We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit won't be the last”
Review of The Badger Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Badger Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay.wonderful staff,great selection of food and cooked to perfection.Rooms were first class in every way.The bar was lively,great selection of lagers,ciders and real ales.WE were bed and breakfast,again first class English breakfast with friendly attentive service.I could find nothing negative to say about this pub.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank pabar48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
01606889455, Owner at The Badger Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Pabar

What can I say, your review is fantastic and it has given the staff a real buzz. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks again for the excellent review we really appreciate it.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 433 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

Have now stayed at this hotel twice and both times have been a great experience. The rooms are fabulous and the food is fantastic and not overly priced - always a nice surprise. Staff are friendly and can't do enough for you. Book and you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rebecca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
01606889455, Owner at The Badger Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Hi Rebecca

With a review like that you would think you were on my payroll. Thanks for staying with us and reviewing us, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay enough to come back.

I look forward to meeting you in the future.

Many thanks

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I love the Badger, second time we have stayed here and will definitely be coming back again. The food is beautiful and very reasonably priced, the rooms are spacious clean and comfortable and the staff can't do enough for you. Highly recommended!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
01606889455, Owner at The Badger Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Christine

Another regular room guest, I am really pleased that you stayed with us a second time and took the time to review us. I will pass on your comments to the staff.

Many thanks again

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

What a menu !!
Never fails to impress.
Welsh Sea Bass on braised Beef & Barley casserole with Parsnip puree sautéed mushrooms & a red wine jus.
Thought it was a typing error.
But not so, therefore it had to be tried.
Excellent - even though I the head said it shouldn't work.
Amazing combination of flavours & textures.
Our 4th visit all been superb.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Booked here because. Most hotels. In Crewe were full, what a blessing.
From the moment I arrived. I was made to feel So very welcome the rooms are fab and the food is to die for. Book as a good alternative to the corporate norm and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Booked a table for 2pm on Sunday and on arrival was told it wasn't quite ready so would we like to get our drinks and wait in the bar. There was one member of staff serving in the bar and also on the tables so we had a 15/20 minute wait just to get our drinks.
There were 6 people there when we arrived who were all seated and served and in fact some were actually leaving before we even got to our table. The restaurant wasn't busy and had a number of empty tables available.
We were given menu's whilst waiting in the bar and eventually our order was taken. After an hours wait we were finally shown to a table, with a very non empathetic apology from the person I am assuming was the restaurant manager.

Even though we had given are order we still had to wait another 20 minutes before our food arrived. The staff were meandering around and we were just left sitting there.
When the food finally arrive it was adequate, the meat was fatty but mainly edible.
We were then asked if everything was 'OK' so one of our party said actually no, we had been waiting for almost an hour and a half for our meal, after booking a table and not just arriving on spec and it was totally unacceptable, we again got a half hearted apology and the offer of a dessert on the house. Amazingly we then had to wait another 15 minutes for the menu to be brought to us and 15 minutes to get our desserts.
While we were waiting we were watching the waitress prepare coffee's and were aghast to see her putting the spoon in her mouth after spooning the froth onto cups of cappuccino, she did this on a number of the drinks she was making, and then put the spoon into the sugar basin and did it again on the next drink.
This was mentioned to the manager as a health and safety issue and staff training requirement but his reply that it was probably for herself or other members of staff? The spoon was still put back into the sugar regardless.
Needless to say we wont be returning because of the complete indifference of the staff and really poor standard of service.
We will not be recommending it to any of our friends or family either.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank villagehouse2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were staying in a local hotel and thought we would try the badger inn for dinner. We were blown away by the standard of the food and the value for money. We couldn't fit in a desert so decided to come back the following evening and were not let down. We liked it so much that we booked a nights stay there and would 100% go back. For dinner, 1 nights stay & a fabulous breakfast for such a low price it was great value for money. My other half's parents own a pub in London so we appreciate what hard work goes in and we felt right at home.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Minshull
5.2 mi away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
229 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
The Hive at 52
The Hive at 52
#1 of 1 in Weaverham
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Bear's Paw
The Bear's Paw
#1 of 2 in Warmingham
1,084 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Badger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Badger Inn

Address: Cross Lane, Church Minshull CW5 6DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Church Minshull
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Church Minshull
Price Range: $90 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Badger Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing