We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful cottage with wonderful hosts in a...”
other travelers have booked this property
Looking towards Ruths Cottage playhouse. Please use the garden we have lots of seats, enjoy the sun.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking towards Ruths Cottage playhouse. Please use the garden we have lots of seats, enjoy the sun.
Charlotte's Post Office playhouse. A childs dream playshop. You may have trouble leaving. Have fun. The charming & comfortable double bedroom with a brass bed. Lovely views, and  en-suite shower room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Looking towards Ruths Cottage playhouse. Please use the garden we have lots of seats, enjoy the sun.
Charlotte's Post Office playhouse. A childs dream playshop. You may have trouble leaving. Have fun.
The charming & comfortable double bedroom with a brass bed. Lovely views, and  en-suite shower room.
The Norman Guard robe which houses the garden loo, so quirky. You can sit on a throne be King of all
Lovey sunny kitchen has all you need. Great view to Ruth's Cottage & Charlotte's Post Office.
Sitting room with the woodburning stove, dining room beyond. So cosy and comfortable come home to.Ah
Tea in the Gazebo, lovely on a hot sunny day to catch a cool breeze. The water feature is quirky,fun
Tom's Lodge play house was on Shed of the Year. Folks come from miles around when the garden is open
Our garden was featured on BBC2 Open Gardens with Carol Kline what fun we had. Carol was inspiring
Another view of the peaceful garden for you to enjoy and relax. Maybe have a cool pre   dinner drink
Sheep on the our Green in front of Spindle Cottage. They have come for a holiday as well, how nice.
The Barbecue has a Mediterranean feel, with a wonderful table to seat many, next to Ruth's Cottage.
The sunny conservatory from kitchen door. Whatever the weather this is the place to enjoy the view.
Dining room towards the kitchen, lovely pitch pine table, pews & dresser with willow pattern china.
Toms Lodge playhouse & the Gazebo . Find Myrtle the Mermaid she is washing her hair, try the quiz.
Tom's Lodge an Elizabethan playhouse just waiting for children to enjoy and have fun brill. Love it
Inside Toms Lodge playhouse, a little table, stools, even an upstairs. Mind how you go on stairs.Ops
The lovely garden, just relax & enjoy. Lots of places to sit & enjoy lunch with a glass of wine.
View from the twin room balcony, with the Green beyond, we sometimes have sheep visiting the Green.
The Owl and the lovely Cat & the Pea Green Boat in the Post Office garden. The Box Hedge is the sea.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Binegar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
achm1999
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Delightful cottage with wonderful hosts in a great location.”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely comfortable cottage full of character in a beautiful garden.
Very well situated to visit the wonderful diverse Somerset countryside for walking, Wells for the cathedral and markets and NT houses and gardens.
Also several pubs within a short drive providing excellent food.
Many thanks Angela and Alban we so much enjoyed our week at Spindle Cottage and looking forward to a return visit in 2017.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the cottage created by Alban's carpentry craftmanship.
Liked least: Nothing to mention.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
Dear Anna, Thank you for writing a lovely review for us. We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday at Spindle Cottage and we also are looking forward to your return visit in 2017.
Have a good Autumn with glorious colours. Dare not say Christmas its to early. Best wishes Angela & Alban.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveS1240
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were looking for a quintessential British experience in the country for our family (including three young daughters). We wanted a charming home to base ourselves, in a charming little village and with lots of other charming little villages to visit in the surrounds. It could well have been one of those pipe dreams that never quite happens. Indeed when we found and booked Spindle Cottage we were doubtful - surely it can't be as great as ALL the reviews suggest. Well, it was! The house is delightful. The garden was a treasure trove for young kids - incredibly crafted play houses for the girls surrounded by a beautiful cottage garden. Angela and Alban have created a treasure of a house and are treasures themselves. We feel very fortunate to have stayed there. We can't recommend it highly enough.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
Oh my, oh my,oh my, your review takes my breath away. Your words are so beautiful, thank you so much.
We feel honored by you and we are so pleased that we have been instrumental in giving you the dream holiday that you thought might not exist.
Since we have lived here this has always been a place to share with others, family and friends also with people who needed some tender loving care a place to recover. We even had a door knocker with SANCTUARY on it. I don't know what happened to that knocker but now we can open the door to folks like yourselves who are ready to have fun, relax, explore, be a child again, feel at home or just be.
It was lovely for us to have you here. The welcome back is here for you.
Blessings.
Angela.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A magical stay for all the family”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Spindle Cottage is a magical place to stay for big and small people! From the welcome we received from Angela and Alban to the fun we had discovering all of the hidden surprises in the house and gardens - this really is a special treat for all the family. This little cottage holds a lifetime and more of stories and most are marked in the woodwork by Alban! Our teenage son admired the handiwork, our daughter thought it was all so romantic and our youngest was fascinated by the crooked doors and hidden treasures... not to mention the quiz!!! Ssshh!

Spindle Cottage was built in 1641 (i think!) but it is so well modernised and equipped there was absolutely NOTHING left to chance. It was a perfectly comfortable stay - home from home. The gardens and sheds are just a delight to view even on a rainy day. We are only sorry that we didn't have more time to relax and enjoy it all.

Great location for touring the area as our holiday included trips to Bath, Bristol, Wells, Longleat Safari Park, Chew Valley Lakes and Cheddar Gorge.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We all loved the house - endless hours of discovering new things and how much it was lovingly restored by Angela and Alban.
Liked least: Nothing - it was absolutely was beyond all our expectations
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2016
We did love having you here and we do hope that when you come back you will be able to spend more time relaxing and chatting with us. We would love to know how your family flourish and hear of their news and plans for the future, we wish them well. We thought of you on your journey home and that you caught your ferry on time.
As we read your delightful review we could hear your beautiful brogue, the joyful spirit of you comes through, so we thank you for your company, for coming to Spindle Cottage, for your review and God willing your return. With love Alban & Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P L
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable relaxing holiday in a unique property”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our third visit to this cottage which is run by the very friendly owners. Fabulous gardens for adults to relax and children to play in. Children will especially love the unique playhouses constructed by the owner and all the hidden carvings to hunt out - see website for images. Quiet location but with plenty to do and visit nearby.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2016
Hello dear returning guests. Thank you so much for taking time to reply when you have only just arrived home.
It was great to see you again and glad you enjoyed seeing all the extra new parts of the cottage and the garden. Who knows what you will find if/when you return again to Spindle Cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen L
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage!”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent a wonderful week at Spindle Cottage at the beginning of August. Our children loved the fabulous playhouses and exploring the cottage which is full of hidden details which enthral and delight both adults and children alike. The Buntings welcome you to their home with open arms and everything has been thought of to provide you with the best holiday possible from quizzes for the children, to suggested tours of the local area. The cottage is a short drive away from many large tourist attractions including Chedder Gorge, Wooky Hole and the beautiful city of Bath.

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2016
Hi Helen,
Thank you for your lovely review, Other guests love to read what has been enjoyed and often take inspiration and follow in your footsteps. So thank you, you are helping them and us for all to have a wonderful experience on their holiday with us in beautiful Somerset on the Mendip Hill. See you again we hope. All the best
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selena-Su...
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical place.”
Reviewed June 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We booked Spindle cottage to be near our family and so that our 6-year old grand-daughter could stay overnight and enjoy the garden and sleep in the big bed. she LOVED it all, and so did we. We were sorry to leave as it is such a comfortable place to stay as well as being beautiful. There were lots of nice touches provided by Angela in the cottage, and Alban's handiwork is just so clever. The local pub is good too!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almost everything.
Liked least: The cooker (electric with solid 'rings'). Difficult because I'm used to gas.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2016
Isn't it wonderful to watch a child play. Our little playhouses encourages that imaginative play time. So glad to have you all here at Spindle Cottage and now that you have found us we hope to see you again. Do tell your family to come and visit, our garden is open on Sunday 3rd July 2.30pm, we would love to see them. Thank you so much for your lovely review. Best wishes Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suma L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spindle cottage ”
Reviewed May 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing place owned by lovely people. Spindle cottage is a place that both children and adults can enjoy equally. The moment you step into the cottage it's like you have entered a fairytale. But what makes the place even more special are the owners. Angela and Alban both are very kind and extremely helpful. We loved our stay here and children still can't forget the sheds in the garden. We hope to return really soon.

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2016
Dear Suma,
Thank you so much for taking the time in your busy life to write a review for us at Spindle Cottage.
I hope the children and the adults will never forget their holiday here as one of those special places that stays in your memories.
We certainly look forward to your return and hopefully stay a little longer next time. Take care and very best wishes to you all.
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing