We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Ruined My Dads 60th!”
Review of The Countryman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Countryman Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Langdon B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Where do I start? We booked here months in advance for my dad's 60th having been here before with family travelling from London for this occasion.

The table was for ten. When i asked for drinks, i was told to go to the bar as they wanted to get the food out (which arrived an hour later).

After being there two hours the food arrived! Hooray I hear you say! Sadly not! It was poor at best. Out of six steaks the only one that was cooked as ordered was the well done one, which was cold! The chips were obviously two batches mixed together with one batch burnt and the other under cooked!

When I complained that my steak was not what I ordered, I was asked to cut into another to see if that was the one!

A table of four walked out after an hour and another large party also had poor service and burnt food, with 25% of their bill. We refused to eat the food offered and refused to pay.

They kindly decided not to charge us for the two rounds of drinks that we had. This was a nice gesture, but doesn't make up for having two hungry kids and a dash to Tesco at 10pm and a ruined 60th birthday for my dad.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 83 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Don't eat here unless you are happy paying for overpriced microwaved weatherspoons standard food (which is probably unfair on weatherspoons).

The menu on their website does not match what is on the actual menu in the pub. In anticipation of "Oven Roasted fillet of Cod with a New Potato Salad and Lemon and Parsley Butter" or "Our own Slow Roasted Pork Belly Roll, served on a Rosti Potato with Gravy and Fresh Vegetables" (2 of 6 specials on the website), I was disappointed to find only 'Home made Spag Bol" was offered on the specials board, and the standard put grub like Ham Egg and chips, Fish and Chips on the menu (i had the fish - it was boney and fried so much i should've asked for a steak knife to cut it).
So disappointing as i've eaten here many time before and its always been fab,what have the current owners done to the place?!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LisaCobblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived on Friday night for a two night stay after an awful drive down the M5 to find friendly staff and lovely bijou and compact double room, who were very accomodating. Lovely freshly cooked breakfast in the mornings and we ate in the restaurant on Saturday evening. Thank you to Richard and Tanya. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Booked ovnight stay on route for Cornwall, glad it was only one night! Booked and paid for weeks in advance, no record of reservation when at last we got in, no one warned us the pub closed at 2.30 to reopen at 6. Kicked our heals for a couple of hours. Room poor, empty soap container (one) not too clean, very ordinary pub food with disinterested service First and last time.

Room Tip: Try another pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We ate here once this summer. We ordered lasagna and chicken curry. Both seemed warmed up in the microwave. The lasagna was hardly cooked and very hard. The curry seemed to be canned food. This was the worst dinner we have had for years in England, and we visit every year. Normally the foor is quite acceptable or even good, but the countryman inn gets our wordt food of the year 2012 award, if not of the decade or even the century!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron227913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

6 of us dined here yesterday and we were pleasantly surprised. On arriving the outside of the establishment was clean and well presented; offering a wide grassy area for dogs and diners as well as a playing area for younger children. When we entered there were only a few locals enjoying the local ales and the peaceful environment. There was an extensive range of food on offer a wide variety of freshly produced local produce cooked to order. Portions were good size and food was well valued. The chips were all freshly prepared and everybody enjoyed their meal thoroughly. Don't come here expecting gourmet food because it is a pub rather than a restaurant but the food is very nice, well cooked and freshly prepared and not over-priced. The only downside was there was only one person serving due to the low count of customers but it wasn't a ridiculously long wait. Really enjoyed our visit here :) Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Outside looks like it's going to be a nice diner, very country orientated. No atmosphere inside though and also no Lime for a Lager and Lime (basic pub stuff you would think).
Ordered food, Starters were very nice, then came the mains. Steak and curry were very nice, but hold off if ordering chicken. the Chicken was very dry and overcooked. We did comment to the waitress that it would be better to include some sauce to the chicken dishes (we had 2 different ones) to maybe sort this out for future, but for now very dry and somewhat bland.
The Ladies toilets are apparently still the same as previous comments, and in the gents you had to hold the toilet seat up with one hand to avoid the sort of complaints the wife dishes out.
Decor in the whole place requires updating and is very tired at present.
As a last insult 2 of our party ordered a 3 scoop ice cream desert with a selection of 2 scoops of one flavour with 1 scoop of something else (normal in most places). When the bill came we had been charged for 3 deserts, because we had ordered a scoop of a different flavour and not all the same one. Had the ice cream been a plastic tub with pre concieved flavours, we could have accepted, but as this was individual scoops, it was not on. Yes we did get a refund on the 1 desert we didn't have in the end.
Needless to say we will not be dining there again, unless there is significant improvement.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langdon
5.9 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
524 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
356 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Racehorse Inn
The Racehorse Inn
#8 of 24 in Launceston
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club
Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club
#1 of 1 in Kennards House
171 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Eagle House Hotel
The Eagle House Hotel
#2 of 12 in Launceston
37 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dorset Farm
Dorset Farm
#4 of 12 in Launceston
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Countryman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Countryman Inn

Address: Langdon Cross, Langdon, Launceston PL15 8NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Launceston > Langdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Langdon
Price Range: $74 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Countryman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a large friendly pub just outside Launceston, on the road to the lovely coastal town of Bude. We have 5 cosy, en-suite letting rooms. 1 Single, 1 Twin, 2 Doubles and a Family room with a double bed and bunk beds (to sleep 4). We have a very large, free car park and a safely enclosed childrens park on our large playing field next to the pub/car park. We have plenty of outside seating either on the edge of the playing field and in the childrens park, or in our patio area leading out from our function room. We serve a delicious standard menu which varies slightly from day to day with our freshly made soups, fish cakes, curries and pies of the day. We also have a weekly specials board containing, when available, some very local meats but always something temptingly tasty. There is plenty to do nearby at the Otter Sanctuary or just a short car journey away in Launceston, Bude or many of the other nearby beautiful coastal towns and villages. We are also 15 minutes away from the A30 that will lead to to other larger attractions such as the eden project. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Countryman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing