We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“iconic american restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taylor Grocery & Restaurant

Taylor Grocery & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Taylor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“iconic american restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

taylor grocery has to go down as one of the greatest american restaurants. period. it's definitely in my all-time top five. the best catfish on earth, bar none. just a few miles from ole miss, this place puts the town of taylor, mississippi on the map. literally. i would eat here every day of my life, if i could.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bluechef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    26
    10
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The South's best catfish?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

First, I don't need the host or hostess to do cartwheels for me when I arrive so I felt the initial greeting was more than sufficient. And yes, there can be an extremely long wait. Either go at first opening or at an odd time or expect to wait. Anyone who lives in Oxford can tell you the line can be an hour or more. Ok, with that out of the way...the real reason any foodie goes to Taylor Grocery is to see if this is in fact the South's best catfish. And while I've tried catfish all over Mississippi and the South, I can only say for sure that the fish here is excellent. For catfish fanatics like me, I'll be as descriptive as possible. These are lightly cornmeal breaded, smallish filets (but not those paper thin super crisp filets) which are abundantly salted and with just a hint of background heat. Not a bit greasy and served piping hot, it's hard to find fault with the catfish. At around $20 for an all you can eat plate, a hungry catfish fanatic like me can certainly get his money's worth. The hush puppies are fair. The cole slaw is pretty good. But once again, the catfish is the real deal here. Everything else, including the old time atmosphere is just a bonus. It's loud (from the music and the conversations trying to be heard over the music) and like has been stated, if you don't like crowds, this isn't for you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkTravel616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

What more can be said of this near Oxford treasure? Great catfish, great live music, fantastic and unique atmosphere. A very long wait but because you can bring your own drinks and sit on the porch, all part of the experience.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MIjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quite honestly. . . NEVER been treated so rudely!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

All of our friends raved about "Taylor Grocery"! Sadly, our group of 12 never got to eat! We went early (6:00), as recommended, took our own bottle and waited patiently for almost 3 hours.

We were treated disrespectfully when we initially put our name on the list, shamed when we asked how much longer (at 2 1/2 hours) and yelled at when we asked again at 2 hours and 45 minutes. The host and hostess were indescribably rude. In fact, many of the guests that we had befriended in the parking lot, also left after watching and hearing the treatment we received.

Sad, hungry and disappointed in what was supposed to be "an Ole Miss" experience!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BTHH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Rude Hostess!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Don't mind the wait here, as that is part of the experience, but was treating very poorly by hostess and the "gentleman" keeping the reservation list. Love the food, love the atmosphere, but will not go back due to extreme rudeness. Clearly, they are not lacking for business, but how much more effort would it require for a smile and a little niceness. In will not return nor would I ever recommend this restaurant to any out of town guest.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Whrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylor Grocery & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Taylor Grocery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing