We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but dated rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Starkville
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Starkville
Certificate of Excellence
Starkville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff but dated rooms”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Room furnishings were very dated. Room was dark and not welcoming. At 8:00am I was surprised to find no breakfast left...had been picked over and not replenished.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    130
    55
    27
    16
See reviews for
208
22
26
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
FORT WALTON BEACH
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

College towns can fill the rooms no matter what, so I was delighted to find this hotel to be so delightful. The colors in the room were so tastefully done, and the room was large (two queens). Had a wardrobe and a nice long desk top with comfy desk chair. Window seat added to the feel of the room, and the blackout drapes worked well. Flat screen TV had a great picture. The bed was comfy and the bedding was very nice. One of the top sheets, however, appeared to be dirty right where it hits you around the face, so slept in the other bed. The AC seemed to be either ice cold or too warm. Don't know the story about why there is open space in the wall behind the AC/Heat unit. You could see to the outside which meant you couldn't say much about the insulation - hot air in, cold air out. Microwave and fridge (not too cold) in room. Bathroom was adequate with the counter top extended over the toilet tank for extra space. Great water pressure. The staff was wonderful! Everyone was dressed as if they were proud to be there! Nice small pool in rear, with a lift. Breakfast was amazing! Biscuits, gravy, eggs, cereal (cold and hot), waffles, bagels, donuts, fresh fruit, yogurt, neat coffee machine that made great coffee, juices, peanut butter, jellies, cream cheese, ketchup and hot sauce packets, and hot chocolate. The next morning, instead of biscuits, gravy, and egg rounds, there were blueberry muffins, seasoned country potatoes, and seasoned egg 'folds' that had a great flavor. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Of Eden
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This property has been recently renovated and is in great shape inside. The parking lot could use some work and the entrance on the right side is somewhat hard to see. Staff is wonderful. It has been two years since we stayed there, and the manager remembered who we were when we called to make reservations! Pansy proceeded to ask about our children and our dogs. (Sadly, since the renovation, they no longer allow dogs.) The beds were comfortable, the rooms clean, and the onsite breakfast was all we needed. So what if there's no bar. A bottle of wine by the pool (against the no glass by the pool rule) can't be beat! Free wi-fi. Just a really nice place to stay for football weekends, graduation, or visiting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank 2dogsbarking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelle B, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Starkville, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
East of Eden, I'm thrilled you were so pleased with your return visit! Thank you for sharing about the renovation and about your overall experience. I appreciate your comment about the lighting as we are now looking into some options to brighten that entrance. I look forward to your next visit with us!
Angelle Bailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I reserved and email confirmed 2 nonsmoking rooms. I got 1 nonsmoking, 1smoking. Not happy.Not happy

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelle B, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Starkville, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Barbara W.,
I've just seen your review and understand your disappointment. There are times when online bookings will overbook a particular room type; there are also times when a guest in house extends his/her stay, changing the availability of a particular type of room. In these situations, we are happy to work with guests toward an attainable satisfactory solution; their are several such solutions. I have not heard of your concern until reading this review, but if you would like to call me, I will be happy to discuss some options with you.
Thank you.
Angelle Bailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Starkville hotels
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Starkville
Comfort Suites Starkville
#7 of 13 in Starkville
110 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Starkville at MSU
2.7 mi away
Hotel Chester
Hotel Chester
#4 of 13 in Starkville
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Starkville
Red Roof Inn Starkville
#9 of 13 in Starkville
24 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Starkville MSU at The Mill Conference Center
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Starkville
Hampton Inn Starkville
#3 of 13 in Starkville
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Starkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Starkville

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Starkville
Address: 12104 MS Highway 182, Starkville, MS 39759-1640
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Starkville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Starkville
#5 Family Hotel in Starkville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Starkville 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Starkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Starkville
Microtel Inn & Suites Starkville Hotel Starkville
Microtel Starkville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing