We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for.”
Review of Family Budget Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Family Budget Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bethany
Certificate of Excellence
Roseville, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for.”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The hallways reeked of marijuana and other guests were loud. Not the motels fault but an indication of who stays here. The beds were old, the pillows flat. The bathroom was small and had the toilet and sink in the room with the shower instead of outside the door like most. The room had a fridge and microwave. The tv was small and the reception was bad. It had lots of channels though. We only spent 10 hours and for the money it was fine but if I was staying longer I would avoid this motel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chippewa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda V, Manager at Family Budget Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We are very sorry for your negative experience at our motel. We have tried to determine when and what room you stayed in with no luck, Should you ever encounter anything like this at our motel or any other I would recommend you contact the front desk for assistance with any issues so they have an opportunity to help you. Again we are very sorry for your experience while staying here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    50
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
43
52
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harlem, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Awesome motel! Nice, clean, warm & comfortable! Great staff! Great Price! We stayed here for 3 nights, and were very pleased, as we always stay at a competing motel. Never again...The Family Budget Inn is by far a wonderful GEM!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda V, Manager at Family Budget Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Many thanks for the kind review. We were happy to read you found your room nice, clean, warm & comfortable. I will pass your kind words about our staff along to them. Hope we see you in your future travels to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Was looking for a one night stay late at night. The gentleman at front desk was so nice. Even offered to make me a fresh pot of coffee if I wanted fresh.the cleanliness is outstanding and little breakfast was nice. Would stay there again while traveling that way.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishrove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda V, Manager at Family Budget Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We were happy to read you found the Staff nice and the cleanliness outstanding along with a nice breakfast. Hope to see you again when you travel to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed in room 222 on 2/1. Got there at 1am, clerk was nice and gave us a 2 queen room for $53 including tax. Room was extremely clean, smelled nice, new bathroom, beds were very comfortable. Basic continental breakfast including homemade donuts was a plus. Nothing fancy but very solid 2 star motel. Couldn't be more impressed with value for the price.

Room Tip: Room 222 was great, can't speak for all others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dustin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda V, Manager at Family Budget Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and found it a good value. Hope to see you in your future travels to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed only one night based on reviews. The room was falling apart. One bed sagged in the middle. The paint was coming off in the shower. Although the linens and towels were clean definitely not white. The heater was shut off and getting in late, a person could hang meat in the room. Thankfully we packed sleeping bags.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronken32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda V, Manager at Family Budget Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. You are right, it was cold in there. We close down that buidling for about 6 weeks each year starting the week of Christmas. When the snow storm hit we did not realize how many travelers would be forced to stop and we did not have the rooms warmed up or checked for travelers that had to stop driving due to road conditions. We are very sorry you were not happy with your stay. We hope you will consider us as a lodging option next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night, based on the reviews other travelers submitted. What a mistake. Since we travel with pets, and this motel is listed as pet friendly, the choice was obvious. That being said, we did not enjoy our stay for the following: "pet rooms" are at the end of a long corridor. To get to the pet rooms from the front desk, you have to walk by 12 smoking rooms. The corridor is filled with smoke, with gets into your non-smoking room easily, and into the clothes you have on. Being about 300 feet from Interstate 35, the noise is terrible if your room faces the highway. Ours did. The heating unit worked, but was very noisy. If you are a light sleeper, avoid rooms facing the highway. Our room, 249, needed attention in the bathroom. The sink drained very slowly and the hair dryer worked only on high. To top everything else, around 2:00 am, several alarm clocks went off in several rooms. Who gets up at 2:00 am ?

About the only positive thing I can say is the motel room was very clean. The beds are old, but ok. But one of the matress support brackets stuck straight out, and needs repairing. Could cause quite a cut on your ankle.

We won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing I 35. Request a room as far from the smoking rooms as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda V, Manager at Family Budget Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Most all of our guests love our pet friendly rooms and the fact they are within 25 feet ot a exit to the outside to walk/exercise their pets. It is true in one building there are smoking rooms near non smoking pet friendly rooms, although the 2 hallway ventitlation fans in the smoking area normally exhaust the odor. We are sorry you noticed the smoke odor, had other room issues, and noise problems. Next time when traveling if you have similar issues, please notify the front desk so they may have an opportunity to assist with any issues that you encounter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We are traveling from our home in Arkansas to family in Wisconsin and make the trip every few months. Bethany, MO is a great midpoint for us to stop for the day. We have tried others in the area with no success. We are just looking for a place that is clean with no extra frills and at a reasonable price. At times the web pages are very misleading. No so with FBI. Great place, great price. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda V, Manager at Family Budget Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for the nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found your room clean at a good price. We hope to see you when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethany
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Bethany MO
Super 8 Bethany MO
#1 of 3 in Bethany
432 reviews
25.0 mi away
Country Home Inn
Country Home Inn
#2 of 2 in Trenton
30 reviews
22.1 mi away
Morrell Ranch
Morrell Ranch
#1 of 1 in Gallatin
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Budget Inn

Property: Family Budget Inn
Address: 4014 Miller St, Bethany, MO 64424-7170
Location: United States > Missouri > Bethany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bethany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Family Budget Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
78 queen and king rooms with interior corridors and electronic locks offering continental breakfast, 55 plus cable channels, wireless internet, guest laundry, also micros/refrids available. Large parking lot available. We are located at I-35, exit 92 next to McDonalds and KFC/Taco Bell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Family Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing