We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Bowling Green
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bowling Green
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“a bit better than expected”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

If first impressions are everything, then we should have kept driving, however happily we walked all the way to the room.
The room and it's contents could have been found in any mid-priced chain. The room was nicely painted, with fresh clean tasteful bathroom tile and fixtures and new carpet on the floor. Wood furniture is a dark oak. It is new even with the out-dated color. TV is a large tube version rather than flat screen.
Bedding was average quality and the area is quiet for sleep. Toiletries also acceptable and average quality.
Bath towels are thin and not very soft - ask for a couple of extra ones at the desk.
The lobby has fresh popcorn and candy pieces. Breakfast, served over 4 hours, is below average.
The worst feature is the awful hallway wallpaper and carpet. It reminds one of cheap hotels from two decades ago, or motel beds that rent by the hour.
Summary: If you get a couple of extra towels, then this place is worth a bit more than we paid.
Bowling Green has only one motel, so competition does not exist locally, however Hannibal is only 25-30 minutes to the northeast. That will help to keep them honest.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Californiaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    97
    62
    19
    5
See reviews for
123
58
27
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mounds View, Minnesota
Level Contributor
306 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

This Super 8 was average. There was a loose handle in the bathroom sink. We were on the back side of the motel and the lights for the parking lot were too bright. We usually have a nightlight so we can see if we get up in the night, but here you could see your way to the bathroom clearly. Other than the lights, the room was fine.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNroadtrippers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBowlingGreen_MO, General Manager at Super 8 Bowling Green, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us.
We take great Pride in providing clean guestrooms and great service at our Super 8 and hope that you will give us another chance to WOW you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

This place was really well managed. Decent continental breakfast, good check-in service, clean rooms, and a modern hotel with an elevator. Really easy to get on and off US 61.

The only thing is that the only food options around here are Hardee's and McDonald's.

Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank tayser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

Due to the length of our trip we decided to stop at this hotel half way through. First the good:

* Friendly people
* Wireless Internet

Now the bad:
* No Smoking room reeked. We had to purchase a can of lysol and burn scented candles to put up with it.
* The one restroom located as part of the lobby/breakfast are also contained a babies high chair. Your child would be sitting in and eating on whatever sprayed up from the toilet each time it flushed.

If you can find another place to stay Do IT!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markleville, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2005

Stayed at this motel two nights for a wedding. Since we brought our Chiquaqua we had to take a smoking room. We were going to have our wedding clothes in the room, so they placed an ionizer in the room the morning that we were to arrive and the room smelled great. The staff was so helpful and our room and the rooms of the other wedding party guests were neat and very clean. Smiles on all the staff's faces. We would stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueBowlingGreen_MO, Manager at Super 8 Bowling Green, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We appreciate the good report and it makes out people feel good and wants to keep up the good work

Thank you again for taking the few minutes it took to do this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Bowling Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Bowling Green

Property: Super 8 Bowling Green
Address: 1216 E Champ Clark Dr, Hwy 61 South, Bowling Green, MO 63334-2356
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Bowling Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bowling Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Bowling Green 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Bowling Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Bowling Green
Bowling Green Super 8
Bowling Green Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing