We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of food on the plate, and a number of veggie options”
Review of The Countryman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Countryman Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Langdon B&B and Inns
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Plenty of food on the plate, and a number of veggie options”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Having managed to arrive at the nearby otter sanctuary on a day it was closed we went to this pub to eat and re-think our day. We were very pleasantly surprised to find a reasonable range of veggie options. I plumped for a relatively boring option of veggie burger, chips and salad, they had had a number of interesting veggie dishes, including some using quorn. It was only a burger in a bun, but there was plenty of side salad and chips. My companions had similar pub style meals and enjoyed them. Well cooked, and plenty of it. A bonus for the meat eaters, they use some locally produced meat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonemouse081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    9
    9
    11
See reviews for
28
29
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stopped over for a one night stay ,its got so much going for it just needs some money spent on Freshing it up very tired in places . Fishy Friday was well worth the money very tasty .Overall cheap room so you get what you pay for

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecb1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Ive eaten here on and off for years as I live locally. The food is always just about average and the service is unpredictable. Its just one of those pubs that you forget is there...nothing about it to make you want to visit really. It does become very busy in the summer months and seems popular with families with young children. Unless you like mediocre food and enjoy being annoyed by other people's unruly children, I wouldnt bother.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This place is priced too cheap. It does not allow for thevery worn passage carpetr to be replaced. The ragged towels tobe replaced and the bathrooms to be refurbished. A gret shame. It has potential. A first class breakfast. A very friendly host and staff. The regulars support it. The brewery must help the landlord to get the accommodation sorted. I cannot belittle Mine Hosts they are great. A gret shame about the accommodation

Room Tip: Telephone and ask ale the rooms. OK for one night stay. Do not expect the Ritz Rooms off the road a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygeorge1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

we stopped at this pub after seeing it on the way to bude as it looked very nice with a big play area for our son. we sat in the main restaurant and looked through a very limited menu. while we waited for food i took my son outside on to the play area which was advertised as being enclosed. the fence was broken as was most of the climbing equipment. the plastic slide had a hole in the bottom, which was very dangerous. when the food arrived we found the chips were not cooked, the gammon was chewy, mushrooms rubbery and the pasty was cold in the middle. not worth the £66 we were charged. they also got the bill wrong on the first attempt and it seemed a chore to correct it. in short bad food, too expensive and only two ales on.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ecca73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Langdon hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Devon
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2011

This was our second visit to The Countryman Inn, this time we called in for Sunday lunch and were again very pleased with our meal. This is a truly rural pub with a local patronage that also strives to serve passing trade. It's easy to find, on the Bude road only a short distance north of Launceston and well worth a short diversion from the A30 if you are travelling into or out of Cornwall.
The food is locally produced and you can taste it too. Good quality local meat, with well prepared fresh vegetables cooked well and served in very pleasant surroundings by attentive staff. They have a decent selection of local beers and wines for you to enjoy in the bar, restaurant, games room or outside and plenty of space to park just next to the pub. If the weather is warm you can sit outside at one of the picnic tables and admire the beautiful Cornish landscape. All this is offered at very modest prices, it’s really very good value for money.

Room Tip: A hidden gem, you won't be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CB_1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed at the countryman Inn for 2 nights during a trip to cornwall, it is a great location with good ales and fab locally produced food. Since the double room was booked we stayed in the family room which is quite big with a double and bunk beds. TV, very generous quantity of tea / coffee /chocolate and nice toiletries. The bathroom was large with bath tub and shower, nice and clean.
We ate in the bar both nights and found the food of exceptional quality, the menu has plenty of specials available and staff were helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was huge and lovely, full english with bacon and sausage from the family farm's black pigs nearby.
All in all a lovely place to stay a friendly welcoming place, would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali_P_Weymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langdon
5.9 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
511 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
348 reviews
4.3 mi away
Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club
Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club
#1 of 1 in Kennards House
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Racehorse Inn
The Racehorse Inn
#9 of 24 in Launceston
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queens Arms
Queens Arms
#1 of 2 in Breage
85 reviews
4.5 mi away
Newmoor Park
Newmoor Park
#1 of 24 in Launceston
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Countryman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Countryman Inn

Property: The Countryman Inn
Address: Langdon Cross, Langdon, Launceston PL15 8NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Launceston > Langdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Langdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Countryman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a large friendly pub just outside Launceston, on the road to the lovely coastal town of Bude. We have 5 cosy, en-suite letting rooms. 1 Single, 1 Twin, 2 Doubles and a Family room with a double bed and bunk beds (to sleep 4). We have a very large, free car park and a safely enclosed childrens park on our large playing field next to the pub/car park. We have plenty of outside seating either on the edge of the playing field and in the childrens park, or in our patio area leading out from our function room. We serve a delicious standard menu which varies slightly from day to day with our freshly made soups, fish cakes, curries and pies of the day. We also have a weekly specials board containing, when available, some very local meats but always something temptingly tasty. There is plenty to do nearby at the Otter Sanctuary or just a short car journey away in Launceston, Bude or many of the other nearby beautiful coastal towns and villages. We are also 15 minutes away from the A30 that will lead to to other larger attractions such as the eden project. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Hotwire so you can book your The Countryman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing