We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Show”

Branson's Famous Baldknobbers
Ranked #39 of 167 things to do in Branson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Branson's Famous Baldknobbers, featuring the Mabe family, is a country music and comedy variety show in Branson, Missouri performing at the new Branson Famous Theatre. The Mabe family began the Branson family entertainment phenomenon 58 years ago in 1959. Today, the family continues to wow audiences as the second and third generations add their own flare to the family legacy. Their perfect blend of country music, gospel music and comedy will keep you at the edge of your seat and roaring with laughter all night long. The family has been recognized on a national platform as well. In 2011, the Mabe brothers original costumes, instruments and artifacts were added to the permanent collection of the Smithsonian's National Museum of American History. The family has also appeared in multiple television programs, most recently starring in their own reality television series, "Branson Famous". When visiting Branson, don't miss Branson's Famous Baldknobbers at the new Branson Famous Theatre!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Kansas
Level Contributor
296 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent Show”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our family has visited the Baldknobbers Jamboree many times over the years. Excellent show, excellent entertainment. This was the first show in Branson that started in 1959. Refreshments are way overpriced, but that's true in all the shows. We will visit again!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank digetydog2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    148
    109
    60
    31
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“LOUD”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Not what we expected. Volume way too loud. Show not as funny as we had hoped. There were some good songs which showcased some beautiful voices, but mostly they were just too loud to even be able to enjoy it. WeI will not go back, nor will we recommend this show. What happened to the comedy? The best part was the pre-opening act with the single guy and his guitar all alone.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jewels52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“guess I am just not a fan of this”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had seen the Presley's and I guess I thought this would be as good. I just don't enjoy this type of humor and the jagged tooth stereotype of the old mountain folk. They claim to be the first show on the strip but I just didn't feel it lived up to their hype. See the Presley's instead, I think you will be happier. We have been to Branson twice since seeing this one and just think there are too many we want to see to repeat this one....some shows I like seeing again, but not this one.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Still one of the best”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Baldknobbers started it all in Branson more than 50 years ago and they are still one of the very best shows. The pre-show was better than many of the main shows in town, with good music and a lot of comedy. This year, we happened to visit during the Christmas show, and it is great. The first half is the typical Baldknobbers variety show with excellent music and comedy. The second half is all Christmas music and is of the highest quality. The Baldknobbers still set the standard for entertainment in the Ozarks. An added plus, as a Veteran, my ticket was free. While virtually all of the shows in Branson pay tribute to veterans, the Baldknobbers go way beyond that in admitting all those who served free of charge.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RUtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Arkansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hesitant because of reviews”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

we almost didn't go because of the reviews but my 9 year old insisted and I'm so glad he did, he laughed the entire time and we all enjoyed the entire show! Very good clean family fun

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noiseyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Branson's Famous Baldknobbers also viewed

 

Been to Branson's Famous Baldknobbers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing