We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chequers Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Maynard(Grindleford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Little John Hotel(Hathersage)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
George Hotel(Hathersage)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveler rating
150
81
38
19
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
150
81
38
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubbusy roadsunday lunchpeak districtpuddingdouble glazingsmoked salmon and scrambled eggschatsworth househalibutolde worldemain roadwarm welcomeevening meallovely eveningexcellent foodcomfy bedstayed two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 297 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Couldn't fault this place in any way shape or form great room great food and good choice of beers and wine
very friendly staff made us very welcome
would highly recommend the chequers as an excellent place to enjoy a short break
Bernard & Wendy

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Location is excellent. Woodland garden beautiful, staff charming and helpful. We ate in the pub on the first night and it was stunningly good. So much so that we chose to eat there again on the second night, an exceptional thing for us not to want to try somewhere else. Breakfast was equally excellent. Just two minor points prevented the fifth star. The Chequers is hard on a busy-ish road. The secondary glazzing was excellent at blocking out the noise until the window was opened, a problem if you like to sleep with the window open. The second point is that the wifi uses equipment dimensioned for the domestic environement which struggled when the pub was full of laptops and smartphones all trying to grab service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the road
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Have visited this pub many times after a walk and enjoyed having a drink and sandwiches in the garden. The pub is full of character and the garden has superb views - a great place to watch the sun go down.

On our last visit, we decided to have a full meal, but were very disappointed. The menu is limited for people who don't eat meat. But when our food arrived it was lukewarm and uninspiring. The vegetarian option for the main course - a bean cassoulet - was more like a starter.The white wine was OK but hadn't being chilled. We decided against desert and coffee and left feeling very let down. Perhaps we were unlucky, but we won't be rushing back

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank edenholme54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Nestled under the spectacular scenary of Frogatt Edge, this traditional-looking English inn has the huge advantage of an excellent kitchen. We skipped breakfast and arrived early for Sunday lunch, demolished three courses without any regrets. The menu is very enticing and they do marvellous things with quality produce, which in our case included a generous portion of Gloucester old spot pork roasted to succulent perfection with the best crackling I've had anywhere. Starters included pigeon breasts and some big scallops with an onion confit of some kind that went rather better with the bird than the molluscs....so we ended up sharing the goodies around. Warm and scrunchy Bakewell tarts to follow and all washed down with middling, local-ish ales but there's a nice wine selection too and the coffee is good. I can't comment on the rooms but the meals are well worth travelling for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Falconette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We wanted to stay fairly close to the Hope Valley as we were planning to do some walking and photography. We found this on the internet and we were impressed with the reviews. We were not disappointed. Friendly, attentive but unobtrusive service. Great beer. Great food - we had two excellent evening meals and two brilliant breakfasts. My friend and I bunked up together in a twin room (2) which was comfy and spacious. The inn is really well positioned for a variety of great walks and is also close to the High Peak reservoirs. Very impressed and I'll definitely return with my wife in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukajoreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews