We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite restaurants”
Review of Real Jalisco

Real Jalisco
Ranked #5 of 130 Restaurants in Blue Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Real Jalisco is true Authentic Mexican Cuisine located in the heart of Blue Springs, MO. Owned by Sergio & Joel Palacios, the two brothers take pride in offering the flavors of Jalisco, Mexico in a warm, relaxing atmosphere good for families, couples, friends, etc.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I just love Real Jalisco. They have a dish with pickled cactus that is my absolute favorite, but I have tried many other things and it's all great. (Sometimes it does end up being a little too spicy, but that would be my only complaint.) If you enjoy margaritas, this restaurant doesn't disappoint. Their house margarita is perfectly fine, but the one I truly dream of is the Chambord raspberry specialty margarita. It is out of this world! Try the squash blossom quesadilla appetizer for something unique. Don't bother with the tex-mex selections. Go somewhere else if that's what you want!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel P, Owner at Real Jalisco, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your business and for the feedback! So glad you enjoy our food and that we don't disappoint with our selections! Come back soon - the Margaritas are waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    32
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Used to be soooo much better”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have been to Real Jalisco probably five times during the last 18 months, since it is within five blocks of my house. The most recent visit in Dec 2012 proved to me what I saw in Nov 2012--the quality is really slipping here and prices seem higher. I've ordered several items on the menu, and it has gone from "Outstanding" to just average. The last time I determined that the price for the value of the food is probably too much and I don't plan on going back for quite some time. The service is still good. The food is still cooked good enough. But it really has gone from a "Wow" experience to just an average, higher-than-average Mexican restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pvsmith2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have loved this restaurant since it opened. The food is prepared as it would have been in Mexico -- no tex-mex unless you ask for it which suggest you don't because the main dishes are really good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Love Real Jalisco”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a great place with fantastic food and an attentive staff. Authentic Mexican Fare that is not Tex Mex but creative and unique dishes. The prices are very good and this is a great place for couples or families.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic food with New twist”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The owner describes his mother's recipes and I recommend them all. Apetizer with garlice cheese is favorite. Mild is Pollo con crema (chicken in cream sauce). Never thought I'd say I loved to eat cactus, I do! Excellent experience and the men are very good servers, attentive.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Real Jalisco also viewed

 

Been to Real Jalisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing