We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean hotel that doesn't listen to patrons.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Starkville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good clean hotel that doesn't listen to patrons.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Recently renovated hotel. The staff seems very nice and helpful. The breakfast only has gravy 2 days a week. I don't know who eats biscuits without gravy. Apparently it is a southern thing. Every other holiday in has it every day at breakfast. The last time I stayed there they had no guest laundry. I told them they needed it And that they should add it while they were renovating. They didn't. They did add a lot of useless features though, like a fake fireplace. Because the management at this hotel seems to be unable to listen to their priority members, ill just not stay there anymore. There is another holiday in down the road in West Point, MS. Ill just stay there in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear KGS74,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We value you as our Priority Club Rewards Member and while we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    28
    10
    10
    8
See reviews for
35
11
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Shores, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

As a business traveler, the reviews from last year complaining about slow internet concerned me enough that I asked to test it before I booked my room. I got 5Mbps on Speedtest.net. Thats a pretty standard cable modem rate. The rate was the same in a room on the 3rd floor close to the stairs; as far from the lobby as one can be. The entire hotel was obviously recently renovated. It looks sharp. As a Platinum Elite I was given an upgrade without having to ask. Solid hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Courteous staff. Clean. Convenient location to the MSU campus. We have used this hotel before while visiting our MSU student.
Hotel provides the typical Holiday Inn breakfast. Has a small outdoors swimming pool in the back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreDre07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel ws going through renovations, the manager, John,was hospitable and friendly, made my family feel appreciated and we will definitly return,,,,guest service like this is a dying concept..my thanks to a great caring manager and employees.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickson, TN
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have no complaints or negative comments about this hotel.
The rooms were VERY clean, the breakfast was good and the staff was great! Everyone was friendly and attentive.
I will definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astromom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Was told they have been recently bought out and undergoing face lift. Replacing carpet, painting-- hopefully replacing beds. When you sit on bed edge, cording on edge pushes on legs. Terrible mattress. Front desk workers very hospitable. Kitchen lady very nice. Good waterpressure

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cajunroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear cajunroadwarrior,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you found our staff to be hospitable. We would like to apologize for the issues you had with your bed and any inconvenience the situation may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was in Starkville visiting a friend whom I hadn't seen in over 28 years. I was very impressed with staff here. Ms Sherrie Hooper, front desk clerk was very professional, friendly and helpful. She and other staff members including, Antwan were very attentive. There was one housekeeper, whose name eludes me, who made sure I had plenty of towels and offered her services for any additional needs I might have had. The room size was adequate and bed slept very well. I really enjoyed the continental breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gelaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Starkville hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Starkville
Comfort Suites Starkville
#7 of 13 in Starkville
105 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
Hilton Garden Inn Starkville
#2 of 13 in Starkville
411 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Starkville MSU at The Mill Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Starkville
Hampton Inn Starkville
#6 of 13 in Starkville
249 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Starkville at MSU
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chester
Hotel Chester
#3 of 13 in Starkville
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville
Address: 110 B Highway 12 West, Starkville, MS 39759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Starkville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Starkville
#6 Family Hotel in Starkville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Search no more, the Holiday Inn Express University Center is the premier hotel for travelers to the Starkville/ Mississippi State University area. We are a 100% non smoking hotel. The only one in Starkville. Located 1/4 mile from Mississippi State University and 1.25 miles from the Starkville Sportsplex for soccer and softball. Every over-sized room has a large work desk with two phones and data ports and we offer high-speed wireless Internet. Every room is equipped with hair dryers, irons/ ironing boards, and coffeemakers. We offer valet service Mon-Fri and free breakfast is served 7 days a week featuring: fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, cereals, waffles, danish, omelets, bacon and fresh coffee and juices are included daily. We also offer a free social hour Mon-Thurs from 5PM - 7PM. We have popcorn, beer, iced tea and more. Our full service business center is available 24 hrs a day. We also have 22 suites. Each suite has a living area attached to the sleeping room, a microwave, refrigerator, wet bar, place settings and a sleeper sofa. Restaurant/ bar on site. We offer reduced rates for extended stay guests. We also have free health club passes and a fitness center on site. Award winning hotel with Wifi wireless. Only 1.25 miles from Starkville Sportsplex for soccer and softball. Pets allowed with a $50 non-refundable deposit. Special event weekends require a two night min (Fri and Sat). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Starkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Starkville, Ms
Holiday Inn Express Starkville
Holiday Inn Starkville
Starkville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing