We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beautiful place

We stopped by here during a weekend road trip and it is absolutely beautiful. There were groups of... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
RNLT
,
Clinton, Missouri
via mobile
A great fun place to hike or climb or just stroll and enjoy

Restrooms, paved pathways lots a places to walk while the children play on and climb up I’n... read more

Reviewed December 16, 2018
19ivanj
Read all 315 reviews
  
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveler rating
247
62
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
247
62
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paved trail day trip wear tennis shoes easy hike short hike great hike huge boulders clean restrooms beautiful scenery kids and adults all ages couple of hours worth the trip johnson's shut ins arcadia valley engine house braille
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 315 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2018

This is a unique site that is beautiful to look at and also offers challenging climbing for kids and adults. My tween girls and 8 year old boy all had a great time here. Bathrooms and vending machines and parking lot are all well maintained. It was hot during my visit, but there was decent shade all around to cool off. Several water fountains around but none work. Cell phone reception in this area is terrible so don't count on directions getting in or out.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

My family and I loved every minute of our trip to elephant rock state park! This is a perfect location for family fun, exploring and exercise! Also, a fun excuse to get your kids outside as opposed to being stuck indoors playing video games.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018

Elephant Rocks is one of my favorite Missouri State Parks. It lacks in amenities compared to most others, but the elephant rocks themselves far makes up for it.

The main trail, Braille Trail, is an easy mile hike along a paved trail built specially for those with visual or physical impairments. It circles around the main concentration of the rocks and has many access points to those rocks. It's very shaded in the summer and has informative posts along the way.

A small extension trail off Braille leads to the ruins of an old engine house that was used here. It's definitely worth checking out!

Climbing up, on, and around the rocks is the big feature. There are many great views to be had and countless photo ops. Some areas can be steep but there are a few stairs to help out. Bring some water with you on the rocks, maybe even a snack if you have children. Sunscreen and hats too; there is very little shade on the rocks and active kids will not want to leave!

There are a lot of picnicking spots, restrooms, and a few vending machines selling bottled water and other drinks. They were still working on the water system on our visit (late July 2018) so no fresh water available.

Johnson's Shut-Ins State Park, another beautiful and unique place, is less than 20 miles away. It makes a great pairing for a nice long day outside!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank DuneBug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

Walked through the park with my significant other and our dog. Trails were carved out great and was cool that we were able to wedge ourselves through someone of the elephant rocks.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Nathalie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

This park is alot of fun for people with kids who like climbing rocks. There are a lot of nooks between the boulders to climb through and places to walk without steep dropoffs. Its a great time.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews