We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC! Recommend to all! Thank you so much.”
Review of The Old Station

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Egloskerry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Station
Ranked #1 of 1 Egloskerry B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Well what can we say but thank you so much for making us feel so at home! It started with an unexpected cream tea! went on to a fantastic dinner, and finished with the BEST breakfast we have ever experienced in a B&B. Hotel Inspector eat your heart out!! Thank you for your kindness in thinking of our anniversary, it really did mean such a lot to us. Some times in life you just have to be looked after, well this is the place for it! Moira is the queen of the kitchen, while Rod is the tour master of this fantastic location. If you are looking for a slightly different and more upmarket place to stay this is it! Have already recommended to family and friends. Thank you Rod and Moira for your kindness and attention to detail. Bless you both.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tigras55ues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stationgirl, Owner at The Old Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2010

Thank you for your wonderful review, Rod and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Egloskerry Old Station. A warm welcome is alway here and we try to make every guest feel really special! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for The Old Station
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2010

3 cyclists going 'end to end' were truly welcomed with a cold beer, a meal and great accomodations in what is a terrific historic location, complete with its own small museum. We would highly recommend this location to anyone travelling in the Launceston area. Thanks so much Rod and Moira!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speedybee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stationgirl, Owner at The Old Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2010

Thank you so much for your lovely review and that you had a super time, we really enjoyed your stay with us, hope that you got to Scotland ok and then home to Toronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

A party of six of us stayed for 2 nights in order to attend a local family wedding. Our hosts Moira and Rod went to great lengths to accommodate our needs as well as those of other wedding guests staying at the same time.
The accommodation which is situated at the lower end of Egloskerry was originally the village railway station prior to the 'axe' of Doctor Beeching in the 1960's. The station building has been tastefully extended, yet retaining its original charm and features. The residents lounge/ dining room looks out over the original platforms towards a goods van situated on a small length of track. The goods van will be of interest to quests with a fondness for railway memorabilia of the era.
The well appointed accommodation comprises of a number of en-suite bedrooms with modern facilities, Tea/ coffee making facilities are also provided. Our room on the ground floor also had a modern flatscreen TV with Sky Channels. Rooms were serviced to a high standard daily. Breakfasts are spot on with a good choice to suit everyone. Moira likes to be organised in this respect and e-mailed us a pro-forma of choices for us to complete before our visit. The welcome was fantastic. Even though our arrival was late at night, having driven down from Yorkshire, a refreshing cup of tea was provided in no time.The farewell at the end of our stay was difficult as we all wished we could stay longer. The icing on the cake was the guided tour by Rod of the Station House and grounds.A most enlightening blast into the past with many of the original features still remaining.An extremely well run business offering value for money and a great base to explore the wonderful county of Cornwall. We all hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skodaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stationgirl, Owner at The Old Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2010

Rod and I are so very pleased that you enjoyed your few days with us, It was a full house but we really had a great time looking after all you guys making sure you were all set for the midday family wedding (hence the breakfast forms beforehand). Thank you for your wonderful comments and we hope to see you again when you are next down this way. A warm welcome will be waiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Station

Address: Egloskerry, Launceston PL15 8ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Launceston > Egloskerry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Egloskerry
Price Range: $81 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Station B&B is set in 3 acres of beautiful countryside and is perfect for peace and quiet after a busy day. You can sit out on the platform having afternoon tea or stroll around the grounds. We are offering peace and quiet with a touch of luxury that is reflected in everything we do. Our luxury guestrooms have en-suite facilities, tea/coffee, free-view TV, bath/shower toiletries, fluffy towels, everything you could wish for. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing