We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Timing”
Review of Horseshoe Tunica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horseshoe Tunica
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Tunica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbus, GA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad Timing”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband, mother and father in law, and my step daughter stayed at this hotel. I stayed here before years ago. A lot has changed. Because Harrah's in Tunica closed June 1, 2014, a lot of the people that had rooms booked for Harrah's was placed in rooms in Horseshoe. We had reserved our non smoking rooms 6 months earlier. Our room preference was ignored due to giving the Harrah's customer their room preferences. My mother in law suffers from COPD. We were told that they did not have any more non smoking rooms so they placed an air purifier in her room. We were also told that they would try to move her to a different room the next day.My mother in law did not want to have to pack up her things and move to another room It would have been appreciated if someone from Horseshoe would have contacted us and let us know that we would not be receiving our room preference. At least we would have had the opportunity to decide whether to stay at that hotel or book at another one. We requested a microwave for our room. When we received it, it was filthy. The refrigerator in the room was wobbly. The buffet was excellent. I do not think I will stay here again.

Room Tip: If you stay here, when you book your room on line, if you have any type of health issues, be sure an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Thay_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    699
    304
    136
    123
See reviews for
445
1,087
255
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversary by traveling to Tunica on a day trip. The buffet was expensive since we do not travel to the casino often. We paid 45 for two people. After we ate, we gambled a little. I quit after spending 60 bucks and only getting maybe five dollars back. My husband also did not win a dime. Friends say we have to play at least a hundred bucks to win.
After spending almost a hundred for a room, almost fifty for dinner, we can not afford Tunica.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Petrocelli1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keosauqua, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Other than the fact that they charge for the internet (can you believe that!!!) is was a nice place. The buffet was very good, lots of selections. The rooms were very nice also. The place was very clean...my 1st time in Tunica. If they ever offer free internet I might come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JDG48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very clean and large room, excellent service. Convenient distance to casino. Maid service was wonderful and helpful. Bottle water was available to rooms at all times and that was a plus. Loved the promotional coupons for free rooms and casino play money; buffet was the bomb.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babiluv4u65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borger, texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

nice room, great casino, great poker room.....this trip, the power was off due to lines being down...they ran two generators to keep the casino rolling and the lower floor rooms....we were lucky and had a 2nd floor room, but some other people we met on the elevator with higher rooms were issued a flashlight! yes, no power at all up there, I don't know how they could take it!! love their poker room tho, the best in the south still as far as I am concerned....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Spent 2 nights at the Horseshoe Casino Resort in Tunica and had a few unexpected problems. Rooms were spacious and quiet with good amenities, yet lacked an overall cleanliness that I like in a hotel room. Dirt around the shower rod (I hang my washcloth there), an a circle of grime around the base of the toilet. Small things but still something that is not often seen in other hotels. The worse part of my visit was the lack of cell phone service and internet service. Having to pay for internet service is one thing but then not receiving a signal strong enough to open a web page is another. Definitely not a hotel for business travelers nor for business conventions or conferences.

The food service was varied with several restaurants (I had an excellent piece of lamb in the steak house) located on the main floor. The buffet needs to be better managed for the food was cool and apparently not seasoned well. The Burger Bar which was opened 24 hours was the BEST food place on the property. Fresh food, Great service and an open atmosphere.

Now if gambling is your thing than this is the place to be with 24 / 7 gambling operations, many food and liquor options and located miles from any other city, Tunica is perfect for gambling.

Room Tip: Review your room completely upon check-in and check linens, bathroom and air conditioning. Be sure...
See more room tips
Green Features: I am allergic to tobacco so the minute I stepped into the hotel and I left I had breathing problems. There are smokers everywhere you look and the smell of tobacco smoke permeates each room and meeting area.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had a comped room there on May 15. This was the first awful room we have ever experienced there.It looked like a crime scene in there. there were big stains all over the carpet and it was not clean. The air conditioner rattled so loud it was impossible to sleep. We told the lady at the desk and said we would wait on a survey. She said she would take care of it. Needless to say we never received a survey. Won't ever be going back and for sure won't recommend anyone else to go there.Charles Valentine

Room Tip: Go somewhere else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunica hotels
5.4 mi away
Hollywood Casino Tunica Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tunica Roadhouse Casino & Hotel
1.6 mi away
Fitz Casino and Hotel
Fitz Casino and Hotel
#4 of 19 in Tunica
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall
5.3 mi away
Resorts Casino Tunica
Resorts Casino Tunica
#12 of 19 in Tunica
175 reviews
2.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Tunica Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Tunica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Tunica

Property: Horseshoe Tunica
Address: 1021 Casino Center Dr, Tunica, MS 38664-6403 (Formerly Horseshoe Casino and Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Tunica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tunica
#2 Casino Hotel in Tunica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horseshoe Tunica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horseshoe Tunica has been the market leader in gaming and entertainment since opening on February 13, 1995. The casino known nation-wide as the place where real gamblers come to gamble has recently been remodeled to include state-of-the-art technology and luxurious furnishings and contains over 1,380 slot and video poker games, the widest variety of table games in the region. The 25-table World Series of Poker themed poker room featuring a WSOP lounge is a poker player's paradise. Horseshoe Tunica guests enjoy a 14-floor hotel tower with over 500 luxuriously appointed rooms featuring world-class customer service and amenities including: Jack Binion's Steak which offers offer contemporary as well as classic fine dining offerings and a wine bar, the all you can imagine Village Square Buffet featuring fare from all over the world and highlighting Southern specialties and desserts, and the area's only Starbucks. Horseshoe Tunica consistently books headline entertainment to perform at the 1500 seat intimate and stellar Bluesville concert hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Horseshoe Tunica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Hotel Tunica Resorts
Horseshoe Casino And Hotel
Horseshoe Casino Tunica Resorts
Horseshoe Tunica Resorts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing