We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard beds, customer service glitch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Kansas City East/Blue Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Kansas City East/Blue Springs
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Blue Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
104 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Hard beds, customer service glitch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I arrived at the hotel in the middle of the night after a long drive from Minnesota. I entered a locked vestibule and pressed the buzzer for after hours entry. Nothing happened. No employee was at the desk. I then called directory assistance and got the number to the hotel. I called and could hear the phone ringing and ringing but nobody answered.

After about 20 minutes of standing there I saw an employee walk by and she motioned at me that she would be right down. When I got let in, I saw that there was a handwritten sign on the desk telling guests that she would be delivering check out folios to all 4 floors and to remember to bring their room cards outside with them. That did me no good as a late arriving guest. If they are really requiring the front desk person to abandon the desk they need to find a way that she can be contacted. Waiting for 20 minutes in a vestibule is unacceptable.

The room I received was wonderful. Very large and clean. The property itself was clean, quiet and very well located right off of I-70.

The second gripe was the beds. I spend 30-45 nights a year in hotels and normally find the beds much more comfortable than my own at home. But, holy cow, this mattress was hard as a rock! I understand that mattress firmness is subjective in nature. For every person you find that likes a softer feel you will find someone that enjoys a harder mattress. For that reason, most hotel mattresses strike a balance, but not these.

I give the hotel an average rating just based on the location and updated facilities, but I would never stay there again based on the hard mattresses.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank trm684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    55
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
47
37
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just about everything is right with this hotel except for four things: the beds; the linens, the small bathroom vanity and the air freshener in the rooms. The property appears to be newer and it is quite nice and comfortable. Quiet, too and located near a lot of shopping and restaurants with easy access to Highway 70. The rooms are typical for a mid-range hotel with bed, flat screen TV, desk, chair, mini fridge and free wireless access. While you could stay at a Hilton competitor for about the same price, there the breakfast is what I call "hot continental" - that is, a couple of hot items (rarely bacon) and mainly continental in nature. At the Marriott, breakfast is NOT included but it is a nice buffet, WITH bacon, and reasonably priced. Some are complaining at the cost but, when you've spent $60 on breakfast at a larger property, the $10/person you'll spend here is a bargain. True, it's not free, like at the Hilton competitor, but it's a proper breakfast! One disappointment with breakfast was the lack of iced tea. What is up with that? I can order hot tea but not iced tea.

Room amenities are also what you would expect: coffee maker, hair dryer, body lotion, body gel, shampoo and conditioner. Coffee packets and one (Lipton...ick) tea bag were included. I'm not a coffee drinker so I did not pay attention to the brand. Yes, I admit I'm a tea snob but why not at least Tazo?

Disappointing: 1) The beds. Wow, they were hard. Not comfortable at all. I can stay at that Hilton competitor for about the same price and experience a much more boutique-like bed. Come on Marriott! 2) The linens. Like the beds, the linens were cheap. The towels were thin and the sheets were lightweight as well. Nothing makes a mid-range property feel more luxurious than some nicer linens. I'd say it's worth the investment. On the plus side, the pillows were GREAT! 3) The ridiculously small bathroom vanity. Not only is it too small for one person to spread their toiletries, but part of it is taken up by the coffee maker! 4) The air freshener. Never before have I been in a hotel room where air freshener was continuously pumped into the room. For someone with scent sensitivities, this was very unpleasant. I even looked for the source to see if I could disable it for our stay. No luck. Not sure where it is hidden but I would recommend discarding the air fresheners. The property is 100% smoke-free so why the need for perfume?

I supposed you could say I am too picky. I freely admit the property was nice, located in a great spot, and was in immaculate condition. The staff were very friendly...always saying "hello!" and allowing us to take the elevator while they waited for the next ride. There were no problems when our large family, there for a wedding celebration, commandeered the lobby and its television to watch a Cardinals baseball playoff game while drinking the alcohol and food we purchased elsewhere. All in all, the experience was a good one and I would easily recommend this property. I just think the experience could be upgraded with some better mattresses and linens and by getting rid of the air fresheners. The coffee makers could be easily relocated to another spot in the room.

At any rate, they have bacon (and darn good bacon!) for breakfast and that is a definite win!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chompypf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott in Blue Springs for a long weekend for my 45th High School reunion. As I had not stayed there before and actually hadn't been to the Kansas City area for about 10 years, I didn't know what to expect. I was very pleasantly surprised how well the property was kept up. Everything was sparkling clean and I felt comfortable the entire weekend. The breakfast buffet was very reasonable and the cook to order grill was included. The staff was very attentive which was a feat because there was a large number of us staying at the hotel.
The room was very comfortable and had plenty of electrical outlets for my computer and phone charger. The bathroom was very clean, and well maintained. Parking at the hotel was also very accommodating. The Marriott also had a swimming pool that I did not use although it did look inviting. And the exercise room was adequate for my needs. Overall, this was one of the better hotels I've stayed in and can highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed in cheaper hotels that were just as nice as this one that supplied you with a free hot breakfast! Not only is it not free, but it is over $10 for a hot breakfast. Had we known this we would have stayed somewhere else.
The room was clean (except for the bug running across the bathroom floor), the bed was comfortable and it was quiet.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Diane4Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill E, General Manager at Courtyard Kansas City East/Blue Springs, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
I always appreciate feedback, and I hope I can be of assistance. Courtyard Marriott as a brand does not include breakfast in the standard room rate, however there is a rate available which includes breakfast. The rate with breakfast is very comparable and competitive with rates of area hotels that offer a "free" breakfast. You will find this rate both on-line or through Marriott reservation system, but it does not show up on Priceline, Expedia, etc.

Our breakfast buffet includes bacon and sausage, biscuits and gravy, home-style potatoes, and eggs made to order, including any omelette. Also, oatmeal, waffles with a variety of toppings, a variety of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, breakfast breads, muffins, danish & pastries. It includes coffee and juice, also. For quality and price, our breakfast beats breakfast at Bob Evans, Denny's or Cracker Barrel. In fact, we have many local customers that come in for breakfast at our cafe. Our emphasis is on variety and quality of breakfast offerings, so free breakfast programs simply do not compare.

I hope this information helps.
Bill E.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I had to travel for business and we turned it into a short couple's vacation. The hotel was very nice, clean with updated decor. Our room was large, with a jacuzzi and refrigerator, which I appreciated. The pool was not large, but it was very clean and was sufficient for swimming. The hotel was quiet and the bed was very comfortable, with nice clean, crisp sheets and comforter. We opted for the breakfast with our room rate for $10 more which gave us 2 breakfast vouchers for us and, if we had children with us, would have included 2 breakfast voucher for them too. It was a great deal of savings and the breakfast was wonderful. We loved our server. She was pleasant and very helpful. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
230 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a little hard to find. It is on a frontage road back in behind big shopping center. There is no shortage of restaurant around to find some dinner. The hotel is beautiful. The rooms were updated, clean and nicely decorated. The staff was very friendly. When we left for dinner, the lady at the front desk asked if our room was great. It was nice that she actually asked after we had checked in but just shortly. Will definitely plan to stay here again if going this way through.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TwotimesMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
238 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently with a business meeting. Katie and Fred went above and beyond to make sure my room was just what I needed. Very clean property. Everyone in my group liked their stay. Only thing I would say needs improvement is the friendliness and speaking tone if the breakfast servers.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlsenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blue Springs
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Blue Springs
5.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Kansas City Independence
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Blue Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Kansas City
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Grain Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
5.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Independence
Comfort Suites Independence
#3 of 18 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kansas City East/Blue Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kansas City East/Blue Springs

Property: Courtyard Kansas City East/Blue Springs
Address: 1500 NE Coronado Dr, I-70 and Adams Dairy Parkway, Blue Springs, MO 64014-2970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Blue Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Blue Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kansas City East/Blue Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Kansas City East/Blue Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kansas City/ East Blue Springs Hotel Blue Springs
Courtyard Blue Springs
Blue Springs Marriott
Blue Springs Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing