We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality”
Review of Punch Bowl

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Satley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Punch Bowl
Ranked #1 of 1 Satley B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Very good I had the 34 oz steak and the wife had beef Lasagna both meals were Excellent staff was really good and was the Waitress were really good and Atmosphere was also good I wood Definitely Recommend this pub for a meal you won't be Disappointed

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Consett87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 55 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

Been here a few times. Its a nice pub with real fires. Its inviting and homely.

The food is nice, they do real chips. It has a good atmosphere and is worth a visit.

There was quite a large party of us but the food came out well and everyone enjoyed their meals.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank moogle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is NOT the place to stay in winter.

The guest rooms are in a stone building which is not kept heated. The heating was turned on for my room when they knew I was coming. This was not near enough heat to heat stone walls and un-carpeted stone or tile floors. In addition the heating went off overnight, leaving me gagging with the cold at 2am watching my own breath. The bed was hard and saggy, and there were no bathroom mats for the icy cold tile floor in the bathroom. The tea-making equipment was in a common stone floor area which was not heated at all.

The pub is quite nice, but the only access is via the outside which, in cold weather, is a distinct disadvantage.

Despite claims to have wifi, there was no wifi or mobile reception in my room or the restaurant, and no landline phone in the rooms, so no emergency contact was possible. I was told that I could get reception outside. Yes, sure, in 2 degrees!

The owners are clearly not experienced at running accommodation and lack attention to detail. They need to stay in their own rooms overnight so that they can experience the shortfalls for themselves and not blame customers who have the temerity to complain.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The punch bowl satley Just been for Christmas dinner six of us could not fault the service and staff were all great the drinks bill was seventy one pound between six of us and we are all good drinkers Absolutely the best place to eat cant wait to go again

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Consett87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Visited the Punch Bowl on a Friday evening last month. The pub was extremely busy but the bar staff made eye contact with us as soon as we walked in and we were made to feel very welcome right from the start. The food was lovely and great value. We had a brilliant evening. You couldn't find a nicer pub if you tried. We will defininately return to the Punch Bowl!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night's b&b and ate in the restaurant in the evening. The steak was great and the people are really nice and friendly. Bed was very comfy and shower hot. The rooms are a bit sparsely furnished though - could do with things like bedside tables and chest of drawers. Maybe it's because the rooms have obviously been done up recently.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The staff and owner at the Punchbowl were charming and friendly. Newly renovated rooms are very pleasant and take full advantage of the architecture of the buildings. Our bed had a beautiful stone arch as a headboard. The renovation work has left a few tiny jobs still to be done and the consumables need to be attended to slightly better. No soap for our shower. Our friendly and attentive host was quick to attend to any need though. A fantastic and tranquil countryside location. Close to Durham, Newcastle, and not far from Hadrian's wall. A generous and tasty breakfast. Definately recommended

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCB63376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Punch Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punch Bowl

Address: Satley DL13 4HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Satley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Satley
Hotel Class:3 star — Punch Bowl 3*

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing