We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly warm and cosy.”
Review of Old Barn Steakhouse - CLOSED

Old Barn Steakhouse
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Old Barn Steakhouse is located in the village of Markethill, County Armagh. Proprieter James Richardson, is a multi-awarding winning Chef, including Ulster Tatler Chef of the Year 2012, and Janus Chef of the Year 2013. The restaurant specialises in top quality steaks, but offers a wide variety of menu choices to it's patrons, including an extremely popular Sunday carvery. Lunch is also served 12 -4pm, Tuesday - Saturday.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here today..first class! Friendly and attentive staff. The restaurant was warm and cosy on a very cold day. The food was excellent altough we had to wait a little while for it to arrive. The carvery looked delicious. We'll be back soon again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GeeByee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at Old Barn Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, it is much appreciated. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself, and please do stop by and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Old Barn Steakhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 171 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Visited with my family, we had a mixture of the steak deal and early bird. Both menus had a great choice, the food was excellent, the glaze on the steaks was amazing. The staff were attentive but not over the top we got to enjoy the food. I will definitely be back. Just one tiny thing. I asked for a medium/rare steak, more on the rare and got a medium to well. I find this though in a lot of restaurants. I didn't complain as the steak still tasted good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank armaghpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at Old Barn Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Hello there! I am glad that you enjoyed your visit with us, and thank you for letting us know. We try to provide a wide range of menu options, and thank you for your kind comments on same. Our servers are the most valuable asset the business has, and I will certainly pass on your compliments. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review for Old Barn Steakhouse, and may I wish you and yours a Merry Christmas, and Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Our party (4 adults) went there on a Saturday night in early December -- all of us were first-time visitors to this restaurant. Long story short -- the steaks are *excellent* --- the best we've had in a long time. They were all significantly over-done (for example, mine was ordered as medium rare and will between medium-well and well-done) but they were absolutely first-class. Accompanying side-dishes as well as the starters & desserts were all excellent.

We've already had a return visit -- we took the kids to their Santa Sunday carvery yesterday and had a good meal; however, the steaks from their main menu were in a different league.

Looking forward to this being a regular venue -- friendly service from pleasant staff, and a good buzz (it was busy on both of our visits).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mmcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at Old Barn Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Hi there, and thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the quality of our steaks! We use meat from the same herd in Loughgall every week, ensuring quality and consistency every time. We look forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

At office party, great starters and desserts but dreadful main course. Potatoes and veg cold, sauce came as meal was finishing, also hot vegetables appeared then. No sign of cook or restaurant manager!! Meals pre ordered so really no excuse for it. Seated upstairs and very cold there. Very bad impression created.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Wren_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at Old Barn Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Firstly, let me apologise for your poor experience at the restaurant, and you are right, there is no excuse for the main course being cold, and we have made sure that the relevant people now understand this. The room upstairs was cold on the evening, and our restaurant manager offered to seat your group on the ground floor, and her offer was declined. The temperature on the second floor has caused us a few problems, and we are installing a new heating system this week to rectify this. Once again, l would like to take this opportunity to apologise for your poor visit to the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Have had some brilliant meals here ,but was at a Christmas meal with work and was very disappointed .we were upstairs and it was freezing,starter was lovely ,so was desert .The main meal was terrible,potatoes were cold so were the vegtable

    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank William247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter S, General Manager at Old Barn Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

As you were at the same party as the review above, can I refer you to the posted answer. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Barn Steakhouse also viewed

Markethill, County Armagh
Portadown, County Armagh
 
Markethill, County Armagh
Markethill, County Armagh
 
Markethill, County Armagh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing