We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great for divers.

As a non-diver Stoney Cove has limited attraction apart from the lovely view. But, it is very... read more

Reviewed July 20, 2018
Gillyhasbean
,
Leicestershire
Nice Summer Evening

Great place for a beer or meal with view over the cove, and watch or partake in diving during the... read more

Reviewed June 10, 2018
Roger M
,
Stoney Stanton, United Kingdom
Read all 148 reviews
  
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
66
51
17
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
51
17
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews changing facilities car park space sunny day water temp great place to learn hot food big thanks scuba diving dry suit dive centre great diving disused quarry visibility pike wreck shop qualification
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This Was A Good Experience To Go As Couples Or Family’s Would Highly Recommend If You Haven’t Already Been There Yet Worth A Visit Good Hog Roast And Pub Close By Too And Music

Thank Connector827266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Lovely place to go and watch divers and swimmers in a beautiful surrounding. Grab a drink and food at the bar which overlooks it!

Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

Poor food in Nemo's - the garlic bread would have sunk in the lake !
As non divers - we won't be going again

Thank boysweekendaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

It disappoints me to write this but after Wednesday's experience I feel that is very little else that can be done , after returning from previous dive trip where

I arrived and asked for membership and entry on the gate , which the guy said 'yeah no probs, but can you fill in the forms ', which i was more than happy to, he then asked would I mind if he went and served the customer's behind walst I was filling in paper work , again happy to do this ,

Then after completing my dives that day I left,

However upon return I arrived at the gate showed the card I've been given last time only to be told "its 22 ,your not a member" shocked after being told last time I was, I simply explained I paid last time , which the Staffs reaction was its £22 , I said ok but what happened last time, "well you've been overcharged" ok if that was the case it's needed sorting, and i tryed to expain how if there was a missunderstaing then it needs sorting , however all this member of staff was concerned about is I needed to pay 22 pounds , and was not concerned about the money I paid last time , I ask to park up and allow the 8 or so divers behind me in ,so I could go into the shop and speak to a manager as this member of staff attitude kept getting ruder and more confrontational, 'no you need to pay first ' was the answer 'Ok what can I speak to manager then please', which member of staff simply said 'it's 22 pounds', so I had to waive a manager over, who did to fair say park up and come back to the shop , but should it really you're taking this long to sort what seemed to be a simple misunderstanding, NO

Upon arrived at the shop it was immediately assumed that I was lying and haven't been told I was a member but that I still owed them 22 pounds , unless I could give them a receipt but who actually receipts brings receipts with them evertime you dive. No need if you ask me , I asked as I was under time pressure if I could pay the £15 (member price) today I'll look for the receipt at home despite the fact there should be no need , ' No' was the answer, I said ok unfortunately paid the £22, I then tried to explain that if there was a missunderstaing or miscommunication then ok but the member of staff on the gate should handle it professionally.

Wost ment my condition which the centre was fully aware of as declared it on the membership form effective me during my dive, due to stress, lucky my buddy knew my condition well and help me though the dive,

Overall it was a simple misunderstanding I feel that escalated because of denial by the staff members , having in extreme sport industry for many years myself these misunderstandings happen but should be dealt with on the basis that we are pushing for a solution rather than causing more of a problem and always think how can I make the customers day better after this what ever happened. Such as apologizing for the misunderstanding or chageing the member price this time and saying come back to sort it out with receipts.

Neither which include the apology was not given

Thank JTs26gvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

After a failed visit at a previous pub we stopped off here for some food , the kids loved looking out at the lake and the food was delivered fast and tasted very good it’s very reasonable priced aswell. We will definitely visit again

Thank ajx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018

As a non-diver Stoney Cove has limited attraction apart from the lovely view. But, it is very peaceful and there are ducks to feed ( with proper duck food, never bread). It is interesting to watch the swimmers and divers. There is a pub, Nemo's Bar on site which I will review separately. Because it is a disused quarry, there is on!y a small area for walking and very few seats. The diving shop looked marvellous.

1  Thank Gillyhasbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2018 via mobile

I have just spent the past 2 days at Stoney Cove with my 14 year old son whist he completed his PADI Open Water Divers course. What an amazing place, the weather was amazing which helped and as for my sons dive experience he loved every second of it. We would certainly go back and would recommend it to any divers or those wanting to complete a diving course.

1  Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

Excellent day out. We enjoyed a full day of diving in the lake followed by a snack meal in the pub can't fault the place what a great setup for diving.

Safety is amazing and a fast response fortunately not required on that occasion but wow so fast and professional. Thanks to the team at Stoney Cove Dice Centre.

1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018 via mobile

Happened to be staying in the area for business and took a pot shot chance and looked at a map and discovered this lovely place. In a landlocked area of the country, this is an undiscovered gem whereby you can relax whilst the lapping sound of water provides a wonderful background ambience. The bar and restaurant - Nemo's is an excellent location to sink a few cold ones whilst sitting on the balcony enjoying the view. There is a modest menu, but look out for the daily specials... They bolster the menu quite nicely. I had a huge T-bone steak for a very reasonable £16.95. Great location, nice food, and a great place to chill.

1  Thank 507steven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018

Great place for a beer or meal with view over the cove, and watch or partake in diving during the day.
Nice for a cold beer in the evening as the sun goes down over the water.

Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews