We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!”

Red Lion Inn Axford
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Lion Inn Axford is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Axford
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I read some of the previous reviews and cannot believe we were at the same restaurant! We were greeted warmly-seated by a lovely fire and made so welcome! Wonderful choice of starters fish game and mains The setting is lovely and the food starting with tempura prawns with fresh lime and in my case pigeon breast salad were outstanding!Equally the mains-the pie was sensational as was the pork belly We have eaten all over the world and at a local level all over the West and this was the best yet plus the most beautiful setting Owners ignore the moaners-that is what comes when you deal with the public-we were blown away by it all including the music

Richard Ruth and Beatrice

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richsim-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    10
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Delicious dinner”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had a delicious dinner here - very welcoming owners. Drinks by a log fire and I shared the comfy sofa with a very sleepy cat. We moved to the restaurant for dinner, which was delicious (venison for my husband & I had beef pie). The service was attentive, we enjoyed our evening and will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 613JMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ghost Town - Awful food”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

'Letter I sent Red Lion'

To Whom It May Concern,

I would like to bring to your attention a meal me and my family had tonight booked under 'Wakefield' (although there was clearly no need!)
To start with we use to be big regulars about 8-10 years ago when there use to be plenty of shellfish and steaks on the menu and it was a real locals pub. When we walked in tonight we nearly turned round and walked out again!! what has happened? It was like a morgue/Geriatric Home! but still we gave you the benefit of the doubt.

We then looked through your Continental/muddled Menu and decided on Duck & Fishcake starters - Firstly Watermelon that tastes fishy does not go with duck! secondly burnt breadcrumbs on a unseasoned fishcake is not a nice touch, but still we continued as we could not upset the elderly disabled gentleman behind the bar as he was trying his hardest and we could not fault him on 'EFFORT!'

Then we waited for Fish and chips, lamb skewers and burgers and to our disbelief the chef doubles up as the waiter! the portion sizes for a pub and quality were ridiculous - they were kiddie size at best.

and to top everything you had no cheese for a cheese board, embarrassing to say the least!!

after looking closely at our £98.35 bill !! I see we where charged £28.90 for 5x regular cokes 1x Peroni 2x orange squash - NO WONDER it was a ghost town!

The Red Lion is not what it use to be. I say below average at best and that's 15 years experience in top end restaurants, as you have probably already guessed we won't be rushing back in a hurry

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anytimechefsolutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never Again!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Three of us from a small walking group called in to the Red Lion for beer and soup. On entering the empty bar we received a friendly welcome from the landlord but were informed that there was no local beer on-tap as it had "gone off!"
They were expecting another delivery the next day, however, their Beck's Bier was available so we opted for that whilst awaiting our soup and rolls.When seated at our table we tasted the beer and unanimously agreed that it tasted like vinegar and that, like the local brew, it too had "gone off". The soup arrived and was accompanied by a basket containing three of the smallest bread rolls we had ever seen so we immediately ordered three more. To be fair the soup was quite pleasant but we felt the need to complain to the landlord about the beer. He then sniffed one of our glasses and declared that the contents were satisfactory but that he would charge us half price for the beer because we were dissatisfied.

We left the beer, settled the bill (which was in excess of £22) and promptly departed.
Needless to say, the bitter taste will remain with us for a considerable time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Poor and snobby”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked here for Xmas day lunch and whilst we were having drinks we looked around at the chalk menu boards and thought the range of food on offer was good, so expected our Xmas meal to be likewise. Unfortunately this was not to be our smoked salmon starter was average, the roast turkey we felt was pre cooked and sliced, vegetables were non existent I had no sprouts but on another plate there was three! I did have HALF a carrot, we all decided to have cheese and biscuits this also was very poor small amount of cheese and THREE RITZ CRACKERS! my partner asked if there was any chutney she could have with her cheese (not an unreasonable request) but if looks could kill we would have returned in a hearse. All they proprietors seemed to do was to Rome around the tables telling everybody how good everything is and how good the food is etc etc all in all we felt it was a very poor experience there are far better local restaurants which we use on a regular basis, this one will not be on our visit again list.

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lion Inn Axford also viewed

 
Ramsbury, Wiltshire
Chilton Foliat, Wiltshire
 

Been to Red Lion Inn Axford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing