We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A magical cottage in a magical place...”
Looking towards Ruths Cottage playhouse. Please use the garden we have lots of seats, enjoy the sun.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking towards Ruths Cottage playhouse. Please use the garden we have lots of seats, enjoy the sun.
Charlotte's Post Office playhouse. A childs dream playshop. You may have trouble leaving. Have fun. The charming & comfortable double bedroom with a brass bed. Lovely views, and  en-suite shower room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Looking towards Ruths Cottage playhouse. Please use the garden we have lots of seats, enjoy the sun.
Charlotte's Post Office playhouse. A childs dream playshop. You may have trouble leaving. Have fun.
The charming & comfortable double bedroom with a brass bed. Lovely views, and  en-suite shower room.
The Norman Guard robe which houses the garden loo, so quirky. You can sit on a throne be King of all
Lovey sunny kitchen has all you need. Great view to Ruth's Cottage & Charlotte's Post Office.
Sitting room with the woodburning stove, dining room beyond. So cosy and comfortable come home to.Ah
Tea in the Gazebo, lovely on a hot sunny day to catch a cool breeze. The water feature is quirky,fun
Tom's Lodge play house was on Shed of the Year. Folks come from miles around when the garden is open
Our garden was featured on BBC2 Open Gardens with Carol Kline what fun we had. Carol was inspiring
Another view of the peaceful garden for you to enjoy and relax. Maybe have a cool pre   dinner drink
Sheep on the our Green in front of Spindle Cottage. They have come for a holiday as well, how nice.
The Barbecue has a Mediterranean feel, with a wonderful table to seat many, next to Ruth's Cottage.
The sunny conservatory from kitchen door. Whatever the weather this is the place to enjoy the view.
Dining room towards the kitchen, lovely pitch pine table, pews & dresser with willow pattern china.
Toms Lodge playhouse & the Gazebo . Find Myrtle the Mermaid she is washing her hair, try the quiz.
Tom's Lodge an Elizabethan playhouse just waiting for children to enjoy and have fun brill. Love it
Inside Toms Lodge playhouse, a little table, stools, even an upstairs. Mind how you go on stairs.Ops
The lovely garden, just relax & enjoy. Lots of places to sit & enjoy lunch with a glass of wine.
View from the twin room balcony, with the Green beyond, we sometimes have sheep visiting the Green.
The Owl and the lovely Cat & the Pea Green Boat in the Post Office garden. The Box Hedge is the sea.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Binegar, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sandra P
Bodegraven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“A magical cottage in a magical place...”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a wonderful time in Spindle Cottage. We were welcomed with fresh flowers and delicious scones and that after a long drive .... it felt very good.
The cottage is the most pleasant stay we ever had in England (and we already saw a lot of cottages).The cottage is full of tiny little treasures , charm and without doubt a true labour of love. The cottage is comfortable and well stocked with all that is needed for a comfortable stay.
The children loved the shop to play in.
Angela and Alban are very friendly and made us feel very welcome.
We miss the place now we are back home and we want to go back again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family. I am glad you liked my scones, I was not sure if you knew about the British tradition of a Cream Tea, its very popular here in Somerset. Did you know that in some counties they always put the cream on first then the jam? I like to put the jam on first then the cream. I believe you can get more cream on this way. Its a delicious dilemma. We hope to see you again and we shall have another Cream Tea for you and you can try out which way you like your scones. Kind regards Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The fun, quirkiness and location and.... everything!
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2015
MY, my what a fantastic review. That is so overwhelming,you were lovely guests and we would be thrilled to see you again. Children say such brilliant things don't they, I think your son and daughter would enjoy making something in wood with Alban when you come again.
We wish you well in all that you do, if you need any advice on your own home improvements just ask I'm sure Alban would be please to give you some useful advice. Take care and much love to you all. Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
60-degree...
Shetland traveller
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful - a respite from the weather!”
Reviewed January 23, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We spent Christmas here as a small family of adults and enjoyed this cottage immensely. Alban and Angela were model hosts and made us feel very welcome, even down to putting up a little Christmas Tree and fair lights etc for us. The cottage was warm, interesting and very comfortable. Every mod con in an olde worlde setting. We had a charming Christmas and we have Alban and Angela to thank for that.
We have done nothing but praise this lovely cottage since we got home.
Looking forward to a visit in the future :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm of the whole place
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, you were model guests and you will be most warmly welcomed at Spindle Cottage when you are able to return. Thank you for all the goodies you left us, it felt like presents for a second Christmas. Hope every thing at home is getting back to normal for you. Take care and kind regards,
Angela & Alban
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Somersets best kept secret”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Although we live in Somerset we stayed at Spindle Cottage for a couple of nights to be near the city of Bath. We just couldn't believe how gorgeous it was. The care that has gone into the accommodation is nothing short of spectacular. The cottage gardens are lovely as are Angela and Alban who were our super hosts. Lovely walks on the Mendip Hills and some excellent eateries within a few miles. Great for adults and kids alike - highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was just a magical place to stay
Liked least: The weather!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. You will find a warm welcome here anytime, so please do come again. It's always good to refresh your batteries with a little break now and again in your busy life.
So we look forward to seeing you soon.
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable accommodation with beautiful views
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2015
It was pleasure to see you again with your lovely family this time. Your grandchildren are great and it was wonderful for us to see them playing and enjoying the little playhouses.
Glad you made the most of the wood burning stove and it was fun being invited in for drinks on New Years day, it was a good start to 2015.
Thank you.
Lots of love,
Angela & Alban
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
iain e
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magical Cottage for young and old alike”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Cant praise the location, the accommodation or the hosts enough. A week of sheer bliss in the beautiful Cotswolds (even with a few days of rain!) all made possible by basing ourselves n this little slice of wonder and magic. Alban and Angela are the grandparents every child would dream of having, creating an amazing space that enthralled us adults as much as the children. Now for the basic info - a beautiful period cottage offering a cosy three bedrooms each with unique character, downstairs a wonderful living space that welcomed you on both hot and wet days! outside, the magic of the "sheds of the year" entries crafted by Alban out of local reclaimed items and a ton of love. From this peaceful haven, Bristol is less than n hour away, as is the coast at Western Suoer Mare. Cheddar Gorge and Longleat are a short drive away and even Weymouth and the Jurassic Coast is easily within a day trips reach.
If you ever rent a cottage anywhere in this part of England, chose Spindle Cottage, you will not be disappointed, apart from having to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything - but mostly our hosts and neighbours Angela & Alban
Liked least: having to come home to reality
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2014
Well! That is praise indeed. A week of sheer bliss you say, my my, how can I reply to that? I will just say many many thanks, but just a little slip you were in Somerset not the Cotswold's. We forgive you that because your review is so fantastic.
You are correct our three magical playhouses are every child's dream and our grandchildren would agree with you, also, all the many children who have had the good fortune to holiday here as well.
Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMGBristo...
Northampton,UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spell binding Spindle Cottage, a place of many wonders.”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

From the warm welcome of the hosts and the excellent equipment levels, we knew this would be a cottage that we felt immediately at home in. The owners have added artistic touches in wood carving and stained glass as well as providing a comfortable holiday property. We loved the garden containing many outbuildings built for children to enjoy, including a post office and a hunting lodge. The cottage is perfectly placed for exploring Somerset, which is full of beautiful towns, such as Frome, Bruton and Castle Carey, not forgetting the Cathedral city of Wells.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2014
I am so glad you felt at home in our cottage, that is exactly what we hope for our guests. I am so please with your glowing review. Both myself and my husband have enjoyed putting the special touches in the cottage and when guests show their appreciation we know we have got it right. Thank you so much, it is great to know how much you love this place and I like to think you will not forget it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing