We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish We Had Known”

Tishomingo State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cabot, Arkansas
Level Contributor
368 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Wish We Had Known”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We had only little time and only drove through. Found it while driving "The Trace". We will be back to really explore and stay.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geoark1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    30
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tishomingo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots to do”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We go here frequently with school field trips and Girl Scouts. We've done picnics, camping, geocaching, and swimming. Lots of great hiking trails, too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dpandmnms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

If you are looking for a spacious park where you will not be on top of your neighbor, look elsewhere. The tent camp sites are situated around a lake but once you get to the designated areas they are rocky, with no privacy and no real space to actually set up a tent. The lake seems a little polluted and there was a lot of garbage strewn around the site when we arrived.
If you are In an RV you will be fine as there are plenty of RVs. The surrounding areas are nice, some bathrooms were not available, under construction. The swingbridge is really wonderful and there is a great playground for the kids, right next to it.
There is a really nice creek with an old building that was interesting.

Overall I think our expectations were a little high aftere reading the other reviews, hence our dissappointment. We paid for three nights and actually left after one. We have camped in north Carolina, Tennessee and Oregon, maybe another reason we were dissatisfied.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmckay219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“If u r like me and u love to hike and see new things. U will love them.”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We go here in the fall to c the leave change and go hiking. It's my favorite park for hiking. If u r interested in going to c rocks that r pretty and not so high that u cannot climb them u should try this park. It's only $3 for a car to get in and they have a beautiful ok'd swing bridge, a nice large pool, and a volleyball court. It's a great place to spend an afternoon or a weekend. Only bad thing is there isn't a town of any large size near, so if u r planning a few days bring enough stuff.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sad12181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Run down but full of charm, beauty”
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Offers gorgeous creek, lake, springs, and remarkably scenic trails (do not forget insect repellant!). Very historic. Six rustic 1930s CCC-built family cabins are priced low and are comfortable, clean, and well-equipped for inside and outside cooking/lounging; loved the cabin fireplaces, screened porches, stone floors, and old heavy wood doors but be warned: Cabins won't appeal to the hoity-toity. Tent and RV camping also available. There's no TV or Internet so bring books, board games, portable DVDs/player in case of rain and for late night. Besides hiking, there's rock climbing, canoeing, and fishing. You can buy an out-of state fishing license at park, $10 for one day, $18 for three days (must have cash for license, credit/debit cards OK for other park costs). Note: Front desk balks at even an hour or two early check-in even when cabins are vacant and cleaned. Think park once had nature center and gift shop but not anymore and some pool-area construction was going on early May 2009. Park needs major sprucing but understandable given drain on state from hurricanes and economy woes. Call for current status of everything, especially bath houses which seemed kind of iffy, a problem for tent campers. See some nice overlooks within a few miles' drive of the park.

Helpful?
7 Thank papertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tishomingo State Park also viewed

 

Been to Tishomingo State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing