We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bring children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hollywood Casino Tunica Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Tunica
Collierville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't bring children”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We visited Hollywood Casino on June 29th 2011. Upon Arrival we had to wait 20 minutes in line to check in. We got checked in at 5:55pm. There check in time is 4 to 6 pm. We went to our room got the little one who is 3 ready to go swim for an hour to find out children cannot swim after 6pm! They now have new hours anyone under 21 is only allowed in the pool area from 12pm to 6pm daily. The rest of the time is adult only swim. So if your going for one night you can forget the kids having any fun. There is nothing for them to do at all at this casino. They closed the dinner and now you have your choice of a way over priced buffet or a way over priced snack area which is on the casino floor. We used to love going and I would play with our son in the pool while dad and grandma did their gambling thing then we would all meet at the dinner and have a great experience. So if your bringing kids I would suggest going to Harrah's Casino they have things to do for the whole family.

Room Tip: Go else where if you have children
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulsbestwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    105
    71
    31
    43
See reviews for
68
176
18
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
norman,ok
Level Contributor
245 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

After reading a negative review about Hollywood i thought i would put my opinion in. First off let me state i've been staying and playing at the Hollywood since 1995. Yes there is a new manager and yes they have closed the diner and replaced it with a food court which i don't like either. But Hey life is change, Other than that the staff there is the friendliest in tunica. The hosts offer the best customer service of anywhere i play and i've had the opportunity to play all over the world. The hollywood is my place to stay and play hands down anywhere in the USA. The sunday brunch at the buffet was great and fairbanks is still one of the best places to eat on earth. Yes i am a fairly big player there so yes i may get better service than some but i don't see how anyone could complain about service as they treat everyone well. The king beds with the pillowtop mattresses are some of the most comfortable of any hotel i've stayed in. The employees seem happy to me and i saw at least a half dozen jackpots heat during my one night stay. If you want a great experience try the Hollywood!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marymark059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We have stayed at Hollywood for the last 10 years that we have been going to tunica. Ever visit has been great and comps are very good, have stayed in hotel as well as r v park and always been great, I agree that the check in procedures should be changed and they are probably the least friendly of all the staff . Comps are great I have gotten up to $400 in comps and all I play is penny machines. Will be visiting again late may of 2011 and again in august. Can not wait

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatro0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

We choose Hollywood because my brother works at the one in Bay St. Louis, MS. and we had a good experience at that one last year. The rooms were pretty much the same and they were just what we expected. Clean, comfortable, and a fridge to store drinks in. However, if you want WiFi be sure to ask for the Tower 2 rooms. Our room maid was outstanding and very friendly. The check in clerks left something to be desired and we found them a bit rude, especially because we asked to change rooms when we found out there was no internet connection in our first room. We arrived at 1:30 and was told check in time was not until 3, but when we went back at 2:30 to get in line, they had already checked in about a dozen or so guests. There are a lot of neat movie posters and items on display in the lobby that are worth a photo shoot. Be sure to sign up for a players card, as you can get a dinner buffet for 25 cents and a breakfast buffet for 51 cents during your stay if you have accumulated enough points on your card. Taking advantage of the senior dicounts, we ate at several other casino buffets and Hollywoods was the best of all of them. The prime rib was especially good and it is oferred every night. When we ate at their buffet, I would slip a few cookies bars in my purse to snack on later and they were great. They have a nice pool area and on Weds. a free slots contest with 25 players winning free slot play on their players card. The waitresses in the casino are great, especially Kim. All of the casions are located pretty much in open farm land. There is a small outlet center not too far away, and the small town of Tunica it self offers the worlds oldest (in our opinion) Piggly Wiggly. If you really need something you need to go to Olive Branch or Memphis, which are only about 15 miles away. Gas is higher around the casinos. A visit to River Park is nice. I would choose Hollywood over some of the other casinos.

Room Tip: Ask for Tower 2 for WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blamarche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Everything at Hollywood has changed!! It used to be fun, fun, fun there but not anymore. The new GM has CUT and changed everything so tight (for bottom line profit) that you can't qualify for a food comp until you spend about $800- $1,000. The Diner is no longer there & in it's place they put a "food court" (walk up w/a few, very few tables) on the floor in the corner. Everyting is served in plasic & styrfoam & when you finally get it it is less than luke warm or cold. Your only other options are the Buffet & Fairbanks Steakhouse. I don't know about you, but I can't eat $8-9 worth of food for breakfast, $13 for lunch or $23 for dinner. Most of the time all I want is soup & a small salad. Forget Fairbanks. You have to be a high roller to qualify for a comp there or expect to pay $40-$50 for a meal.
As for the Casino itself, it used to be "packed" with people on the weekends. Now it's a little busier on Fri/Sat but during the week it is now now like a ghost town. Sooo...less business...let's cut more people & cheapen more thing up to meet the bottom line budget. Also consider yourself VERY lucky when you hit something on a slot machine. My advise, take the $$$ and go to one of the other casinos to play it because the likelyhood of hitting on another machine is next to nada. Most of the employees that are still around are friendly but never quite sure when the "slasher" is going to eliminate their jobs. The rooms are still o.k., but can you believe they elimated the stinkin little (maybe 6 tiny sheets) of paper & cheap-0 pen by the phones???? Every Hotel you go in to has this so you can write down a number real quick or leave a note to housekeeping. It seems to me that all they want is people coming who will spend (lose) minium $1,000-$2,000 or real high rollers. Talked to people there from other states & they all said the same thing. They have been coming for 5-10 yrs. & always stayed at Hollywood, but no more!!! Very few locals are going there now either. Hollywood has made some REAL BAD JUDGEMENT CALLS and executive decisions!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mernelvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

I am writing not because of anything bad happenend during our stay,but we spent 1,000 dollars in the two night 3 days we were there and not once did anybody tell us about a membership card. So we had a great time so great that we recomended Hollywood Casino to my sister and her husband and they came that weekend. They did not rent a room went to play at Casino and nobody skipped a beat on telling them about the membership card. So they get it and come home and tell us about it. So she recieves a two free hotel rooms and 20.00 for the casino. We will not recomend anybody to go now. They spent maybe 200.00 and they got to eat for free at the Epic buffet for getting the card and we paid all 3 times for our dinner. We spent 200.00 on the room alone and if we wouldnt of statyed in the room you suck people in with that members card because they didnt rent a room. You all should offer to everyone!!!!!! We would have more of a reason to come again if you offered us something like that. So to anyone who reads this GET a member card because the staff is not going to tell you about it and the benefits it has!!!! So no we will not recomend Hollywood to anybody again!!!!!! Nor will we return. Thank you Sarah LaVigne

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahlavigne30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tunica hotels

STL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Recent stay at this hotel was horrible. Bathroom had a giant dead waterbug. Dead spiders were in webs in the corners and sheets were stained. Non-smoking room smelled like smoke. Air condition did not blow cold air and appeared in poor condition. Even the vending machine was messed up, dispensing a regular drink when you pushed the button for a diet drink. Brought the problems to the attention of the person at the front desk who really did not care and said she would inform house keeping later.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hscottmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunica hotels
3.7 mi away
Fitz Casino and Hotel
Fitz Casino and Hotel
#4 of 19 in Tunica
755 reviews
5.4 mi away
Horseshoe Tunica
Horseshoe Tunica
#2 of 19 in Tunica
2,335 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tunica Roadhouse Casino & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall
0.2 mi away
Resorts Casino Tunica
Resorts Casino Tunica
#11 of 19 in Tunica
170 reviews
6.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tunica Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Casino Tunica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Casino Tunica Hotel

Property: Hollywood Casino Tunica Hotel
Address: 1150 Casino Strip Resorts Blvd., Tunica, MS 38664
Location: United States > Mississippi > Tunica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Tunica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollywood Casino Tunica Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 494
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the only destination with more of everything you want most! It's world-class gaming with high-limit slots and tables, a poker room, and even more of the hottest penny slots. Enjoy award-winning restaurants, live music, and plush accommodations. Plus, with Marquee Rewards(R) there's more exciting places to play and more exclusive rewards to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hollywood Casino Tunica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Hotel Tunica Resorts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing