We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly, dirty rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Starkville
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Starkville
Reviewed May 6, 2009

We booked this room during Graduation weekend, it was ALL that was available. We were there for our son's college baseball game. The room "reeked" of smoke and the decor was outdated. We checked in @ 3:00 and the rooms were not ready. Our friends had to wait in our room for 45 min. The smoke smelled worse, the longer the a/c ran. I saw long, dark female hairs and several rust spots on the bed linens. The pool had yet to be uncovered for the season. The deck chairs were upside-down on the patio.The bathroom floor was not clean, nor was the tub! I would not recommend this site to anyone. We checked out and went across the street to a great clean room @ Holiday Inn Express!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vsh54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 287 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2009

I was charged for a room that I did not stay in. I booked a reservation and was not told of any cancellation policy. The standat in the industry is 6:00 day of arrival. This manager "Ali" said the cancellation policy was 1:00 the day before arrival. There was no latitude here. The need the money worse than I do. They should use it to improve the place.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bixtraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

This was the absolute worst hotel I have ever stayed at. When we got our room keys we went up to our room to change. They were cleaning our room when we got there and had to wait. You don't give keys out when the rooms are being cleaned. When we finally got into the room, it had a terrible odor. Almost like wet dog. Keep in mind that the maid just left. I noticed that the toilet was not bolted down. I could pick the toilet up. When you sat on the toilet it just rocked back and forth. After flushing this toilet let out a horrendous sound. It did that everytime. After not getting too much sleep since we were scared someone would come into our room, we got up the next day ready to get out of this dump. My wife goes to take a shower. She comes out and says that there are ants all over the tub. I took Lysol that we had bought the night before and sprayed the ants. She said that she would just not take a shower. I wanted to so I said that I would. Of course, no hot water. Plenty of hot water in the sink but the shower had none.
If every other hotel in Starkville is booked just sleep in your car.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank H20sno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

This was the worst place in the world to stay. We were bit all over with bed bugs and there were used hyperdermic needlles in our room!! The staff would not help, the manager has not called to apologize or ask questions. please value your safety and health and not stay here. sleep in your car if you have too. this place was filthy. May the giant bedbug eat the owner tonight!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttisdale158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

After having read several poor reviews on the internet - especially the 'Bad Night In Starkville' review on Tripadvisor - I was a little worried about staying here. Also, at $76.29 (including tax) it's a little overpriced.
The rooms are a little small but they were clean. The furniture was somewhat old but they had just finished replacing all the beds in the entire motel. That was a plus. They had actual coffee mugs in the rooms - as opposed to paper ones. I had a whirlpool bath in my room, which was unexpected. Too bad it didn't work...that would have been nice.
The breakfast is a little skimpy. In a way it's good that's there is so little on offer for breakfast because the breakfast area itself is also almost nonexistent.
There are plenty of motels to choose from in this town and if it's up to me I probably will choose a different one next time.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ozcfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2008

June 06, 2008

Thought this would be an ok place to stay, but when I went to my room, I smelled something very oderous !! Something surley was wrong. Checked the room out and the bed litterley was extremely worn out . The middle of the bed was comepletely sunk in , kinda reminded me of a horse shoe . The comode is in very dangerous shape , really don't know how the management is getting by with this . I litterley was afraid . Of course I paid with a credit card and they refused to take the charges off my card . I complained , but they said they didn't have any more rooms. I couldn't take it no more this place seemed like a dump to me. When I finally left , I found out they even charged me more ( $10.00 ) on my card than they told me . What a rip off, gonna try to get room taken off my card...I went on down the road..

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pebbles90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

This was my third stay at this hotel. I have had no problems to speak of. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was nothing special, and a sign said you couldn't take it back to your room. Bed was hard.
I felt safe enough there, no noisy parties going on. Very handy if you need to make trips to MSU. Right turn with traffic, sure saved time. Traffic can be a problem at times. I noticed a website that said they accepted pets, but there is a sign on lobby door stating otherwise. Price was around $70.00 for room I was in. Room was clean. Needs some updating, but was comfortable enough. I liked having an ironing board and iron, hairdryer, and refrigerator and microwave. Days Inn is located directly accross the street from a really nice Piggly Wiggly. I will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mscMississippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Starkville hotels
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Starkville
Red Roof Inn Starkville
#9 of 13 in Starkville
24 reviews
3.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Starkville
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Starkville at MSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Starkville
Comfort Suites Starkville
#7 of 13 in Starkville
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Starkville
Hampton Inn Starkville
#4 of 13 in Starkville
273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Starkville MSU at The Mill Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Starkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Starkville

Address: 119 State Route 12 West, Starkville, MS 39759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Starkville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Starkville
Price Range: $72 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Starkville 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn & Suites Starkville hotel, less than a mile from Mississippi State University. Located on Highway 12 West, our Starkville, MS, (Fastest growing town) hotel offers quiet, relaxing lodging that combines the best of small-town Southern charm and University culture, state-of-the-art research and technology destinations. Start each day with a free Daybreak continental breakfast and a free USA Today, then scout out area attractions with free Wi-Fi Internet access. When you return to our pet-friendly hotel, enjoy a refreshing swim in our seasonal outdoor pool. We offer free parking for your car, bus, truck or RV, and kids 11 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Starkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites Starkville Hotel Starkville
Days Inn And Suites Starkville
Days Inn Starkville
Days Inn Hotel Starkville
Starkville Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing