We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”
Review of Boars Head Pub

Boars Head Pub
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Aust
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Oh dear Boars Head! Very disappointing Sunday roast. Very large plateful but soggy veg, apart from the peas! Lumpy mash, tasteless potatoes apart from the two tiny roast potatoes which were OK. Stuffing dry and cold, yorkshire pudding not great. Although my pork was good. Only the burgers had a thumbs up from my grandchildren. None of our party enjoyed the food and it was a complete waste of my money. We will not be going back for a very long time.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boarsHeadAust, Manager at Boars Head Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi,
Thankyou for your review and saddened that you didn’t enjoy your experience. We weren’t aware of any issues and will pass your comments on.

Kindest Regards
Boars Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 285 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2019

Wife and myself cycled from Chepstow over Severn Bridge this morning, came across this pub on our journey
Went in and ordered food
I had the beer battered fish and chips
My wife had the Ham egg and chips
Both meals were very good and good portions
Meals were served very quickly
Staff very friendly and helpful
Will definitely be visiting again

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank BarryJ552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boarsHeadAust, Manager at Boars Head Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi,
A BIG Thank you for such a great review and will pass your kind comments onto our team.

Kindest Regards
Boars Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

Had the most wonderful lunch here. Food is excellent and staff is very friendly. We felt very welcome here with our dog and he had a great time as he got some treats and cuddles. Can highly recommend the sautéed mushrooms (best I’ve ever had) and the desserts are to die for.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 410sannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boarsHeadAust, Manager at Boars Head Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi,
A BIG Thank you for such a great review and will pass your kind comments onto our team.

Kindest Regards
Boars Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

Very pleasantly surprised, starter and main meal for three people only £48 and all the dishes tasted delicious.
Staff were very friendly and attentive, they asked us several times if our meal was okay.
Lovely beer garden with a bouncy castle for the kids.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank chellparkes76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boarsHeadAust, Manager at Boars Head Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi,
A BIG Thank you for such a great review and will pass your kind comments onto our team.

Kindest Regards
Boars Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

This is a proper pub.
Dog friendly.
Very warm welcome. Ideal location to meet up with family. Just as easy to access as Severn view services. BUT much more relaxing, better value than motorway services too. Good food, atmosphere.
Lovely village to walk round before a very filling lunch. We will now use it instead of Motorway services, as we cross North to South.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Dexter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boarsHeadAust, Manager at Boars Head Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi,
A BIG Thank you for such a great review and will pass your kind comments onto our team.

Kindest Regards
Boars Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boars Head Pub also viewed

Littleton-upon-Severn, Gloucestershire
Almondsbury, Gloucestershire
 
Almondsbury, Gloucestershire
Oldbury-on-Severn, Gloucestershire
 
Olveston, Gloucestershire
Tockington, Gloucestershire
 

Been to Boars Head Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing