We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and I must say that the staff were all excellent. The golf course is also good and interesting. Food was fine with a very broad selection. However, the rooms are sub standard. The entrance is grotty which is in some part owing to the golfers, but why use carpets at all let alone light coloured ones? The room,with the exception of the carpet was clean but very tired. In fact the whole place needs smartening up. Shower head needed a thorough clean and the mattress needed to be changed after the first night as you could feel the springs. It was changed eventually but unfortunately the replacement smelt musty! Surely, they would have noticed this when they changed it? In sum, I would not return with my wife but would be fine for a lads golf trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeChrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, golf course and food quality, and for your honest feedback on our rooms. It is true that golfer's footsteps and clubs can leave their mark, and we will most definitely use a different floor covering in the entrances when the time comes.

We have recently changed over a dozen mattresses so this hopefully will make a significant difference to sleep quality. The rooms will of course be fully re-decorated during the off season and any winter maintenance undertaken so as to brighten and freshen their appearance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 173 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

The best thing about this place are
1. Large rooms with walk in wardrobes and en suites in a golf course setting.
2. You can enjoy some complimentary golf at the staff's discretion
3 Parking not a problem.
4. Sits on the A30 - the dual carriageway into cornwall. Very convenient. Padstow 40mins, Newquay 30 mins, St Austell 30mins.
5. Staff are very helpful. For instance I asked for a cup of warm milk for my daughter at 11 o'clock at night and it was delivered to my door within 5 mins. They didnt even charge for this good gesture.
Bathrooms and toilets and rooms are all well appointed, but it was the convenience to park, the space, the location and most importantly the lovely staff that did it for us. (and very reasonable too). They do provide travel cot as well. There is also a high chair at restaurant, very family friendly.

Dr Arora

Room Tip: We had 2 triple rooms and they were massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drramanjett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind comments. August is a particularly busy month for us so I am really pleased that we managed to deliver a strong level of consistent service during this period. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Couldn't get a mainstream Travelodge/premier inn for just a Friday night last minute, found this via hotels.com & was a bit worried about the 2* rating but we think they have that wrong!
7 adults + 2 small children easy to find, great rooms fantastic dinner & breakfast & wel definitely use again to break the journey!
The staff are very welcoming, friendly & can't do enough to help!
We will defiantly be stopping here again on our next visit to Cornwall & we'll be recommending it as well!
A big thank you to all the staff at the trethorne! So glad we stumbled across you :0)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joolz1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We do not have an "official" star-rating so that is why we are classed as 2*. We are so pleased that we managed to exceed your expectations! We have worked hard to offer comfortable surroundings for all of our guests, including families travelling with small children. It is so nice when our efforts are rewarded. We hope to see you again at point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst travelling the West Country. To be honest was not sure at first but the attitude of the staff was first class, they were extremely helpful and nice. Room was fine, comfy and clean. Not too hot. Breakfast was lovely, lady in restaurant was very helpful and nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was tasty and a nice experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

What a lovely review - thank you! You were "not too sure at first", but our team managed to exceed expectations which is what we all try and achieve. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Extremley helpful, staff offered to re jig rooms in order to make space for us if we needed to stay another night! Breakfast was nice, hotel clean and tidy, would definately stay again great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chad w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thanks for the positive feedback. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stayed, albeit a short one! Hope to see you again one day in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed at the Trethorne whilst visiting relatives. Was surprised on arrival. Friendly reception, easy check in, lovely clean and pleasant looking room with air con (gladly needed during the heat wave), a walk in shower and separate bath. The room didn't have a hair dryer but we had brought our own, although you can apparently borrow one from reception. Tea and coffee making facilities were also provided. Disappointment was that our double bed was two twin beds pushed together and were unfortunately slightly different heights so didn't match.

The buffet Breakfast was a great variety - cereals, fruit juices, toast with wide variety of spreads, full English, yoghurts, fresh and tinned fruit. We also had dinner in the restaurant one night and found the food and portion size pretty good.

We would definitely stay again but would request a proper double bed by email beforehand.

Room Tip: Ask for a proper double bed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us at Trethorne, especially concerning the friendliness of our team and quality of food. We are sorry that your bed was not as comfortable as it should have been. The necessity for flexible room configuration ie twins / doubles means that we have to use zip and link beds, although I do agree that one should not be higher than the other! We will of course deal with this as a matter of priority as sleep quality is very important.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just felt needed to write a review as we found this hotel perfect for an overnight stop on way down to St Ives. 1 minute off to A30 near Launceston. Incredibly helpful staff. Our room was great for our small small children (5, 4 and 10 months). Great bunk bed for the older two and cot for our youngest. Double and a single bed in a good sized room (family room). Lovely bathroom. Lovely cooked breakfast served from 7 which was great for our early rising kids !! Stayed in a local travelodge/ premierinn before on the A30 and vowed would never do it again ! WIll be staying here again brilliant value at £89 including breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mari w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonGrainger, Owner at Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennards House
15.4 mi away
Atlantic House Hotel
3 mi away
The Eagle House Hotel
The Eagle House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Launceston
41 reviews
4.6 mi away
Newmoor Park
Newmoor Park
#1 of 24 in Launceston
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Racehorse Inn
The Racehorse Inn
#8 of 24 in Launceston
65 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Kennards House | Launceston, Kennards House, Launceston PL15 8QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Launceston > Kennards House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kennards House
Price Range: $104 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the beautiful Cornish countryside, Trethorne offers the perfect blend of a picturesque and accessible location just off the the A30. Famous for their warm,friendly hospitality and hearty, home-cooked food, the Hotel offers guests warm, well proportioned accommodation with en-suite bathrooms, TV and Tea/coffee making facilities, Pets are welcome too and stay Free of Charge. Free WiFi is available at the clubhouse and a Private Conference and Banqueting suite offers a light and contemporary ambiance for your event or special occasion and is also licensed for Civil Weddings.The Eden Project, Dartmoor National Park and the fantastic North Cornwall surf are just 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trethorne Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing