We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They shut it down on winning”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sam's Town Casino

Sam's Town Casino
Ranked #4 of 24 things to do in Tunica
Attraction details
Benton, AR
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“They shut it down on winning”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

When the car show goes to Tunica, you can count on NOT winning at all. When the car show is over, though, it's like it all picks back up. This happens every year, so it's not a coincidence.......

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev_cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    77
    61
    18
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food in buffet”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Like the Corkey's bbq buffet, but the tables sometimes look dirty so that's a turn off. Service is good and cost is good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rufusdNashville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very small casino”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The gaming floor was small. Machines were either out order of being worked on. My friend signed up for a card. There are no good promotions. We were told to play for awhile just so you could earn a cheap drinking glass.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JAGG J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkadelphia, Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun destination for group outings”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had a great time at Sam's Town on Labor Day weekend. The casino is roomy and offers lots of options for everyone. Won a little and lost a little as should be expected since casinos should be viewed as entertainment venues and not a place to make money. Don't take more cash than you can afford to leave behind!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Arkansas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Horrible Service & Very Unfriendly Staff”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have stayed here many times, simply because they have an RV park that I can park my motorhome at for $20/night (I think that was it). Anyway, this last stay was my last. I get parked and they were very unfriendly (almost rude), when I went to check in. Then, we decided after a long day on the road to have a drink in the casino. We went to the first bar and waited about 10 minutes. No one appeared, although there were players at the bar. Went to a second bar, sat down &started playing slots, a bartender looked past us and kept wiping on a glass she was holding. A man came up behind us and asked for a beer (over our heads), she starts talking with him like they were buddies & catching up and she got his beverage and they kept talking. We interupted and ask if we could please have a beer. She said, "yeah, in just a minute." She continued talking with this guy, then looked down to the end of the bar where other players were still there and she asked them if they'd like refills. She goes & takes care of them, meanwhile we've lost $40 each in Quarter slots (playing slowly), while waiting on a beer. So we left, went to a third (and last bar in the casino) and after playing another $20 each before asking if we wanted anything, we just left that casino and went across the street to the Hollywood Casino, which is where we now stay in our motorhome. They have an RV park outback for around $15 per night. Friendlier staff at Hollywood also.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Town Casino also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Town Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing