We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for the kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Rock Resort & Waterpark
Ranked #128 of 141 Hotels in Branson
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
“Fun for the kids”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel was very basic, there was no mini-fridge or microwave in the room, Did not have any wi-fi signal in the room.We had an issue with the room keys not working when we got there and maintenance arrived quickly. When he couldn't fix the problem we were moved to another room in minutes. On the plus side, the kids loved the water park, the staff was very friendly and helpful for the most part and the room was very clean. If there had been a fridge and wi-fi, especially wi-fi , I would have given them an excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    91
    94
    77
    97
See reviews for
321
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springdale, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel was about par for Branson. It is conveniently located just off the strip, with easy access to restaurants and attractions. It was a little pricier than surrounding hotels, but its main draw is the waterpark, which is one of the better indoor ones in town. Being inside, though, you can expect to be overwhelmed with the smells of chlorine when you walk in. On the up side, it’s heated to a comfortable 84 degrees. There are two large slides, a lazy river, two small pools, and areas for toddlers. Unfortunately, there was no hot tub to be found anywhere, nor was there a fitness center anywhere. There were plenty of seats and tables, though, and there were three exits all within sight so we felt it safe enough to let the kids have the run of the place. If your kids are good swimmers, take a book and relax while the kids play. If they aren’t, well, there are lifeguards throughout, but most are young teenagers so take them at face value. If you get hungry, there is counter-service food available that offers the standard fare of hamburgers, hot dogs, pizzas, fries, etc. The food was okay, but there were only two people working it: a cashier and a cook. If there are any records for speedy service, they are in no danger of being broken here because it was a thirty-minute wait time from getting in line to getting our food. Also, I highly recommend skipping the breakfast buffet. Not only was the selection unimpressive (pancakes, instant eggs, tater tots, sausage, bowls of fruit, and generic-brand cereal), the cook forgot to turn on the warmer, so the bland food available was also quite cold. Overall, the staff was friendly enough, and the rooms were spacious and clean. The kids loved having their own private nook with bunk-beds and a television (as did the adults, admittedly). Our room had a refrigerator but no microwave, so warming up leftovers was problematic. There were two queen-size beds that were comfortable, with both hard and soft pillows and extra blankets. The televisions were flat-screen, though relatively small. There was free Wi-Fi throughout the building, but the reception was spotty at best and I never got above two bars. You can check e-mail easily enough, but forget about streaming a move. It is a hotel full of families with kids, after all, so as far as the Wi-Fi goes you are competing for bandwidth with a hundred other iPhones, iPods, iPad’s, and laptops. Speaking of children, you can also expect incessant footfalls, thumps, thuds, screams, and laughter up and down the halls and in the rooms above. The bathrooms were okay, but the fixtures were quite tricky; you had to micro-adjust the shower to keep from getting either frozen or scalded. The tub was also very small, and quite insufficient for a relaxing soak. Moreover, the housekeeper forgot to replenish our shampoo on, so I wound up using a bar of soap instead. Overall, we will likely return to visit, but probably only during the winter when our selection is limited.

Room Tip: Request a tower room with bunk-beds for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackCat307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed in room 4455 (?) this past weekend. The location of the room was great. It was at the end of the building, close to the stairway/overlook and off by itself. As stated in other reviews, the beds aren't very comfortable but the set up is great. Our room had 2 full size beds and a fold out couch plus the little bunk nook that worked great with the kids (ages 2.5 and 4.5). The hotel was pretty clean. The water park was fun. My 4 year old LOVED it! He played SO hard in the lazy river and on the open slide. You have to be 42' to ride the slides and he was 43', so it was perfect for him. The chlorine fumes are overwhelming. My 4 year old was coughing the next morning, as were several other kids in his age group that I encountered. I'm sure that it's necessary but it worried me that the fumes were so bad that it made him cough the next day. The slides and lazy river were fun for the adults, too. Everyone in my party utilized them. The shower in the pool area and in the bathrooms did not have hot water, not even warm water, which made it hard to get the kiddos to shower off. We went to the Dixie Stampede, which was just 5 minutes away. The location was great. I would go again.

Room Tip: The ones on the end near the stairs and overlook are quiet because they are by themselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkirchristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

To tell you the truth I didn't know what to expect. I purchased a deal thu a groupon type of company for a weekend package.This was a gift for my grandchildren ages 3 and 9 for a winter treat. We had been to the waterpark before but had not stayed in the hotel before. We went in the dead of winter over Predident's Day, Branson was deserted but the pool was hopin. My first and most important comment is about the water park itself. I will give them credit here they had lifeguards all over the place and they just didn't sit there. They walk the perimeter of the pool constantly, I watched them for three days so I know. I was impressed. We didn't really eat there per se we did order a small cheese pizza for a hungry 3 yr old it was $4 he ate it so he was happy. I've stayed in a lot of hotels I'd rate this one average. It's a hotel with famlies that have little kids so they are running up and down the hallways, if it bugs that much bring ear plugs it really wasn;t that bad for us. No real interaction with the management staff check in and out were normal. The hotel and the rooms were clean the pool and area were clean and I agree with another reader a bit too much chlorine in the pool. My two beefs, lousy beds and pillows number one even my son and daughter in law much younger and they complained also. Then housekeeping. The second morning we were in the room a little later, the housekeeper knocked at the door asked if we needed anything. We said yes and she gave us the items. But after we left the room she never came back. If I'd have known that I would have asked her to do some things. Live and learn. All in all the kids had a great time, they loved the bunkbeds and the pool and that's what it was all about this Grandma was Queen of the Castle.........at least for that weekend!

Room Tip: Stay in rooms connected to the hotel which are the tower rooms, and other room and you have to scurr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martisparti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

After reading previous reviews, we were a little hesitant to choose Castle Rock, but ended up having a great time. We purchased the Winter Splashtacular Package, which included 4 tickets to Branson Wild World, 4 10 oz. servings at Cherry Berry (yum!), and a pizza and 4 drinks at Castle Rock's restaurant.
Water park: It was perfect for our girls, ages 4 and 1. They had a fabulous time, and if it weren't for the large amounts of chlorine in the air that caused us all to cough uncontrollably, we would have stayed all day instead of just 4 hours. Felt very safe with lifeguards constantly roaming about and keeping watch.
The room: We stayed in The Atrium, which is actually a motel and not a hotel, as stated on Castle Rock's website. It was nicely furnished (although the beds were a little hard), and we kept our fan on all night to block out any nearby noise. Well worth saving money by dashing across the parking lot from waterpark to room.
The restaurant: After spending a long afternoon in the water, we liked that it was open late and could go there in our pajamas.
All in all, we had a fun time. We will definitely be back. Next time, however, we might get a room at a nearby hotel for less money and just buy the waterpark's day pass.

Room Tip: The Atrium was quiet, and well worth saving money by dashing across the parking lot from waterpark t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebargar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were expecting a much better stay at this hotel. The cost was not worth the stay. The chlorine levels inside the water park were terribly high. Children, icluding mine were coughing and complaining of their eyes burning. They had to open the windows so that the chlorine fumes would go out. We could only stand to play in the park for an hour and half. The other problem that we eperienced was that the noise level within the hotel was extremely elevated. We had neighbors that allowed their children to scream and bang on the walls until 1am. There were doors slamming all through the hallways during the night and early morning hours. I realize that this is a child friendly hotel, but respect is always appreciated. Children over the age of 10 will probably not enjoy the stay. They will get bored.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not have an ajoining door. Children on the other side like to try and open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitkat100Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My family just came back from the stay at this hotel and found the water park fun for our children, however the stay in the hotel was a night mare for us. We were not able to get any rest because of adults and children having an open party in the halls day and night. We could not even leave our rooms with out being propositioned with liquor. After complaining to the manager we were told they were not responsible for how others acted and if we did not like it to leave but with no compensation. I asked to talk to someone else and was told I could not talk to anyone other the Darran Wiltshire, the operations manager who talked very disrepectful to us and seemed to dismiss this as not a serious matter. Very disappointed in a supposedly family oriented hotel.
Pamela T

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joepam365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Branson hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Branson hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Country Resort
Grand Country Resort
#46 of 141 in Branson
506 reviews
1.8 mi away
Westgate Branson Woods Resort
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Near Dixie Stampede
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Victorian
Hotel Grand Victorian
#18 of 141 in Branson
828 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone Castle Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Rock Resort & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Rock Resort & Waterpark

Property: Castle Rock Resort & Waterpark
Address: 3001 Green Mountain Dr, Branson, MO 65616-3815
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 141 Hotels in Branson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castle Rock Resort & Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Rock Resort & Waterpark provides guests with an unforgettable all-in-one resort destination with friendly service and activities. We offer 30,000 sq ft. Of indoor waterpark and 10,000 sq ft. Of outdoor Waterpark including two large slides, two 500 gallon tipping buckets, a lazy river, and multiple indoor/outdoor activity pools. Our Tower Rooms are attached to our indoor waterpark through indoor corridors and offer a bunk bed alcove with separate TV for the kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Rock Resort & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Rock Resort & Waterpark Hotel Branson
Castle Rock Resort And Waterpark
Castle Rock Branson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing