We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough but many annoying flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Berkeley
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Public spaces were remodeled in a flashy contemporary style about a year ago, and look great. However, the rooms are untouched (probably for the last 20 years) and beginning to show their age, and attention to detail in cleaning is slipping. Still a good, or even very good hotel, but not the extraordinary levels one should expect from this brand.

Some specifics- bathroom shower curtain liner was stained with blobs of old shampoo and smelled moldy. Small spots of mildew along the upper edges of the shower wall and ceiling. Tub faucet is corroded and pitted. Heavy dust accumulation on horizontal surfaces and lamp shades. Carpet seams have some loose threads from old age. Daily housekeeping matters were fine, though, just attention to long term details, mainly associated with an aging facility, and lack of management involvement in the mundane details. (By comparison, such flaws have not been noted at any of the Hampton Inns we use extensively.)

Restaurant is a mixed bag, with the food being excellent (we ate several meals there) but the service being extremely slow. Enjoy it if you have time, but avoid it if in a hurry.

One final complaint- they have a $12.95 per day charge for internet access. They do this because they can get away with it, despite the fact that even the cheapest economy hotels provide inernet as a free service.

Bottom line- this is a nice enough place to stay if the location fits your needs, but be prepared to be bugged by some annoying details that should not be issues with a first class hotel. There is a Hilton Garden Inn about a half mile east that is a very nice alternative, with none of the annoyances, and possibly at a better price.

Room Tip: Rooms on the airport side have nice view, and the airport and road noise are not too bad.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UTtraveler84121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceSTLouisAp, General Manager at Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear UTtraveler84121,

Thank you for your recent review on this site. We appreciate your comments, especially regarding the recent public space renovations. The guest rooms are slated to be renovated later this year. We apologize for the housekeeping and restaurant issues you noted and will make these areas a priority.

Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you on a future visit to St. Louis.

Sincerely,
Michael Sanders
General Manager
Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 768 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed 3 nights during a show that was being held in the hotel. It is very annoying to pay the price for the room and then $12.95/day for WI-FI. A $50/day motel gives you WI-FI for free. On the plus side the staff were all very helpful and friendly. The remodeled lobby is nicer than it was previously. It is next to I-70 and close to I-170 so location is very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chipperhigh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceSTLouisAp, General Manager at Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Goerge K,

Thank you for your recent review on this site and the positive comments regarding the staff and lobby. I also appreciate your feedback regarding the WI-FI. The major, full-service brands continue to charge for WI-FI but the service has become a benefit for certain levels in the frequent travel program.

Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you on a future visit to St. Louis.

Sincerely,
Michael Sanders
General Manager
Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel frequently runs reasonably priced Park and Fly deals (8 days of parking) which is perfect since they run a shuttle 24/7 to and from the airport. The hotel is reasonably up to date, the beds are comforable, and the windows keep out almost all of the airport noise. There are plenty of places to eat within a 15 minute drive, although there are also plenty of restaurant chains and within 5-10 minutes as well. Overall, we have stayed here several times and keep coming back because of the location and the simple park and fly offers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoCoMoTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceSTLouisAp, General Manager at Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear BoCoMo Tiger,

Thank you for your recent review on this site. We are pleased to know that you find the Park and Fly beneficial and enjoy the hotel. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit..

Sincerely,
Michael Sanders
General Manager
Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Around the St. Louis airport, there are many choices for people that need to spend the night, park their car, and ride a shuttle to the airport the next morning. The Renaissance is a great option to fit this use. I've stayed at this property over a dozen times, and the experience has been consistently good.

The Room: The Renaissance's rooms have always been impressive. The beds are absolutely fantastic, the bathroom is spacious and well-appointed with lots of towels, and the condition of the carpet and other furniture is top-notch. They're fairly spacious rooms, and many offer a great view of the airport. Even though this hotel is literally across the highway from two of the runways at the airport, the aircraft noise is not bad at all. I have only one complaint: During the winter months, the rooms are quite stuffy and there's no way to cool them down. Turning down the heat doesn't accomplish anything (believe it or not), and the windows don't open. Even though it was 30 degrees outside, it was a very warm night in our room.

Location: Why else would you stay here? The location is fantastic! Shuttle service is fairly frequent (be sure to call when you're at the airport, though). The hotel is located across the highway from Terminal 2 (Southwest and Airtran), and Terminal 1 (all other airlines) is about 5 minutes away. There are few hotels with better locations, and the difference is negligible.

Overall, you can't go wrong with this property for park & fly deals and conventions/events. It's clean and efficient with a great location. What more can you ask for with an airport hotel?

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Missouri2Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceSTLouisAp, General Manager at Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Missouri2Mexico,

Thank you for your detailed review! I am pleased that you enjoy our hotel and its convenient location. Please come to see us next time you are in the area. We will be happy to have you stay with us again!

Michael Sanders
General Manager
Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed here one night for a transit before going to other city
(+) Great lobby, up to date decor and design
(+) Room is large & cozy, beds are comfortable
(+) Free parking.
(+) good rates.

(-) The check in process was a little bit slow.
(-) No free internet, a bit surprised that you still be charged for internet these days.
(-) Lack of amenities in the room : like coffee maker, plastic glass/glass.

Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pollarstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceSTLouisAp, General Manager at Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear ibujawa,

Thanks so much for your helpful review! We greatly appreciate your input. I will be sure to share your notes with my staff. Please come to see us next time you are in St. Louis!

Michael Sanders
General Manager
Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

First off the hotel is in ideal location and a great value for the brand. Probably the cheapest rate I've ever paid for a Rensissance. Was so excited to stay and I was hopeful. Front desk was way under-staffed and made checking a hassle. Lobby was nice and I went back for drinks and some late lunch. Server was great but again she was trying so hard to maintain all her tables but couldn't. Food took forever and was just mediocre. A man in suit was in lobby identified himself as GM- Bill (I think) and he was so condescending. Why ask how my stay was if you aren't going to listen? He smiled and thanked me for staying after nodding ten times as I was speaking. I hate that and he is sole reason I will never return to hotel. Room was nice and easy access to airport.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CubReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceSTLouisAp, General Manager at Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear CubReviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel; your input is very important to us. I apologize for the lack of service you received during your time at the Renaissance and hope that you are willing to give us another chance in the future.

Michael Sanders
General Manager
Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel boasts excellent proximity to the airport, a timely shuttle service, and clean comfortable rooms. The bar, restaurant, and pool add convenience and entertainment. For a location based on airport travel, this is an easy choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jilly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceSTLouisAp, General Manager at Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Jilly S,

Thank you for your kind review! I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and its convenient location. Please come to stay with us next time you are in St. Louis!

Michael Sanders
General Manager
Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
0.8 mi away
Hilton St. Louis Airport
1.3 mi away
Marriott St. Louis Airport
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St Louis Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza St Louis Airport
1.0 mi away
Drury Inn St. Louis Airport
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St Louis Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel

Address: 9801 Natural Bridge Rd, Berkeley, Saint Louis, MO 63134-3307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range: $118 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance stands out among airport hotels in St. Louis as the only AAA Four Diamond property. Just minutes from the STL Airport via our complimentary shuttle, this unique hotel in St. Louis redefines upscale accommodations with luxurious amenities and well-appointed facilities. Upon arrival, our esteemed St. Louis hotel welcomes guests with impeccable service and richly remodeled guest rooms. In addition, fine dining, Starbucks lattes, and a commitment to tech-savvy public spaces are all available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Saint Louis
Saint Louis Renaissance
Renaissance St. Louis Airport Hotel Saint Louis, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing