We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place to eat and killer fried chicken”

The Great American Steak & Chicken House
Ranked #172 of 369 Restaurants in Branson
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Driving down 76 Country Blvd., you can't miss the 3 1/2 - story Rooster looming over the big red barn, home of The Great American Steak & Chicken House.Breakfast begins at 7a.m. and includes everyone's favorites from Flapjacks, Omelets and homemade Biscuits & Sausage Gravy to the fresh Farmer's Makret Fruit Bar.Lunch and dinner features, All-American favorites and appetizers that range from Chicken Wings, Fried Green Tomatoes and Fried Pickles to Grilled Chicken Nachos and the yummy Onion Hay Stack.The menu is filled with delicious.home-style cooking, beginning with the homemade Chicken and Dumplings, Broasted Chicken, Beef Liver & Onions, Fried Pork Steak and even Frog Legs! The tender, juicy steaks range from an 8oz. Filet to a 16oz. Porterhouse! Side dish choices include Fried Okra, Black Eyed Peas, Mashed Potatos & Gravy, Collard Greens, Baked Sweet Potatoes and much more.Add the Heartland Soup, Salad & Bread Bar to your entree or make it a meal on its own. One of the best parts of dining at The Great American Steak & Chicken House is the FREE "Hen House Handouts" with the purchase of an entree!
Adrian, Missouri
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat and killer fried chicken”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Great American Steak & Chicken House looks like it is going to transport you to Grandma's farm with the big red barn and crazy big rooster out front. It was a fun place to eat. The waiting area looks like a silo and the inside of the restaurant has lots of animals and fun stuff to look at. Now the most important part. The food. Mmm, mmm, MMMMM! YUM! The husband & I both had fried chicken and the boys had cheeseburgers. Definitely worth the wait time. Also, the cornbread pass arounds are to die for. The corn bread was almost cake-like it texture and oh so good. Definitely a great place to stop and have a very, very filling bite. A note though, if you don't have a fridge in your hotel room or a cooler, you better plan on splitting your meal or you're going to waste a lot of food. Yep, you get that much.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CountryMomx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    199
    240
    146
    176
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Crazy chicken, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I am happy that we ate here even after seeing the poor reviews. Our server was Donnie. He was polite, friendly and efficient. Our food was well seasoned and hot. The salad bar was fresh and cold. We were well taken care of and enjoyed every bit of our food. No one took a doggie bag. The special was the best choice. My husband had the country fried chicken and loved it. The green beans were a little peppery and the Bacon in it was plentiful. Overall, a great outing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaugh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better than I expected....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The prices seemed a little high on the menu at first...

Our server seemed a little befuddled...He brought the wrong sides with our entrees....Brought us drinks we didnt order, Charged us for two salad bars instead of the one we actually ordered.

The sweet Cornbread WAS VERY GOOD..our also came with some fried pickles...Which I dont really care for Fried pickles, But my Partner thought they were great. The salad Bar, at 3.99 upcharge was OK... The Chili on the salad bar had Good Flavor.

I had the Sirlion Tips...(i know major gamble in a restaurant with a giant Chicken at the front door) ordered them Medium rare even, and they were great! The mac-n-Cheese was even good also.

Ball and chain had the Fried Chicken and said it was pretty good.. Only complaint was it coulda been fried a little longer... Overall it was a good experience...and like I said...Better than expected.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeSchmoe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food and lots of it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

OK the big chicken out front is kind of cheesy... but the food is GREAT! They bring complimentary sweet cornbread to your table. The chicken is excellent. Lots of choices for sides as well. Service was good. Really enjoyed it. A welcome break from the cookie cutter franchises.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Puertoboy1054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disappointed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This used to be my favorite restaurant to eat at while visiting Branson. However, this visit changed that. They must have changed management or something. It took 10-15 minutes to see our server and then about 45 minutes to get our food. When it did come out the food was not good and cold. My husband talked to the manager and he acted like he didnt even care.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great American Steak & Chicken House also viewed

 

Been to The Great American Steak & Chicken House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing