We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Chistmas Show!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shoji Tabuchi Theater

Shoji Tabuchi Theater
Ranked #38 of 167 things to do in Branson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This theater draws millions every year for its country music and spectacular bathrooms. Produced by a Japanese-American family, the elaborate show combines country with other genres, like classical, rap and gospel, and the lavish bathrooms are quite a sight to behold.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
174 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Chistmas Show!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Shoji always does a great job. There theater is first class, and they do all the little things right! We have been many times, and we are not disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank trans4med
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    103
    68
    41
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
120 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Time to Retire”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Yikes!!! This was our first show in Branson and was recommended. I should've done more homework with TripAdvisor and not wasted our time and money.

It was hokey, to put it bluntly. The "dancing" was embarrassing. I've seen 8 year olds perform more intricate choreography at their annual recitals.

Shoji is an extremely talented fiddler and should stop at that. Do not sing or change sparkly jackets every 5 minutes.... just play your beautiful music!

His step daughter, Christina, is a talented singer and no more. So stop at that ... Sing! Don't try to glide across the stage wearing a lit up dress (hokey) with the other "professionals" and call it dancing. It isn't.

And good luck getting in and out of the bathrooms...women are taking pictures of the decorations in there! Have they never seen a Christmas tree before?

It's time for Shoji to retire after 23 yrs. in Branson! Actually, I think it's time for Branson to reinvent itself. The WWII generation (bless them) are disappearing. What will Branson have to offer the Baby Boomers who are soon retiring with money to spend on travel? They better come up with something!

Go see SIX or JOSEPH if you want to see a fresh, high quality performance in Branson.

Helpful?
4 Thank HHS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
500 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We did not know what to expect, and we were disappointed. It was not a bad show, but nothing special.

We thought it was over priced for what we got.

My wife liked his shiny jackets!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good for first timers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have seen his show twice before. Once 10 years ago when his family preformed with him and about 5 years ago. After this show i realized why it was that long between shows, Boring!
Two hours of one person playing different songs on a violin was too much for me. Maybe Ill try in another 5 years.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mistergks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Shoji is a really good performer. It is a truly spectacular show! Would definitely recommend this one!

Helpful?
Thank Eupher08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoji Tabuchi Theater also viewed

 

Been to Shoji Tabuchi Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing