We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, lots of good food”
Review of Beach House Cafe

Beach House Cafe
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, lots of good food”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We visited The Beach House on recommendation and were not disappointed. Our food was beautifully fresh and well cooked, portions were enormous!
The food would definitely warrant a five star review but it was pretty costly (around £14 for burger and chips) and the menu on the day we visited was limited. Service was good, if a little too abrupt. It felt a little like we were meant to know exactly how the place worked even though we were tourists and had never set foot in the place before.
That said, a definite yes on the recommendation front, we would visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Somerset1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    124
    52
    46
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Fabulous child and dog friendly beach, brought to have lunch at the Beach House. Fabulous tasty fresh food served by smiling staff (although they were so busy!) Enjoyed so much ate again but dinner this time. Amazing setting with perfect food. Little off the beaten track but that makes it extra special!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cakebakermummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely setting. Simple fresh food with friendly service”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Sharing a random driving day with the (quite heavily pregnant) mrs we stumbled across this lovely spot and decided to give it a try. Shabby, uncomfortable wooden seating with erratic (but nicely apologetic/friendly) service don't come here if you are expecting a fine dining experience. Location is lovely staff are friendly and the food simple fresh and unspoiled. Would recommend the whitebait and prawns...
My partner is on a strict gluten/fobmap diet at the time of our visit and they could not have been more understanding or friendly and rustled up plain grilled mackerel with salad. Big thumbs up!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielI0474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Dinner at beach house”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

6 of us had a superb evening at the beach house. Excellent food , good wines. , and friendly , jolly, efficient service. Great atmosphere helped by great weather and view. Booking is a must most of the year. .

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florakaty
Level Contributor
134 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic and fun place”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Busy, busy, busy but the service didn't waver nor did the quality. A bit expensive but worth it. Good and interesting menu. Unbelievable location with stunning views. We were a large party of 9, 12 year old to OAPS, and everything could not have been better.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank florakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach House Cafe also viewed

Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Been to Beach House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing