We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Chester” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Chester
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Starkville
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel Chester”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was a great place! The people were friendly as is to be expected in a southern, historic hotel. The rooms are very small but I guess that is part of the historic charm. The outdoor restaraunt was quite charming. The ambiance was superb! I would give 5 stars but the following morning as we went down for breakfast, it took forever to be served. I think they were extremely understaffed as this was move in day at MSU. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel for others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank smilstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla-hotelchester, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Chester, responded to this review, February 8, 2016
We're sorry to hear you had to wait longer than normal to receive your breakfast. However, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and hope you come back to see us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    22
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
35
32
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Hotel Chester was a wonderful surprise for me while traveling on a business trip. This place is absolutely beautiful! The rooms are expertly decorated, the historic charm is wonderful and really sets it apart from the surrounding locations, and the beer garden is a nice retreat from the norm. The bed was incredibly comfortable and made me want to lounge around all morning! Everyone here was very friendly and helpful and really made this stay a delight. I would recommend anyone traveling through Starksville to stay at Hotel Chester. Only con to this stay would be the lack of workout facilities, but the hotel will provide you with a pass to the college.

Room Tip: Choose a King Suite for the best possible stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Brooke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Have had the pleasure to hold three business meetings at the hotel. The staff provided a meeting room,drinks,snacks and lunch. All of which were outstanding. Dave and his staff made everyone feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dwayne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla-hotelchester, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Chester, responded to this review, February 8, 2016
We try to make everyone's stay here at The Hotel Chester very easy and enjoyable. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Chester is an old hotel that has beautifully renovated. Our room for my wife and I was spacious with a couch and a very comfortable bed and immaculately clean (as is the whole hotel) The room comes with breakfast and not just "a corporate waffle" found with the chain motels, but prepared by a chef from a very nice menus. At $125 a night, it is so much more pleasant than staying in one of the corporate motel chains for the same or even more per night.. David and the staff make it a personally satisfying experience. We really like this place. Also location is perfect for walking access to the boutiques, restaurants and shops of downtown Starkville and only 5 minute drive from MSU.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Traveler468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Level Contributor
366 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This place spoiled us! The staff was so understanding when we had to delay our arrival (American Airlines SNAFU) by 24 hours. We had a lovely queen-size room, but when David heard that we would be returning later in the week, he offered us a larger king-size with a veranda view and easy access to the Beer Garden. The breakfasts were always good, and the morning cook worked us into an early schedule with no fuss whatsoever. The Beer Garden staff was delightful; the "Crooked Letter Brewery" sampler is high recommended, although the wine and bar drinks are good as well. We spent three more nights at Hotel Chester and loved every minute. Great people. Attentive service. Charming decor. AND they provide a thoughtful and warm welcome.

Room Tip: The veranda rooms are lovely and quiet, but don't discount the charms of the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tenighir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Second time to stay at the Historic Hotel Chester, and it was like coming home. David and all of the staff were gracious. Our Queen room was spacious and cozy, at the same time. Totally recommend staying here. Also, dinner at The Beer Garden was top notch yummy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BethG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed for the NCAA Regional and found the accommodations to be very good. There was a mix-up in our original reservation and the problem was resolved quickly, fairly and honestly; probably at a loss of revenue for the owner. The room was quite satisfactory and breakfast excellent. This was my second stay at this property and it did not disappoint.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NoMoreHolidayInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kayla-hotelchester, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Chester, responded to this review, February 8, 2016
We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we do apologize for the reservation issue. WE hope you choose to stay at The Hotel Chester again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Starkville hotels
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Starkville at MSU
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Starkville
Comfort Suites Starkville
#7 of 13 in Starkville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
#2 of 13 in Starkville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Starkville MSU at The Mill Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Starkville
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Starkville
Hampton Inn Starkville
#3 of 13 in Starkville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chester

Property: Hotel Chester
Address: 101 N Jackson St, Corner of Jackson and Main, Starkville, MS 39759-2917
Location: United States > Mississippi > Starkville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Starkville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a southern charm at the Hotel Chester, a 36 room boutique hotel nestled in the heart of historic downtown Starkville. Built in 1925 as a full service hotel the lovingly restored Hotel Chester invites guests to enjoy contemporary services. Voted as the Best Hotel in Mississippi in 2014, 2013 and in 2012 by Mississippi Magazine, Tripadvisor Excellent Hotel 2015 the Hotel Chester welcomes guests to discover a memorial retreat at our luxury boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel Starkville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing