We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classic.”
Review of Hotel Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Chester
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Starkville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is an older hotel in downtown Starkville. It is a 20 minute little over a mile walk to the campus of Mississippi State. The walk is along tree lined residential streets and is quite enjoyable. As this is an older hotel the rooms are smaller than newer properties. It is not fully accessable for those who have special needs. There is an elevator but the small rooms and some stairs for some rooms may cause issues. I found the room perfectly adequate but i was by myself. It may be tight for two people. The room was clean and well appointed. No fridge or microwave but I don't really need them. I stayed for 4 nights for business and only woke up early due to the city street cleaners outside once. It was surprisingly quiet. The breakfast is fantastic. Cooked to order eggs, waffles and/or meat. Really yummy. Plenty of parking is available on the street or in a city lot less than a block away. Parking was not an issue for me at all. Great place with helpful staff. Next time you are in town, give them a try.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
8  Thank HenryFlagler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 140 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

As parents of an incoming freshman at MSU, we stayed at Hotel Chest on Move In Day. I had read the reviews prior to scheduling and agree with the positive comments. The room was somewhat quite (we did hear the occassional alarm sound, louder than most cars), traditional decor, staff were accommodating, and convenient to most things within the town. We plan to stay here again for an upcoming football game and have already recommended to other parents.

Room Tip: View of the downtown area from our 3rd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank debvhorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Not only is the Hotel Chester a wonderful hotel to stay in; their honesty is unquestionable! We spent a night there last week and after checking out we went to breakfast. While eating, I received a call from Dave telling me that I had left a bank envelope with cash and my driver's license in it. I can't tell you, Dave, how thankful I am for that call!!!!!! A really superb place to stay! Thank you again-
Annette Pucheu

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank annettepucheu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

To me, a hotel stay isn't just about the cleanliness, cost, or style of a place, it's also about how comfortable you are made to feel, and how you are treated by the staff. The Hotel Chester sets the standard for me. It is clean, comfortable, nicely located, and run by a family that makes you feel as though you are very special. Kindness is the word that comes to my mind. The restaurant in the hotel is top notch - delicious dinner and so wonderfully decorated and intimate. And the custom-made complimentary breakfast was outstanding. (The chef has talent). All of this for an incredible price. I probably won't ever be back in Starkville, but if I am, you can bet I'll stay here.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank LauraBSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Having never been to Mississippi, I had no idea where to stay when I came down for business. My local manager told me to give Dave at the Hotel Chester a call. I am glad I did.

I stayed for five days. Dave and the rest of the staff made me feel as though I was the only guest in the hotel. Dave greeted me every morning and every evening upon my return regardless of what time I seemed to leave or return to the hotel.

The accommodations are very comfortable and are very reminiscent of staying at grandma's house. The breakfast is included and made to order and very delicious. The hotel is definitely a nice break from the generic chain hotels that populate the landscape. There are several good restaurants within walking distance and Dave is willing to make a recommendation about any service/destination of which you inquire.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank igor948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Hotel Chester was a great welcome to Starkville, MS! The owner, David, checked us in, made us feel very welcome, and made sure we had everything we needed, including some very entertaining conversations. We got upgraded to a King and the bed was absolutely soft and divine. The room was clean and comfortable though a little small. The included breakfasts were hot and delicious, especially the southern eggs Benedict. The website is a little outdated as it still lists its associated restaurant as Sushi on Main but it is now Sugoi, an amazing Asian fusion restaurant with delicious sushi and fun mixed drinks. We ordered the pickled okra sushi thinking it would be interesting at best and were blown away at how delicious it was! Great location right on main street. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HannahBement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stay at the Hotel Chester every time we visit Starkville and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. The rooms are clean, the beds are VERY comfortable and the staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. Then in the morning comes a fabulous breakfast just like Mama used to make! Grits, eggs, bacon, toast, fruit, and great coffee and it's complimentary. Where else are you going to get so much for a price that is very reasonable in our opinion. Do yourself a favor and try this place at least once. I'll bet you'll go back again and again just like we do.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Starkville hotels
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Starkville MSU at The Mill Conference Center
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Starkville at MSU
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Starkville
Comfort Suites Starkville
#7 of 13 in Starkville
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Starkville
Red Roof Inn Starkville
#9 of 13 in Starkville
24 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
#2 of 13 in Starkville
439 reviews
2.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Starkville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chester

Address: 101 N Jackson St, Corner of Jackson and Main, Starkville, MS 39759-2917
Location: United States > Mississippi > Starkville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Starkville
Price Range: $84 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a southern charm at the Hotel Chester, a 36 room boutique hotel nestled in the heart of historic downtown Starkville. Built in 1925 as a full service hotel the lovingly restored Hotel Chester invites guests to enjoy contemporary services. Voted as the Best Hotel in Mississippi in 2014, 2013 and in 2012 by Mississippi Magazine, Tripadvisor Excellent Hotel 2015 the Hotel Chester welcomes guests to discover a memorial retreat at our luxury boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel Starkville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing