We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food and probably best Fish & Chips in the north”
Review of The Kings Head - CLOSED

The Kings Head
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Quality food and probably best Fish & Chips in the north”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Went for a pub lunch with friends and did not expect much. But the ploughman selections are good and the Fish and Chips was the best I have tasted in the one month tour of UK. Consider that the location is probably the furthest from the sea in England, we were pleasantly surprised. Beer and services are good too as the lady at the bar allowed us a few samples to taste before we order the pints. Yes, we will certainly return again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oscar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    18
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“This place should be packed out”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We cannot understand why this pub is not full of diners. The food is excellent and the service of a high quality.

We had the burger and a rump steak. The burger was cooked pink, the way they should be, and served with cheddar cheese, red onion jam, sliced gherkins, tomato and lettuce. It was tender, juicy and very tasty. The rump steak was also cooked as requested, medium rare, very tender and, considering the quality and size, very good value. The accompanying chips were lovely and crisp, and the salad garnish lightly dressed with both an aromatic mustard and a rich balsamic dressings. Both meals were excellent and good value for money. Its a long time since we dined here and we will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Secret Gem No longer”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

It had to happen of course! This little local has grown in reputation since Simon and Charlotte took the helm. A clever combination of innovation and tradition, old world charm with a modern art twist. Simon's influence is evident in the menus created and the artworks exhibited. If you are into chocolate caramel tart, you won't be disappointed! Better still if you're feeling indulgent ask chef to knock you up an assiette of chocolate, for a heavenly chocolate triptych!

Valerie R-H

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VjRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lot, France
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“80th birthday treat”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Took our uncle and aunt to the Kings Arms as part of his 80th birthday treats. Made very Wellcome on arrival even though this was the first time we had visited. Three guest ales on offer including one from nene valley brewery. Nice choice on menu. Rear restaurant very pleasant. Uncle made a big fuss of which he lapped up. Food very good and the accompanying wine. A lovely pub out in the countryside with very nice staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieP821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food & Service, but.....”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nine of us visited earlier this week - my first return visit after many years. Staff were welcoming - service was good - and the restaurant was spacious and pleasant. The food was good - starters were all excellent - although the balance on the main course salads was wrong - too much greenery and not enough "content". The chicken was excellent, although the accompanying vegetables (crushed potatoes) were less appealing. The food is 90% of the way there - it is just the "final" bit that lets it down.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Head also viewed

Woodnewton, Oundle
Bulwick, Northamptonshire
 
Nassington, Peterborough
Elton, Peterborough
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Fotheringhay, Northamptonshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing