We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRENDOUS customer service, though room was fine”
Review of Horseshoe Tunica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Horseshoe Tunica
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Tunica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“HORRENDOUS customer service, though room was fine”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I'll preface the scathing review on service I'm about to give by first saying the room was fine, actually pretty great for the $50 booking.com price. But by the time we finally got there, we were so irritable and annoyed at the world that it didn't even matter....

So, we booked the room on booking.com, which is usually a breeze with no snags. When we walked in to the lobby, a man was waxing the floor right in front of the check-in counter. The only place we could walk was one far corner of the counter, where we stood, assuming we'd be taken care of. Well, the woman behind the counter awkwardly stayed on a computer on the far other end of the counter, talking to us over the man waxing the floor. It seemed extremely rude and just...weird. When our booking.com reservation strangely needed more time to process, we ended up standing around the counter waiting for at least a half an hour, while we were semi-splattered with floor wax, and to make it all more unpleasant, the lobby was infested with mosquitos which I didn't even discover until I had several annoying bites on my ankles. Ugh. Just NOT a pleasant experience. The general attitude from everyone who worked there was just complete indifference.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,175
    685
    304
    132
    121
See reviews for
436
1,070
250
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
218 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The premier rooms are large and comfortable but the 3 TVs have limited channels and poor reception. Internet connection is $13/night which is a total rip off and spoiled my stay. People congregate in the lobby Starbucks to use free wifi. Do NOT accept a room in the cheapo area. It is miles from the elevator, accessed by a dangerous ramp (my wife and others fell on it) and very noisy as it is near the dirty pool.

Room Tip: You can walk to the Goldstrike where they have free wifi. Stay there instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clogtowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were on our 20th anniversary trip to Memphis and chose the Horseshoe online for the price and pictures. Was going to go with Standard King but changed to Premium King. So glad we did. Staying 3 days, the sitting area with chair and sofa was perfect! Room was large, clean and comfortable. Bathroom was quite large. Really happy with the room especially for the price. Perfect place to stay for a visit to Memphis is you don't mind a fairly short drive into town. Much cheaper than staying in town and nice to get away from the city at the end of a busy day. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Would recommend to friends! Only negative, would have liked more food options. Café was closed the one night we wanted to go. Weren't interested in the buffet or steakhouse so ate twice at the burger bar. Otherwise all positive!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Visited for a two night casino fun trip. The room was spacious (premium king) with sofa and 3 tvs, air worked very well, nice amenities. Larger size shampoo etc. Had the Sunday Champagne brunch. The food was good, lots of choices, but 2 mimosa/champagne minimum that we were not told prior to purchase. It was expensive at $18.99. Easy to get a drink when gambling, as the machines have a special drink order system.
2 casinos next door so you can get a bit of variety. All other casinos are several miles away. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Starbucks in the lobby, individual coffee in the room. Breakfast buffet on day 2 was ok, for but $8.99 could have had a bit more.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I took a fun little gambling trip here. The slot machines were fun. The mixed drinks tasted awful. If you drink here, order beer. This casino was very old and outdated looking. It smelled like 20 year old cigarette smoke. The décor looked like a 70s movie and smelled like one. It also looked like it needed a good cleaning from floor to ceiling.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbear8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
278 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for business in March 2013. Check in at the hotel was really an unpleasant experience. The front desk woman was cold, almost to the point of rudeness, which surprised me. Going up to my room gave me another unpleasant experience. My room window directly faced a roof with a ladder. As a single female traveler, I was horrified that the front desk thought that was an appropriate room. It seemed very unsafe and I was not comfortable with the thought of having my window be so accessible.

The room itself was OK, nothing fabulous. It definitely showed wear and tear and should have been updated at least a year ago. The bathroom was a bit cramped. The casino was OK, there is a bar that gets lively later into the evening. Most of the restaurants in the complex are horrendously overpriced, but there is very little in Tunica as an option.

If you are going strictly to gamble, this might be a good option for you but I was not a fan of the hotel or the food. And the staff was not as friendly as other places I've been in the South.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not have roof access if you are a female traveling solo! I had no idea that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakeflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
173 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We live about 4.5 hours from Tunica and visit from time to time when we're in the mood to do a little gambling. We typically stay at a Harrah's property and try to get the Horseshoe because it is situated between the Roadhouse and the Goldstrike.

The good... staff is awesome. Such friendly employees. This hotel has a parking garage adjacent with plenty of covered parking. We always get a smoke-free room and they really are in a smoke-free section, not just sprayed with room spray.

The rooms... we usually get a "premium" room which means it's a tad larger and closer to the elevators. The bedding is comfy, large flat panel television with an adequate number of channels, one-cup coffee maker. The bathroom is huge with a large tub. I don't know about all the rooms, but the premium rooms have a television in the bathroom. It's really a bit of an annoyance since it takes up a lot of counter space. We had no remote control for it and it couldn't be turned on without a remote so we never used it and never bothered calling the front desk for a solution.

The bad... this hotel needs better maintenance. While we were there, one of the elevators was out of service the whole time. Another elevator had wall panels "hanging by a thread". A third elevator had buttons that would not light up (our floor number for example). On this stay and our previous stay, we had to call maintenance for a toilet back-up in our room. The drains in the bathroom are slow. The shower diverter did not work 100% so when showering, some of the water comes out the tub spout.

The bad... the buffet. Every time we visit Tunica we swear we will not eat at the Horseshoe buffet and we always end up there because it's the path of least resistance and we always regret it. The food never seems fresh, it's not replenished in a timely manner so there are empty steam trays, the choices are uninspired. We are not foodies but know when food is not up to par. Try the new buffet next door at the Gold Strike, much much better food.

After including all these negatives in the review, I still give the property 4 stars because the staff is friendly, the rooms are nice if you get a room without maintenance problems, and it's one of the better choices in Tunica.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunDiego123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunica hotels
5.4 mi away
Hollywood Casino Tunica Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tunica Roadhouse Casino & Hotel
1.6 mi away
Fitz Casino and Hotel
Fitz Casino and Hotel
#4 of 19 in Tunica
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall
5.3 mi away
Resorts Casino Tunica
Resorts Casino Tunica
#11 of 19 in Tunica
174 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Tunica Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Tunica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Tunica

Property: Horseshoe Tunica
Address: 1021 Casino Center Dr, Tunica, MS 38664-6403 (Formerly Horseshoe Casino and Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Tunica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Tunica
#2 Green Hotel in Tunica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horseshoe Tunica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horseshoe Tunica has been the market leader in gaming and entertainment since opening on February 13, 1995. The casino known nation-wide as the place where real gamblers come to gamble has recently been remodeled to include state-of-the-art technology and luxurious furnishings and contains over 1,380 slot and video poker games, the widest variety of table games in the region. The 25-table World Series of Poker themed poker room featuring a WSOP lounge is a poker player's paradise. Horseshoe Tunica guests enjoy a 14-floor hotel tower with over 500 luxuriously appointed rooms featuring world-class customer service and amenities including: Jack Binion's Steak which offers offer contemporary as well as classic fine dining offerings and a wine bar, the all you can imagine Village Square Buffet featuring fare from all over the world and highlighting Southern specialties and desserts, and the area's only Starbucks. Horseshoe Tunica consistently books headline entertainment to perform at the 1500 seat intimate and stellar Bluesville concert hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horseshoe Tunica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Hotel Tunica Resorts
Horseshoe Casino And Hotel
Horseshoe Casino Tunica Resorts
Horseshoe Tunica Resorts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing