We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Payne Stewart Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Course offers 6 different distances to play from. The course winds through a majestic hardwood forest with several dramatic elevation changes, a crystal clear Ozark stream and immaculate fairways guaranteed to deliver a positive and memorable experience. Golf Week Magazine has ranked the course as the #1 "Best Course you Can Play" in the State of Missouri for the past five years.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Granbury
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband said the course was beautiful. The temp was in the high 90's but he didn't care. I didn't play but we did eat a hamburger in the club house and it was very good. If you don't play golf, go eat a burger and check it out.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    13
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kearney, NE
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The golf course is an awkward layout from the first hole (way down hill) to the eighteenth (way up hill). What were probably beautiful valleys and leas at one time have since been spoiled by peculiar holes, some with mountain goat slopes, that never quite seem to flow. We noticed several greens that were similar to the "Black Course" at Pirate's Cove.

Also, many of the areas are so sheltered that fans are positioned throughout the course to keep the air moving. In many areas that has been a losing cause as this years heat and humiditiy is killing out some of the fairways. There were several holes where our foursome was gasping for air. Imagine how the fairways felt. This is a high maintenance course that is lacking TLC. Sand traps, and there are plenty on an already difficult layout, had not been groomed in some time. Especially wrankling when they have continually watered the green areas and the sand was packed like concrete.

The club house is nice, lots of Payne Stewart memo's. Probably would not play this course again. Branson Creek is a better value and better maintained course.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RtripKearney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I might have a new favorite golf course in Branson...”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I've been going to Branson for several years and have always made it a point to play Branson Creek among other courses in the Branson area. This past weekend, the trip allowed just one round and I decided to give the Payne Stewart course another go. It has really "grown up" into a very challenging course. The condition of the course is unbelievable. The greens were fast and true. The fairways and tee boxes were perfectly kept. If you hit a good shot, you will be rewarded - make a bad shot and you're looking at a big number on the scorecard. Remember! It's 18 holes OUT (no clubhouse at the halfway point, so plan accordingly on hot summer days). Check the discount tee sites (golfnow, etc) for the best rate. Staff was friendly and they will see me again next trip to Branson.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JASON C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poteau, OK
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Course”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My hubby said the course was absolutely beautiful and perfectly maintained.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la belle, mo
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“wonderful golf course”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

we did the afternoon deal (after 5). can't beat playing for $35!! Not a great golfer but it was so fun being on a REAL golf course. Awful score but had a great time with the guys!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank hilesLaBelle_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Payne Stewart Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Payne Stewart Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing