We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty substandard”
Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Bexington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed in this b&b for three nights during the Easter holiday 2014. The hotel is located in a fairly good location and the building looks good. However , the room we stayed in was substandard. The room was located above the kitchen and every night we felt as if we slept in the kitchen next to fried fish. Our room linen were not changed during our stay and we used the same towels over and over again. The ceiling had water stains and the ceiling of the bathroom was mouldy . The breakfast was fairly stingy and there were limited amounts of similar hot food every day.

The food in the bar is tasty and the price is fair .

Overall, we paid £310 for three nights and expected a lot better quality than this. Unfortunately I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masood H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliasjones, Owner at The Manor, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay, it is challenging keeping on top of the issues with a very old building, especially following the winter storms, but with the Old building comes a unique location. We do not hide the fact that your room is near our kitchen, you booked on line and chose that room. The room is well ventilated I bet you chose to close up all the windows at night rather than let the refreshing sea air in, as we do at night, we have no traffic noise here so there’s no noise to keep out. Your review is unreasonably negative and we believe that also has to do with your personal circumstances, you did not engage with the staff, your partner seemed very unhappy and it’s our experience that generally leads to things to complain about. We are sorry again that you were unhappy with our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for The Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 241 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

You couldn't be more impressed with this venue. Booked my wedding lunch here on the 29th March 2014 and not only were the staff impeccable (and very patient with us, we were a touch rowdy at times!) but the food was amazing and timely. Comment on the food such as the best fish pie ever tasted, fish and chips better than "prominent" places in Cornwall. They made the room look really great and allowed us to run a little wild here and there. I can't thank the staff enough as they helped make our day incredibly special with no hiccups or problems. Don't hesitate in booking a table here, they deserve your trade and you'll be touched how considerate, helpful and professional they are there. A true gem on the coast!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bibberdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic weekend here recently. Stunning and peaceful location, delicious food, lovely room with sea view and a wonderful general charm to the building. Plenty of outside seating too. Breakfast was delicious and the whole place was immaculately clean. My only two (tiny) criticisms are that the staff could have been a bit warmer. There were a lot of serious faces going on. And it would have been nice for breakfast times to have been a bit more flexible than one hour, perhaps also with the option to eat outside or in our room. Overall a great stay though and would come back again in a minute. This place is the perfect romantic weekend getaway.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank GoldieWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We got married at The Manor Hotel and we would do it all over again if we could! Jess was so helpful throughout the process from our initial booking to the day itself. The ceremony room is absolutely beautiful and just the right size for our 30 guests, we had full use of the private courtyard at the back of the hotel for drinks and photos, and our meal was amazing.
The restaurant was laid out perfectly, looked very pretty and all plates went back to the kitchen clean! Jess and one waitress served us and they couldn't have been more attentive, bringing extra vegetables and gravy, and checking that we were happy with everything.
All our guests commented afterwards on what a lovely day and venue it was.

I would HIGHLY recommend The Manor to anyone looking for a beautiful, elegant but relaxed wedding venue.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

What a delightful public house and restaurant. We visited for lunch on Saturday....and we'd been spoilt all week with great food. The food here was fantastic, I had a mackeral pate which was really good, but the scallop and prawn skewers were the best I have ever had! I can't wait to go here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maisy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing long weekend. This is a family run hotel and ALL the family treat like house guests, they way they have converted it (especially the cellar bar is very imaginative). The room had a lovely sea view, was comfortable and well decorated. The meals were all excellent and freshly cooked. We can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: 10 of the 13 rooms have a sea view, we had room 3.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveC P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I say this because outside of restaurant hours there is no service. Once the restaurant is closed the only way to speak to someone is via the telephone number left on the side; even then the lights are off and the bar and kitchen are closed and the place deserted. Don't expect to return after a long walk on the beach and order coffee and cake; unless the Restaurant is open. Beverages of any kind are not available once the Restaurant is closed, unless you go to your room and make your own. B&B?
The area and location are beautiful but as for everything else, I found it to be average with good splashes of poor. The prices charged are high and not value for money; this is a B&B with Restaurant (average food and items listed on the menu not always available) masquerading as a Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank NN22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bexington
2.8 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
281 reviews
4.9 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
508 reviews
6.0 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
827 reviews
2.9 mi away
East Farm House B&B
East Farm House B&B
#3 of 4 in Abbotsbury
48 reviews
9.5 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beaminster
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Address: West Bexington | Bridport, West Bexington DT2 9DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Bexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Bexington
Price Range: $160 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16Th Century Manor house, under new ownership. Refurbished in 2011/12. New bar and restaurant overlooking Chesil beach. Rooms available on a B&B basis. Restaurant and bar open to all. Free house cellar bar and beer garden. Popuplar with walkers and day visitors to the surronding countryside and Chesil beach. Full menu, plus daily fish specials,for lunch or dinner, baugettes and hot bar meals also available at lunch times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Dorchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing