We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”
Review of Fortescue Arms

Fortescue Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $24
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My wife and I decided to have lunch out today and after chatting to someone who had been to the The Fortescue Arms and recommended it we thought we would give it a try. And very glad we did.
We got a warm welcome and were shown to the restaurant area. We both had the goats cheese on mushroom as a starter which were very tasty. My wife had the seafood platter and I had the lamb shank for mains. The portions were very large and we both struggled to finish it. All very well cooked and the service was excellent. On top of that the prices were very acceptable. The atmosphere was very good.
We will be going back there in the not too distant future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortescueArms, Manager at Fortescue Arms, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed the food & atmosphere, We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    43
    14
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We couldn't find any other pub open on a Sunday drive. We are glad they were closed. This pub was very busy and they were fully booked. Despite that the staff were very welcoming and managed to fit us in. The roast rib of beef was delicious and served with excellent veg. The service was exceptional. We will definitely be back

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank UKAID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortescueArms, Manager at Fortescue Arms, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit, We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Lovely pub, close to home and great value”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Visited the pub on Good Friday, had a lovely meal and fine pint of bitter. It's quite a large pub and I suggest it is more a local pub the anything else. Never the less, the service was good, the beer was fine and the food, hot, plentiful and great value for money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank notrevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortescueArms, Manager at Fortescue Arms, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thankyou for your lovely review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit. We are a local pub/restaurant, but we are ideally placed within easy reach of Sleaford, Bourne, Grantham, Spalding, Boston, Stamford & Peterborough so we are also "Destination" which keeps us consistently busy. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Level Contributor
273 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“No service”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Despite purporting to serve food until 2.00pm, we turned up at 1.45pm and they refused to find even a sandwich to eat .... presumably, the kitchen had been cleaned down after the 6 people in the bar had finished their meals and our two extras weren't worth it ! In fairness, the beer was excellent, but the attitude of the staff was reprehensible.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortescueArms, Manager at Fortescue Arms, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
I am sorry to read your review and learn of your dissapointment at not being able to order food on Monday lunchtime. I myself was on site and my wife was in the kitchen who assures me that it was after 2pm even though only a couple of minutes. We do regularly accept people after the 2pm deadline wherever possible, I am sorry on this occasion that we were unable to.
Thankyou for complimenting our Beer, we take pride in serving Real ales and Real Home Cooked food. I hope you will visit us again to allow us to make ammends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Another good family meal. Portions are excellent. Good honest pub food. The only issue is the chips... as I mentioned before.... other than that this is as great place for a pub lunch

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fortescue Arms also viewed

Aslackby and Laughton, Lincolnshire
Spalding, Lincolnshire
 
Burton Coggles, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Fortescue Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing