We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

The Old Three Pigeons
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Nesscliffe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I normally end up here after a taking the dog riding up on Nesscliffe hill and its not because its convenient (which it is!), but because the staff are really friendly and welcoming, the beer is well kept and the food is SOOOO good!! In the winter, there's usually an open log fire going in the bar which just adds to the wonderful feel of this place.

If you are ever in the area and wanting either a good pint with friends or a nice meal with family or a loved one, then this is the place to be!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank afrobobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    52
    24
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Shropshire at its best.”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

In the 1960s I lived at Baschurch and regularly went to the Three Pigeons for Sunday Lunch and when I return to Shropshire in August of this year I renewed my aquaintance with this family owned restaurant, for just over a tenner you get a nice pint and the choice of beef, lamb or pork, or a slice of each with nice selection of vegetables.

Later I went to Wem to try and locate the famous treacle mines but without success. Shropshire is a wonderful county with its meres (lakes)
and the oldest mountain in Europe (The Wrekin) and of course the Long Mynd and its environs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank francis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

On a recent business trip found this lovely pub and stopped for lunch. Excellent food, mammoth proportions, with the only criticism being the usual inability of cooks/chefs to cook a soft egg. Beautiful piece of gammon with two eggs on top both of which were virtually solid. Frying an egg must be the most simple thing to do but whether or not it is because it is so simple chefs appear to have a complete inability to make one properly. Very minor criticism because otherwise this is a great place with particularly pleasant young lady serving you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The BORDERers
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great find for good food after country walk”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Made the most of a sunny September day to explore Nesscliffe Country Park. we came back to village with tired dog and decided to have a drink at the Three Pidgeons. The garden was a sun trap so we stopped for lunch and were really pleased we did. menu choices were really good with interesting choices and locally sourced quality produce. their ciabbatta sandwich and chips options are well priced and great quality. did not have room for pud so a good excuse to call again especially as it's dog friendly too with water bowl provided.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B0rderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“We just popped in....”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We called into The Old Three Pigeons on our way back to Norwich from Wales, so needed somewhere to break the journey and get some sustenance.
We were very pleasantly surprised. The service was extremely good and all staff couldn't have been friendlier.
Food, was well cooked, reasonably priced and arrived promptly....just what was needed

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tricky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Three Pigeons also viewed

 
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
 

Been to The Old Three Pigeons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing