We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highs and Lows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hollywood Casino Tunica Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Tunica
Hampstead, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Highs and Lows”
Reviewed November 10, 2006

ROOMS

The rooms are of average size as are the bathrooms. The room contains an in-room safe. The lighting is very dim. The bed was very comfortable.

Housekeeping was inefficient. When we checked in, a lamp had a burnt out bulb. We left the bulb for housekeeping, who saw us later in the corridor, acknowledged the bulb, and said it would be replaced. It was never replaced during our four-night stay. One day housekeeping made the bed but did not empty the trash. Because of the apparent inefficiency of housekeeping, my wife did some checking: The shower-tub has a rubber bathmat. When my wife looked underneath it, she found that it contained mold.

DÉCOR

The hotel décor is a delight for fans of Hollywood, especially the golden age. The lobby, restaurants, guest rooms, casino, rest rooms, etc are adorned with photos and memorabilia. Some memorabilia and photos are scrupulously labeled, but many of the large photographs are not.

CASINO

For Video Poker players the casino has only three full-pay video poker machines. I was talking to a local couple who told me that there used to be a lot more but the payouts were recently changed. There was also no single deck $5 blackjack. My wife and I resolved the problem by driving to the Sheraton to gamble. The casino is bright. Like all casinos in Tunica, it’s smoky.

FOOD

The coffee shop [Hollywood Diner] is inexpensive with good food and ample portions. It does NOT have a non-smoking area. It’s open 24 hours.

Restaurant reviews are, of course, subjective and I realize this fact as I discuss the buffet.

The buffet rivals the best of Las Vegas, Tunica, and Atlantic City. I didn’t think they could top the Thursday night steak & crab legs buffet until they outdid themselves on Friday with the lobster buffet. I expected to get a ticket for one lobster, but in fact the only restriction is that you must take only one at a time. Boiled pound-and-a-quarter Maine lobsters. If you’re not a fan of the specialty of the night, the other choices seem endless. I won’t even get into all the desserts. It’s called the Epic Buffet and it lives up to its name. For those who appreciate high-quality sumptuous buffets, don’t miss it.

LOCATION

Hollywood is in a cluster with Resorts and Sam’s Town. It’s an easy walk to Resorts and a 15 minute walk to Sam’s Town, so maybe Sam’s Town is a short drive instead.

INTERNET ACCESS

We did not bring a laptop computer, so I cannot comment on in-room internet access. However, there is no business center where a guest can access the internet from a hotel-supplied computer..

SUMMARY

Come here often for the buffet and the décor. Go elsewhere for a room.

  • Liked — Epic Buffet
  • Disliked — A tie -- poorly lightedt rooms/Housekeeping
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Sanamarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    114
    74
    32
    45
See reviews for
70
183
23
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Good Hope, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2006

This is a great casino if you're looking for a more relaxed atmosphere. It is less crowded than the big boys up the road which in return, makes the comps a lot easier to get. It's super clean and most of the staff is great. The buffet and the Cafe leave a little to be desired but the Steak house is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ajpeppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowlett
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2006

We stayed at the Hollywood Casino Hotel March 12-14.We were very pleased with our stay! Both of the nights we stayed we were comped. We were also comped for our food. The rooms were very nice! Everyone was very friendly! The only complaint we had was the machines were very tight those two days!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank charlotte1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 3, 2006

We went to Tunica this Month, and stayed the weekend, The room's were a lot more than usuall, but I alway's loved to play at Hollywood so we decided to stay thier, a couple of the worker's were very rude, and would not help in any way- but the casino and the room's, were nice, and cannot complain about them, the resturant was just ok. I will play thier but were not sure if we will ever stay thier again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 20, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay (2/17-2-20) in Tunica at the Hollywood Casino and Hotel. This was our first trip to Tunica and we truly enjoyed our stay. The hotel at Hollywood exceeded our expectations. Our room included: king size bed, table, chaise lounge, TV, refrigerator, coffee maker and safe. The bathroom included a hairdryer and Neutrogena bath products. The décor of the room was very contemporary and included classic black and white photos of Hollywood stars. The room was spotless and the bathroom appeared to have a recent update complete with Kohler faucet and granite counter. As for hotel service, I can’t give much of a review. During our stay Tunica experienced a winter storm, including ice, leaving many hotel workers stranded at home. It was difficult to determine how well the service could have been if full work staff had been present. Check-in was a breeze and we immediately headed for the casino.

The setup of the casino is very open including tons of Hollywood memorabilia. The casino is located on 1 level but the ceiling was 2 stories so the casino appeared to be larger than it was. There are 2 bars: the Safari Bar which houses a stage, giant TV screen and table seating and the Box Office Bar which has several TVs and seating around the bar area. Drinks were fairly strong and of course free. As for the slots: we played almost every penny and nickel machine in the casino and had great luck. We played a few dollar machines and lost. My husband also sat down at a poker table one night and walked away with a nice amount! The casino was not very smoky and provided coffee, cappuccino and soda at your disposal. Overall after 3 days of intense time in the casino we walked away up $20 with a ton of comps for food and gift shop items, (our room was already comped by a friend)

Food: Hollywood offers 3 restaurants – Epic Buffet, Hollywood Diner and Fairbanks. We did not eat at Fairbanks but it appeared to be an upscale steakhouse with a pretty nice menu. We ate breakfast at the buffet each morning and 2 times for dinner. On Friday night the buffet included whole lobster which was cooked to perfection. Overall the buffet was pretty good – with the exception of Friday night when it was spectacular. The Hollywood Diner was also pretty good – nice portion sizes and menu variety.

During our stay we visited Sam’s Town, Gold Strike, Horseshoe and the Sheraton’s casinos. Gold Strike appears to have the greatest variety of slots and the Horseshoe had the most table games. Both the Sheraton and Sam’s Town were alright but we liked Hollywood the best. We really enjoyed our stay at Hollywood and would highly recommend them to anyone!

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, AR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2005

I loved the casino! It is so clean and well taken care of, very secure and the floor waitresses, hosts, security etc. were very good...to be commended for their jobs well done!... The hotel rooms were very clean and nice.......loved my stay & I even won several jackpots too...

Helpful?
25 Thank Jan Sanders R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 16, 2004

Hollywood Hotel & Casino is the Best kept secret in Tunica. The employees and the service is GREAT!!!! It is always a pleasure to stay there.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunica hotels
3.7 mi away
Fitz Casino and Hotel
Fitz Casino and Hotel
#4 of 19 in Tunica
817 reviews
5.4 mi away
Horseshoe Tunica
Horseshoe Tunica
#2 of 19 in Tunica
2,458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Tunica Roadhouse Casino & Hotel
0.2 mi away
Resorts Casino Tunica
Resorts Casino Tunica
#12 of 19 in Tunica
175 reviews
7.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Tunica Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Casino Tunica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Casino Tunica Hotel

Property: Hollywood Casino Tunica Hotel
Address: 1150 Casino Strip Resort Blvd, Tunica, MS 38664-9138
Location: United States > Mississippi > Tunica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Tunica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollywood Casino Tunica Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 494
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the only destination with more of everything you want most! It's world-class gaming with high-limit slots and tables, a poker room, and even more of the hottest penny slots. Enjoy award-winning restaurants, live music, and plush accommodations. Plus, with Marquee Rewards(R) there's more exciting places to play and more exclusive rewards to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollywood Casino Tunica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Hotel Tunica Resorts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing