. There was no trace of wear and tear anywhere on the building, the parking lot or the nice-sized pool. Entering the small lobby, we were greeted by Richard, his wife and what we guessed to be their granddaughter. Everyone was so polite and helpful! Good old-fashioned courtesy is a wonderful thing to find in this day and age and Richard's family gives it by the pound.

We found our room a little boring, certainly not as colorful as the pix on gretnainnbranson.com, but it was completely functional for our needs. There was a nice high table in the front bedroom that immediately became our catch-all. Each of the two bedrooms had a 30-something inch flat screen, and two nice queen beds with decent bedclothes. The bathroom was very clean (but no ventilation!). We replaced the shower head with our own traveling head, so we can't give you an accurate impression of the water pressure, but during our stay we found that there was enough hot water for everyone. Showing eco-awareness, the wall-mounted ACs were on low-cool, all of the light bulbs were instant-on CFLs, and the fridge and microwave were unplugged. Minor disappointment - we couldn't get the fridge to cool down during our stay.

The best surprise was that even with the curtains drawn, only the slightest bit of noise leaked in from outside. Despite the constant flow of people risking their demise on the (very) nearby Skycoaster, you could only hear the screams of the loudest of them all. The go-carts were reduced to the barest of buzzes. What a great surprise to find peace and quiet in close proximity to one of the strip's largest amusement parks.

The inn's pool was clear, cool and in another welcome surprise, Richard kept it open 24x7. There's nothing like a late-night swim under the stars after a billion-calorie dessert at Cakes-n-Creams.

Richard serves glazed donuts in the morning. We don't know what else is served -- our young children always made the donut run -- but we've seen other reviews which mention a continental breakfast.

The check-out time was 10AM. Speaking for ourselves, our time at the Gretna Inn came and went much too quickly. We'll stay again on our next trip to Branson.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms won't have the pitter-patter of other guest's feet. Don't expect the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xpanmanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I spent our 35th Anniversary here and was very pleased with the location, the people, the price, and their hospitality. The room was very clean and included a microwave and refrigerator, wi-fi, tv, and many other things. We enjoyed our stay here, because we were on a fixed income and wanted to enjoy Branson, with out spending an arm and leg. This hotel also included a continental breakfast. We will return and now know exactly where to stay. Thank you for all that you did to make our trip a very special one that we will always remember!!!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our downstairs room, which made it very easy to get in and out, without any stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at Gretna Inn four nights at the beginning of June. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and the owners are very friendly. Good value, great location, coffee and good conversation located in office each morning...we will be staying again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back open up to watch go karts and A frame... nice and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anyjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

what a great place to stay ,clean rooms,friendly people, good location,if health stays good we'll be back , decent prices also. short distance to shopping mall and wal mart convenient to almost anything your needs and wants

Room Tip: anywhere on 1st floor for older people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cricha495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Branson hotels
0.9 mi away
Angel Inn - Near IMAX
Angel Inn - Near IMAX
#70 of 133 in Branson
363 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Branson Inn And Conference Center
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Branson-Hollister
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
The Keeter Center at College of the Ozarks
2.3 mi away
Welk Resort Branson
Welk Resort Branson
#25 of 133 in Branson
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gretna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gretna Inn

Address: 205 Gretna Road North, Branson, MO 65616-3596
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Branson
Price Range: $41 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Gretna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gretna Hotel Branson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing