We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable hotel with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had a good clean, though not large, room and bathroom facilities. Comfortable bed. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Some of the staff seemed inexperienced, but they were willing to help and tried hard (e.g. we had to tell a barman how to mix a whisky and ginger, which he'd never heard of, and he seemed pleased to have learned something new!) Food in the Stables Bar a bit plastic and mass-produced (chicken "Parmesan" came with a very un-Italian bright yellow melted cheese coating and the chips were soft and greasy). We tried the main restaurant the next night - food much more appetising, though priced accordingly. Pleasant Lounge area where you can get afternoon tea or light snacks, and also "Breakfast Items" such as bacon baps, croissants etc with coffee. This is a good deal if you don't want a big breakfast from the wide selection on offer in the dining room, although the staff seemed unaware of this option, and tried to charge us for restaurant breakfasts - but it was amicably and competently sorted out by the Receptionist when we checked-out. Surprisingly large swimming pool for a hotel, with good changing facilities, also golf, gym and spa facilities, which we didn't try.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Scotadvisor
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. I am delighted overall you enjoyed your experience whilst staying at the hotel.
I note your comment regarding the Chicken Parmesan you ordered in the Stables. This dish is a local signature dish, well known in this area, please accept my apologies if it was not as you expected.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff, we do have a few new staff members I will pass your feedback on to the team.
I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again when you are visiting the area.

Kind regards

Pam Mooney
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 809 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

The entry is good,the staff are awesome(must have been trained by an Hungarian) and the setting ,apart from the trains, is great. The food, and the Stables restaurant in particular,is to be commended.

Alas but the room lets it down.

The bed is too small for two, the walls are exceptionally thin and the pillows are too low(one pillow) or too high(two).

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaketjeff1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Jake tjeff1883
Many thanks for taking the time to post your recent review.
I am delighted you enjoyed the location, food and the Stables Bar. Our bedrooms do vary in size depending on location. May I suggest on a future visit you request a room in the main hotel these tend to be larger and quieter. I am sorry the pillows weren't to your liking, we do have a selection of various pillows available.
I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards


Pam Mooney
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Booked one night. Got a good last-minute rate which did not include breakfast. Exterior looked very bland: they had made no discernible effort to brighten up the outside spaces with flowers, as most country hotels do. Our room was comfortable and well appointed, but the bathroom was disappointing: black mould around the bath and grubby grouting. Not really acceptable when there are products easily available to deal with such issues.
We were told by reception staff that we could have afternoon tea in the lounge, but found that this was being used for a meeting, so sat in the deserted restaurant instead. Surprised that staff did not know what was going on, particularly in such a small establishment. Even more surprised when it was suggested we'd have to pay extra for more tea - have never experienced that before. Luckily they agreed to supply another pot at no extra charge.The cakes were very good, as was the bar snack we had later in the Stables bar.
Staff were friendly and helpful, but the whole place lacked atmosphere. The fabric of the building has obviously seen some work, but the results, for us at least, were gloomy and somewhat depressing. Wherever we went we found brochures advertising their Christmas festivities (in April?) but I'm not convinced, given our recent visit, that one would feel very festive here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sofalofa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Sofalofa 10
Thank you for posting your recent review.
I am sorry you felt the outside of the hotel lacked ambiance. Following recent change of ownership, the new owners have spent a considerable amount of monies on improving the state of the buildings and are currently in the process of making great improvements to the car park, rendering the main house and upgrading the front patio to the hotel. The car park will be re surfaced following planning permission. As the building is Grade listed we have to await permission in many areas before improvements can be done. Trees have been trimmed and new flower beds added, unfortunately you have seen this as work in progress. An enormous amount of works have gone in to make improvements and we should enjoy the benefits in coming months.
I recall the day of your visit, when we had a small wedding in the room adjacent to where your party had afternoon tea. As you mention a meeting was taking place in one of the lounges, often guests decide to arrange impromptu meetings in some of the small lounge areas, other areas are available for lounge service.
Abby served your party afternoon tea on a table in a window seat of Oswald's restaurant overlooking the golf course. I am delighted you enjoyed the cakes and your free refill. We do have to draw the line with the amount of complimentary refills we can offer.
Our Christmas Brochures were available from April as we receive many requests in advance for reservations for our Christmas packages, which have been a great success in the past, and many guests return annually. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and the food. We do strive hard to offer a friendly professional service.
Again, I am sorry you felt the building lacked ambiance, I hope you give us the opportunity to revisit when all the works are complete.

Kind regards

Pam Mooney
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Check in was quick and very welcoming.
The pool, sauna and steam room were good for relaxing.
The food and drink in the Stables pub attached seemed the same as the restaurant but was cheaper. Lacking in vegetarian options but otherwise food was ok.
The breakfast was good as was the service provided by staff especially Bradley he really was helpfull I just hope the management appreciate and value him I certainly appreciated his helfullness thanks Bradley.
In fact all the staff seemed very friendly and accommodating.
The room was very spacious however the heating didnt seem to work and the windows were old style sash windows which could do with a little attention or even replacing.
Overall I had a good enjoyable stay and would definitely stay again and try make use of the golf course in future.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank AKLeices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear AK Leices
Thank you for posting your feedback.
I am delighted you had an enjoyable and relaxing break with us. I will pass on your kind comments regarding Bradley, he is a valued team member and we receive lots of good reviews about him.
We have recently refurbished The Stables Bar and Stables Kitchen. This has allowed us to offer 2 areas for guests to dine. I am sorry you felt the two menus were similar, The Stables is very much pub grub including old favourites, Fish and Chips, Steak Pie, Rump Steak and chips. Where as Oswald's offers a menu with locally produced foods with a fine dining approach.
I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Pam Mooney
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Bought a bargain 1 night stay at this hotel, every thing was ideal. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Mum is disabled so we were given the disabled room which was good for us, just one niggle the toilet is very low, ok for abled people but when you are disabled it is a struggle get on and off.
The hotel is very comfortable and has lovely areas to wander around and sit in.
The problem we encountered was not with any of the facilities or staff it was with the offer its self
it included a bottle of Prosecco in the room and a gourmet meal on the evening. The wine given supplied was Pino Grigio Rose I am not a connoisseur but would have preferred the Prosecco.
When we asked where we were eating we were told that the restaurant was not open on a Sunday and we would have to eat in the Stables bar and were offered a bar meal ok in its self but not gourmet by any means
Please amend your offer info for the correct details for Sunday stays
Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Judy W
Thank you for posting your recent review on our site.
I am pleased you all enjoyed the overall experience at Hall Garth Hotel, Darlington.
Thank you for bringing to our attention the inclusions mentioned on the website.
Following recent changes and renovations to our food outlets we have made a few changes. Oswald's restaurant is now closed on a Sunday evening and dinner is served in The Stables. I will chase our web designers to make the necessary changes.
I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you all again.

Kind regards
Pam Mooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful place, and amazing mini break spa stay. We were welcomed by the spa staff and left to chill and relax, treatment included in our package was very good and the beauty room staff were lovely! When we checked in the staff were very friendly and showed us to our room which was very clean with a beautiful bottle of sparkling wine and a few choccies. Dinner was beautiful with a choice from 2 menu's and extremely nice friendly and chatty staff. We will be looking for similar offers and definitely go back, was fantastic value for money! Thank you

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank leannelear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Leannelear
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.
It is very pleasing to read your comments following your recent spa break. We do receive great feedback regarding our beauty therapists.
I am delighted you felt the we offered good value for money.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Pam Mooney
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

A very pleasant overnight stay at this lovely hotel. The feature room was lovely, with original fixtures and the rest of the hotel is very relaxing. In particular the staff are very welcoming across the whole of the hotel and specifically in the restaurant where the food was very good and presented beautifully.

Room Tip: Feature rooms are worth the upgrade and some have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janets95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHallGarth17121972, General Manager at Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Janet 95
Thank you for posting your recent review. I am delighted you enjoyed your dinner, bed and breakfast experience staying in one of our feature rooms. It is also very pleasing to read your feedback with regards to the staff and the food.

Many thanks we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards

Pam Mooney
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coatham Mundeville
3.5 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,298 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
4.6 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
3.7 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
7.0 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club

Address: Bafferton Ln, Coatham Mundeville, Darlington DL1 3LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington > Coatham Mundeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coatham Mundeville
Price Range: $54 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Georgian Country House with original portions dating from 1540, set in 69 acres of park & woodlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club Hotel Darlington
Hall Garth Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing