We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch, sweet tea and ... smoking!”

Blue & White Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Tunica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet
ooky57
Level Contributor
185 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great lunch, sweet tea and ... smoking!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

If driving the Blues Highway from Memphis to New Orleans, this is one of the best places to stop and get real good southern food. Be warned -- you can smoke in this place (!) and it kind of ruins the whole otherwise cool clean look and taste if too many people are puffing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ooky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    127
    36
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Sweet Potatoes worth the effort”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I will be honest, I was a Yankee looking for what I thought would be "typical southern home cooking". I think the Blue and White fit the bill.
The service was outstanding. We had a gal who was just learning and she did very well. Others encountered were friendly and helpful.
We both opted for the Fried Chicken Buffet. It was different than what I am used to, but very flavorful and moist. The sweet potatoes though - that alone is a reason to go back. I was surprised that they did not have what my family calls "country" (milk-based) gravy for the mashed potatoes, but we survived. Overall it was a good meal.
I agree with a few others, the place could do with some more elbow grease when cleaning. But the fact that they were painting the outside of the building indicates an effort is underway.
If you want a break from the "casino food", this is a good place to stop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MidwestWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Southern Fried Delight”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We made our third trip to the Blue & White in Tunica during a recent trip to Memphis. The old bus stop/diner/Pure Oil Station has been in business as a restaurant for quite a long time and after the first bite, it's not hard to see why. My meal included an appetizer of fried green tomatoes and the Catfish Hoagie and it was outstanding. My husband said his fried chicken was "out of this world". We also enjoyed meeting the owner who was very pleasant. Great southern fried food with a side of nostalgia served here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthernHi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Enjoyable, good food and staff.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

6-24 We were glad to find a decent place with normal prices after experiencing Casino food. Staff even helped us locate store we wanted to shop at.. I had appetizer of Fried Green Tomatoes. Excellent. and grilled Catfish Hoagy. Husband had Rib plate.
May not of located if not for GPS. Floors needed a better cleaning but was very busy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mamatx55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great People Good Food”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went for breakfast while in Tunica. It was worth the trip. Nice break from the Casinos and good food, ample portions and really nice people. The special donut was the highlight for my wife. This is good "home" cooking in a small town. Will definitely go back if we are anywhere near the area again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Les R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue & White Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing