We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Countryman Inn
Nearby Hotels
$199
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Widemouth Manor(Widemouth Bay)(Great Value!)
$154
$124
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House B&B(Widemouth Bay)(Great Value!)
$100
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
An Mor(Bude)
$119
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
28
27
9
9
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
27
9
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely pubensuite bathroompeassunday carverytea coffee making facilitiesmeat eaterswhite winesurprised howlandlord landladyalesjoecerealdesertcornwalldogcampingdiets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 86 of 86 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

we stopped at this pub after seeing it on the way to bude as it looked very nice with a big play area for our son. we sat in the main restaurant and looked through a very limited menu. while we waited for food i took my son outside on to the play area which was advertised as being enclosed. the fence was broken as was most of the climbing equipment. the plastic slide had a hole in the bottom, which was very dangerous. when the food arrived we found the chips were not cooked, the gammon was chewy, mushrooms rubbery and the pasty was cold in the middle. not worth the £66 we were charged. they also got the bill wrong on the first attempt and it seemed a chore to correct it. in short bad food, too expensive and only two ales on.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ecca73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

This was our second visit to The Countryman Inn, this time we called in for Sunday lunch and were again very pleased with our meal. This is a truly rural pub with a local patronage that also strives to serve passing trade. It's easy to find, on the Bude road only a short distance north of Launceston and well worth a short diversion from the A30 if you are travelling into or out of Cornwall.
The food is locally produced and you can taste it too. Good quality local meat, with well prepared fresh vegetables cooked well and served in very pleasant surroundings by attentive staff. They have a decent selection of local beers and wines for you to enjoy in the bar, restaurant, games room or outside and plenty of space to park just next to the pub. If the weather is warm you can sit outside at one of the picnic tables and admire the beautiful Cornish landscape. All this is offered at very modest prices, it’s really very good value for money.

Room Tip: A hidden gem, you won't be dissapointed.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CB_1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We stayed at the countryman Inn for 2 nights during a trip to cornwall, it is a great location with good ales and fab locally produced food. Since the double room was booked we stayed in the family room which is quite big with a double and bunk beds. TV, very generous quantity of tea / coffee /chocolate and nice toiletries. The bathroom was large with bath tub and shower, nice and clean.
We ate in the bar both nights and found the food of exceptional quality, the menu has plenty of specials available and staff were helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was huge and lovely, full english with bacon and sausage from the family farm's black pigs nearby.
All in all a lovely place to stay a friendly welcoming place, would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali_P_Weymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews