We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Truly Amazing Stay”
Review of The Old Station

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Egloskerry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Station
Ranked #1 of 1 Egloskerry B&B and Inns
New Forest, England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another Truly Amazing Stay”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

After a gap of three years, we returned to this amazing B&B again! Just as before we were not disappointed. Moira and Rod are truly fantastic hosts! Nothing is too much trouble! The sheer luxury, quality of the rooms and fantastic breakfasts, make this a truly superb place to stay!
Staying here, is home from home! The location is brilliant and the peaceful setting is a perfect place to unwind and soak up the beautiful views of the Cornish countryside!

Moira and Rod, are the Royalty of the B&B World. We cannot praise our return stay highly enough!

Thank you Moira and Rod! This is a station I'm glad Dr. Beeching closed!!!!!

We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hinton214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2014

My wife and I had this accomodation booked by my brother to whom I was best man. We really did not know what to expect when we arrived, however we were warmly welcomed by Moira and Rod who proved to be perfect hosts during our stay.
The breakfasts were well presented, delcious and most enjoyable.
Our room had everything we required, the bed was very comfortable, nothing was too much trouble for our hosts who made us feel almost part of the family.
On the morning after my brother's wedding Rod would not here of us booking a taxi to his cottage and insisted that he give us a lift there in his car.
On the morning of our departure we had a tour of the property, Moira showed us around the Old Station House and Rod gave us a talk about the station. He also gave us a look inside the railway carriage which he had renovated and shared some general historical facts about the railways in the area.
If you are a railway enthusiast then I am sure you would gain a lot of useful information from Rod, even though we were not enthusiasts, Rod made his part of the tour very interesting.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone who wishes to have a base in this area from where they can explore the beautiful countryside in Cornwall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stationgirl, Owner at The Old Station, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Anthony, we were delighted that you had a super time here at the Old Station and that it made a great base for you and your wife. It was our pleasure to offer a lift to your brothers cottage. We always try to make all our guests feel really special and well looked after and so it is really wonderful to know you had a great time. Thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to see you and your wife again soon.
Moira and Rod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I, together with my sister and brother-in-law, stayed at this very interesting and unusual B & B for four nights. Moira and Rod are a lovely, friendly couple and made us feel very welcome from the time we arrived. The Old Station is a unique and charming B & B with a very homely feel to it. Rod was kind enough to give us a tour of the property and explain the history of the station. He also took us inside the railway carriage which is an interesting feature of the property. Moira was extremely helpful, pointing out places of interest to visit and went out of her way to make us feel at home. She even made a variety of sandwiches for us on our arrival as we arrived earlier than expected. Our rooms were immaculate and the beds extremely comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. I would certainly recommend this B & B to anyone who loves peace and quiet and I would definitely stay again if we were in this area in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmangal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stationgirl, Owner at The Old Station, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review! Rod and I had a lovely time too, you were all wonderful guests and it was our pleasure to make sure you, your husband and your sister and her husband had a super holiday with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Egloskerry Old Station and enjoyed Rods tour of the house and grounds. You know you will always be welcome here again and the kettle is already on for that cup of tea and cake!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Moira and Rod were wonderful hosts in this unique B&B.
They were both very welcoming. Rod toured us around the property while Moira cooked us a wonderful, traditional English dinner.
It was clean and comfortable, which is what we need the most..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Moira was friendly, thoughtful, and routinely went out of her way to make our holiday the best that it could be. We so appreciated her hospitality. The Old Station was charming, well maintained, and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. The location was perfect for us, easy driving distance to many Cornwall attractions.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kristy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed two nights at this charming, former branch-line railway station, B & B where we were made welcome from the moment we arrived. Moira & Rod went out of their way to make us feel comfortable without intruding and you can come and go as you please.

The accomodation was clean and tidy, and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and, being a vegetarian proved no problem since I had let Moira know in advance.

This is a very interesting B & B and Rod was only too happy to give us a guided tour, showing us the station and land and explaining some of its history.

If you like railways, this will be of interest. If you like the "West Country" and would like to stop over, this is a bit different. If you want to stay in a relaxed environment with beautiful surroundings........... need I say more?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterr1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELKSHAM UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

great b and b the rooms are really great we had the twin room with sat tv tea coffee they looked after us so well the food was first class we would go back anytime you also get a trip and mini history of station hotel it is also a very nice place for walking there is also a golf club nearby

Room Tip: ask for the twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbjones_jones47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Station

Property: The Old Station
Address: Egloskerry, Launceston PL15 8ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Launceston > Egloskerry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Egloskerry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Station B&B is set in 3 acres of beautiful countryside and is perfect for peace and quiet after a busy day. You can sit out on the platform having afternoon tea or stroll around the grounds. We are offering peace and quiet with a touch of luxury that is reflected in everything we do. Our luxury guestrooms have en-suite facilities, tea/coffee, free-view TV, bath/shower toiletries, fluffy towels, everything you could wish for. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing