We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superb experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar House
Ranked #1 of 1 Old Cleeve B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A superb experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

This beautiful house is set in a location with the most wonderful panoramic views of the countryside. The genuine warmth of our welcome by Mel and Rick made us feel at home immediately. Our room was tastefully furnished and decorated, and gave us views of the coast and the outline of South Wales in the distance.
Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, from the refreshments offered at arrival, details of the best places to visit and dine, to every little item supplied for the use of guests being of the highest possible quality.
As for the breakfasts, they were delicious.
We have no hesitation in recommending this destination to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
201
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we stepped into the house, I'm impressed how clean it is. We stayed in room 2. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. Bed linens were so comfortable - really wanted to ask Mel where did she get them from. The view out of the window was stunning. Breakfast was delicious. Thank you Mel and Rick!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank orange3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

From the moment we turned into the long winding drive - we were hooked! Lovely B&B - fantastic location - beautiful grounds and views across the surrounding countryside down to the sea. We were greeted by the lovely hostess Mel and shown to our wonderful light and airy room with resplendent views. Fresh coffee and biscuits quickly followed. The whole place was immaculate and lots of nice personal touches made our two night stay thoroughly enjoyable. Plenty of choices of fresh and local produce made for a delicious breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble and there
was a wealth of information on the local area including recommended local eateries and places to visit. Each evening we returned to a softly lit room with curtains drawn and the bedding turned - just little touches that made a big difference.
We cannot recommend Cedar House highly enough for comfort, standard and welcome. Give it a go - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julied20092009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed at Cedar House for 2 nights at the end of March. We were lucky with the beautiful sunny weather which just enhanced the stunning views from the B&B. A lovely B&B that is so warm and friendly and serves a fantastic breakfast with so many personal touches. Our room was warm, spacious, clean and boasted a lovely view of the surrounding countryside.
So quiet, peaceful but not too far from a lovely pub, areas of interest and the amazing Dunster Castle and grounds.
A real gem with personal service that by far, makes this better than many hotels I have stayed in. We have vowed to come back every year for a weekend getaway!

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 - spacious and stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sights82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We have just got home after a short break in the West Country at Cedar House. Our stay must rank amongst the best we have experienced - we were made to feel so welcome and looked after during our couple of days brilliantly. The room was excellent - clean, well-appointed and had a view that we could have looked at all day! Breakfast was outstanding. We're already planning a return visit! Thanks, Mel and Rick. Top Marks from us!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rattypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have just spent the weekend at Cedar House and found Mel's attention to every little detail
second to none!!! We were offered tea and biscuits on arrival, which was very gratefully received. Our room - number 1 - was beautifully decorated and absolutely pristine, as was the
dining-room where we had the most wonderful breakfasts, homemade jams etc. which were
delicious. We have stayed in many B&B's over the years but Cedar House tops the lot!!
Thanks, Mel and Rick.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Florence950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

My Fiance and I stayed at Cedar House for 2 nights. On arrival Mel showed us to our room which was gorgeous. She offered tea and coffee which she delivered to our room along with biscuits. The room had a double aspect view looking out at Exmoor and the Coastline. The West Country Railway was also in view so we could see the passing Steam Trains of the Steam Gala from our warm bedroom. The room was spotless and beautifully decorated. Each day the room was serviced in the morning and evening. It was nice to return from our evening meal (which Mel kindly call and reserved a table for us at a local coaching inn) to have our bed turned down, curtains drawn and low lighting on. There was a choice of hot drinks available in the room, along with biscuits and chocolates which were replaced each time the room was serviced. Breakfast was lovely. There was wide range of cooked options as well as cereals, yogurt, homemade stewed fruit and jams made from the fruit in the garden. I would love to stay at Mel and Rick's beautiful property if holidaying in the area again. This B&B is 4* but I think the service and attention to detail is that of a 5* level. Thank you for a lovely break ans hope to return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slr87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Cleeve
21.0 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
6.4 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
13.0 mi away
Heron House B&B
Heron House B&B
#1 of 8 in Bampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Bark House
The Bark House
#2 of 8 in Bampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House

Property: Cedar House
Address: Cedar House Dunster | Nr Minehead, Old Cleeve TA24 6HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Old Cleeve
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Old Cleeve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedar House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar House is a fine Edwardian gentleman's residence built in 1906. The house has stunning views of Exmoor, the coast and West Somerset Railway. It is the ideal base for experiencing the local area. After a peaceful nights sleep start the day with a full Somerset breakfast or something else from the breakfast menu before heading off for a full day of exploring the fantastic countryside. Mel and Rick would like to welcome you to their home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Cedar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar House Hotel Minehead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing