We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch ”
Review of Hartleys Kitchen

Hartleys Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Binegar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lunch ”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Please keep the dog out of the restaurant
Food was excellent and the surroundings quirky but very
clean and the service was cheerful and friendly

Helpful?
2 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    20
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfasts!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were recommended by a friend. It is not well signed and when you do find the entrance from the road, you're still not convinced you've found the right place, but persevere through the unlikely surroundings and you will find an oasis in an ex-milking parlour.

We have become breakfast regulars. The standard of food is extremely high. We have worked our way through most of the menu and our favourites are the Eggs Benedict and the Waffles with bacon, bananas and maple syrup.

There's a lovely Labrador who greets you very gently and then keeps out of the way while you are eating. Roaring fires in the winter months. Very welcoming staff. It isn't cheap, but the quality justifies the prices except for the toast. Great coffee. Good specials. All very well cooked and presented.

Have never found the place dirty or with cobwebs unlike others. Can't comment on lunches because we have yet to make it there, but breakfasts, yeah!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A place to take guests”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Have visited many times, only live about 15 mins away. Take any friends there as we know that the meal, be it breakfast or lunch will be first class.
Choice and variety of food is excellent.
A pleasant friendly place with Paul the larger than life owner and the friendly, helpful staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Went for a quick unexpected lunch”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Me and a friend popped into here after visited the tack shop next door. It was a pleasant surprise, with a welcoming warm fire, neutral decor, and very friendly staff.

The resident dog was friendly, and actually kept well away from people eating their food, which of course is an added bonus, and certainly put a smile on our faces (as massive animal lovers).

My friend had a full English off of the all day brekkie menu, which she enjoyed. However our extra toast was cold, we didn't complain, as it's only toast!

When my eggs Florentine arrived, it was well presented and smelled lovely, however the spinach did taste a little... funny... I can't explain what it was... but it may have just been me!

We then went on to ask for fresh orange juice, which did taste like it was a mix of juices from two different oranges, perhaps not juicing oranges... not to sure.

Once we finished, I had a lovely slice of chocolate cake, very yummy, and was enjoyed with a sip of tea!

I do think I will visit again as perhaps, this wasn't the best first experience. Hartleys Kitchen is obviously a popular place, and the staff are LOVELY.

Great for respite on a cold and windy day. Many thanks for having us!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A True Oasis for the selective diner”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is without doubt one of the friendliest restaurants you will find in Somerset.
The business operates under the banner of being a Bistro and the Wikipedia definition states:
"A Bistro, sometimes spelled bistrot , is, in it's original Parisian incarnation, a small restaurant serving moderately priced simple meals in a modest setting".
I would agree that Hartleys meets most of this, except that the meals are far from being 'simple'. They are in fact far more imaginative than your normal trad food, yet they offer most impressive value for money.
A roaring fire, a charming host, a dedicated chef, delicious food. What more could a hungry diner want.
Perhaps a larger loo. The only reason I couldn't give my review 5 stars.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hartleys Kitchen also viewed

Glastonbury, Somerset
 
Shepton Mallet, Somerset
 

Been to Hartleys Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing